We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chakrabongse Villas
Ranked #113 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
65 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We saw this in an article in theTimes in late summer and as we were going to Bangkok in January we booked two nights, and what a start it was to our holiday. It was faultless, accommodation, service, food, everything. Breakfast was served on our patio and the pool during the day was deserted. Dinner on the terrace overlooking the river was magical. They asked us if we had any requests but we left it to the chef who's choice was excellent.
Previously when we have stayed in Bangkok we have stayed at the Marriott Riverside, now the Anatara, and I had originally booked our stay there again. Unfortunately I didn't realise it was a non refundable booking and despite Booking.com's efforts they would not drop the charges, so I paid for our stay twice, but it was still worth it!
Many thanks to Atom and her staff, you made our stay special.
Only one problem, we didn't stay for long enough. We will next time!

Room Tip: We had the garden suite which was roomy and quiet. We we had breakfast on our patio. Enormous bed, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mature married couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    17
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
67
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Wonderful! We had an amazing time, the setting is stunning. Breakfast by the river was amazing, brilliant food. The room was exceptional. Staff very friendly and very good. We ad dinner one night, this was fantastic, so romantic, the food was brilliant too. The pool and gardens were stunning. We had three wonderful days here. We also went to the flower market, five min walk away which was great and some. The best street food.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starpink2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have not stayed at this beautiful hotel..but we have visited and had some truly beautiful meals.
One feels like a visitor at a Thai Prince's home by the river. Around 1920-1930's.
we had tea by the pool, it was so relaxing. Another time we had lunch and bought some books about Thailand at the book shop there.
There is a boat to take guests into town. And from the terraces one can see the temple of the Dawn.
This is Royal Bangkok, the city of angles...and to sit on the terrace with a glass of Pima in the evening watching the sunset is about as close to heaven as one can be.

Room Tip: The Thai room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

A real pleasure to be able to stay in this intimate and perfectly located boutique hotel within a stones throw of the grand palace and Wat Pho.
Dinner here was a true delight for all the senses.... Perfect location right on the river and fabulous Thai food with attentive friendly service.
We stayed in the Chinese suite... Perfect for our family with 3 kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parsichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We were very lucky to find this gem of a boutique hotel with ideal temple hopping location directly on the river for our 2 day stay in Bangkok. The food is delicious, especially the dinner which was nearly perfect curries and salads with brown rice - authentic, healthy and great flavours. The setting for meals is beautiful, either in an enclosed terrace overlooking the river and private jetty with the impressive houses and gardens lit up in the background or less formally poolside. The overall feel of the hotel is that you are in a very small group of private guests waited on by wonderfully warm and polite staff - we immediately felt like we were in an oasis in this busy city as it's so quiet, clean and peaceful as soon as you enter the guarded gates (after you've been picked up by the efficient and well mannered driver in a large clean people carrier) that you feel safe and happy and definitely well fed! There are several large lizards as well as a dog and cats that roams freely and add to the family friendly feel of the Villas. We stayed in the Chinese Suitewhich is a large house on 2 levels with room for 4 or 5 people, well equipped with beautifully furnished bedrooms, living room and kitchenette. I'm sure there are also luxurious rooms for romantic weekenders. The house owns its own long-boat which is at your disposal and is probably the best tour available in Bangkok. Thank you to Atom (sorry about spelling) the gorgeous manager hostess who made u,s feel so welcome and special. When I told her we'd left our duty free on the plane she went to extra effort making phone calls and replaced it with a bottle from the hotel! Just incredibly kind and sweet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
252 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed in one of the moorish style rooms in early April 2012, over a long weekend.
The setting is ideal for temple hopping, a 10 minute stroll from The Grand Palace and just 5 from Wat Pho. It's location on the river, with a private jetty, also makes the Villa ideal for getting away on the water.
The gardens are very well cared for with a small swimming pool in a shady area.
Our room was small but well presented.
The breakfast was very good, we opted for the pork congee every day which was delicious especially when topped up with lots of chill and herbs.
There were a few small issues during our stay which meant we left with the sense that this is still very much a large B&B and not yet in the hotel-league of service yet. Fine, but the price is not reflective of this. We could have paid the same to stay in the 5* Mandarin Oriental.
- In the evening we struggled to get taxis into the city. The Villa is a good 10km out of town and at 6pm this means at least a 45 minute taxi ride. We were late for bookings (and sunset on both evenings as a result), despite asking the staff to book us a cab in advance at around noon. This wasn't done and they then had to stand and hail a cab which took more than half an hour, while we waited. Staff didn't really seem to 'get' what was required
- Toiletries were only placed in the bathroom on the last night of three - not a biggie but, for the price, I would have expected a full complement daily.
- The pool area seemed also to be the gardener's storage area, so there were often bags of soil, cement and equipment lying around. Fine if it's your own garden but not in a hotel.

We did have a lovely stay here, but it would definitely be more suited to more laid back travelers who don't mind the odd glitch, and paying for it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Project25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Intimate little property within close walking distance of the Grand Palace, Wat Pho, the flower market, with a lovely view of Wat Arun across the river. We spent four nights in the Riverview Villa which was quite spacious with a great view of the river activities from its large deck. A trip along the back canals was a great experience in the hotel's own longboat. This is not what I would call a super luxurious property as it has some little design quirks, but the staff is so warm and helpful, it makes for an absolutely delightful experience. A delicious breakfast was served daily either on our deck or in the small restaurant (our choice). If you wanted to eat dinner here you had to indcate by about 1 that day as shopping was done fresh every day based on your likes-dislikes. It consisted of several genuine Thai dishes served on their lovely deck over the river. Dinner was very good, just way more than we could even think of eating. The grounds were a lovely hideaway after a day sightseeing in this vibrant city. Would highly recommend if you are looking for somethIng a charming little boutique hotel with warm personal service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 16canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Aurum The River Place
#294 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Banglamphu
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
sala rattanakosin Bangkok
#228 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Surya Bangkok
Riva Surya Bangkok
#22 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Arun Residence
Arun Residence
#36 of 628 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Banglamphu
Riva Arun Bangkok
Riva Arun Bangkok
#54 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Banglamphu
The Royal ThaTien Village
The Royal ThaTien Village
#56 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chakrabongse Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chakrabongse Villas

Property: Chakrabongse Villas
Address: 396 Maharaj Road | Tatien, behind Wat Pho and near the Grand Palace, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chakrabongse Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bangkok's best kept secret ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chakrabongse Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chakrabongse Villas Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing