We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Oasis in Chaotic Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibrik Resort by the River
Ranked #285 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Little Oasis in Chaotic Bangkok”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying in the “Sunshine” room and the “Moonlight” room at the Ibrik Resort by the River for several days in early March 2014. The rooms were spotlessly clean, very comfortable and perfectly safe. The “Moonlight” room is smaller, cozy and quiet. As I was a solo traveler, it was perfect for me. The “Sunshine” room is larger, with a great view of the river; however, it’s not as quiet due to the sounds of the river traffic. For me, the sounds were not disturbing but rather they were simply part of the experience of life on the river. The Western breakfast served each morning was delicious and a great way to start the day. The three young men who staff the hotel are so very pleasant, kind and helpful. They are just the nicest, most accommodating people! The location of the hotel is in a typical Bangkok neighborhood – a bit off the beaten path but with great connections for river/ferry transportation. I enjoyed being in this location because there was a great local market nearby, as well as a couple of small restaurants serving delicious food and packed with locals at lunchtime (the only time they were open). This is also a “happening” area for street food stalls/vendors. I would highly recommend staying at this little gem of a hotel – for the comfort of its rooms, the helpfulness of the staff and the unique experience of staying in a typical Bangkok neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
71
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ibrik Resort has great personal service with a smile. We took a taxi from the DMK airport, our taxi driver called the hotel though I provided the sheet written in Thai with directions. Make sure you have the written directions and phone number. We arrived before 11 am, yet they had our room ready and we checked in to Sunshine room. Sunshine is on the second floor with deck where other guests do have access. We never ran into another guest, though they were one or more there during our stay. Guests are asked to leave shoes by staircase so we walk up the stairs and hallway without shoes. Once in your room, they do provide in-house slippers to wear. They also provide 2 bottles of water per day, bathrobes, safe in the room, little tv and breakfast to order served in the room or in the deck. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Ibrik is between two ferry pier within walking distance. Wat Rakhang pier is closer to Ibrik and for 3 baht, ferry will take you straight across to Tha Chang pier. Once across, easy walk to Grand Palace and Wat Pho. We also enjoyed looking at the Grand Place during breakfast out on the deck and evenings all lit up. The other nearby pier is the Wang Lang pier. Wang Lang is part of the Chao Phraya Ferry service pier. This service cost more than Wat Rakhang to Tha Chang pier but still not expensive, I think it was around 10-15 baht.

We picked Ibrik for it's location but we would return not only for location but also for the friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC_Traveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar es salaam
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

very friendly staff, very helpful. ideal place to explore neigbourhood, and close to the ferry that take you across where you can wander around on foot and see loads of interesting stuff. crossing is 3baht. you pay as you get our of the boat.
Ibrik has comfortable bed, beautiful, clean bathroom. and the view from the sunrise bedroom si absolutely interesting. we stayed at ibrik on new year's even and on the patio we watched the fire works, and the numerous boat passing by with music and lights. it was truly a beautiful experience. the only downside of the sunrise, is the patio in front of it is used by all guests. it sometimes make you conscious when in the bedroom, you might have to close the curtains for privacy, still I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to be on this side of Bangkok.

Room Tip: sunrise room is big and beautiful and has the balcony facing the river, but this is used by other re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plwaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We are staying at the Ibrik Resort by the River. Though not a resort by my definition, the rooms are clean, air conditioned and it is quiet here on the riverside. The boat traffic is interesting to watch as we eat breakfast on the patio. The breakfast is Western because, as one of our hosts said, if you want a Thai breakfast, just walk down to the riverboat terminal. As first time Bangkok visitors who live in a small town both in Mexico and the US, we can go into the chaos and come home, an easy 3 bhat trip from the Tha Chang dock.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms here and the Sunshine is the best for a couple that likes to share the same bed. The R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheWorld12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Ibrik Resort provided some of the best service we've ever experienced. This hotel feels truly "boutique" in terms of its small size and perfect location. The staff consistently went out of their way to help us and make our stay more comfortable. Just one example is that we arrived from an overnight train in the early morning exhausted and prepared to drop our bags and head out for the day. Instead, they welcomed us with early check-in to our room and fresh coffee. Their consistent attention to detail made us feel very special and helped us to relax during our visit. We also thought Ibrik was a good value, as its riverside location and views can only be matched by very expensive hotels in Bangkok. As others have written, BE SURE to bring the written taxi directions with you as you venture out in Bangkok, as it's a small place and difficult to find.

Room Tip: Moonlight room was beautiful. It's garden-view, but you can choose to eat breakfast on the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed five nights in this little hotel. Arriving in Bangkok in late May, we were met at the airport by “Tommie,” who drove us to the hotel, located in the Thon Buri area across the river from the Grand Palace. We were able to stay in the “Sunshine Room” for the first two nights, and then had to move to the “Moonrise Room.” The former is on the second floor and overlooks the river, and the latter looks out over the small patio away from the river.

For us, Ibrik was a perfect place to stay. Both of our rooms featured a comfortable bed, effective air conditioning, nice patio, free WiFi, refridgerator. The Sunshine room was superior, of course, providing a wonderful window on the incredibly busy river, not to mention spectacular evening views of the Grand Palace and Wat Arun. Every staff person we met at Ibrik—Par, Ben, Tanha—was exemplary in their helpful, friendly, and efficient service. Each morning Par prepared and served us a good breakfast either on our room’s patio or in the common area downstairs. For two of our days in Bangkok, we arranged for Tommie, the driver sent by the hotel to pick us up at the airport, to drive us to Ayutthaya , the Maeklong Station Market, Damneon Saduah Floating Market, and other sites in the area surrounding Bangkok. We recommend Tommie and would enlist his services again. He is an excellent and safe driver, has a thorough knowledge of the city, its roads, and its environs, and enjoys sharing his experiences and knowledge of Thai culture.

For transportation to the old city and the most famous sites, the ferry docks about four blocks from the hotel (the cost is 3 baht, paid on the other side of the river). The immediate neighborhood around the hotel itself, however, is filled with interesting slices of everyday life in Bangkok. A couple of blocks away, adjacent to the ferry landing, is a busy Wat Rakhang complex. Be sure to drop in on a weekend day to get a firsthand sense for the vibrant role the temple and its activities play in the community. Walking the other direction brings you to numerous restaurants---we most enjoyed the one directly next to the hotel. Supatra River House, a couple of doors down, we enjoyed the least. Keep walking and you will find a sprawling and busy open market to explore. One of our favorite walks started with the ferry to the Grand Palace, exploration of which was followed by a walk to Wat Pro. Another ferry leaves a few blocks from Wat Pro and takes you back across the river and straight to Wat Arun, from which you can walk the couple of miles back to the hotel.

All in all, we wholeheartedly recommend Ibrik and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank California86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Perfect location with views of the grand palace from our bed.We stayed in the sunshine room which was overlooking the river. Room was cosy, clean & comfortable. There are only three rooms and for two nights out of our weeklong stay,we had the whole place to ourselves. The place is run by three very helpful young men. Order breakfast the night before which is then served with a smile at your chosen time-with a great view watching the boats go up and down the river. Away from the hustle & bustle of Bangkok but easy to get around with two ferry stops nearby.Local market,shops and eating places within easy walking distance.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Baan Wanglang Riverside
#176 of 858 in Bangkok
295 reviews
Aurum The River Place
#293 of 858 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#209 of 858 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Praya Palazzo
#258 of 858 in Bangkok
266 reviews
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#39 of 643 in Bangkok
297 reviews
Banglamphu
Inn A Day
Inn A Day
#5 of 643 in Bangkok
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibrik Resort by the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibrik Resort by the River

Property: Ibrik Resort by the River
Address: 256 Soi Wat Rakang, Arunamarin Rd., Bangkoknoi, 10700 | Arunamrin Rd, Bangkok 10700, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibrik Resort by the River 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok Boutique Hotel in Thailand The smallest resort in the world ...just three rooms in all .... River room .. the whisper of Chaophraya river Sunshine room .. indulgence to the bright sunlight Moonlight room .. a soft touch of tranquility Guest Room Facilities : All 3 rooms are non-smoking rooms. All rooms have private en suite bathrooms and private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibrik Resort by the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibrik Resort By The River Hotel Bangkok
Ibrik Resort Bangkok
Ibrik Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing