We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of City Lodge Soi 9

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Lodge Soi 9
Ranked #507 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Nice comfortable and clean hotel in a great location on Sukhumvit Road right next to the Nana BTS station. Walking distance to many night life attractions and restaurants.
Quiet rooms even those looking out onto the BTS rail.
Can book with or without breakfast. Breakfast is take next door in the sports bar and is basic, juice, tea or coffee, toast and eggs any style, bacon or snags if you want.
The big shopping malls are only one or two stations away.
Stayed there many times from one night to three weeks.

Room Tip: go for the superior room for a couple, but standard ok for a solo traveler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sir-Grahame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you very much for your comment and mostly for your loyalty as a frequent visitor to the City Lodge. We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our locatino and facilities.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Clean room and sheets. Staff knowledgeable and friendly, with 'can do' attitude. Would have been good to have tea making facilities in superior rooms. Breakfast either downstairs with mini menu or for extra £7 full breakfast at Amari round the corner.

Lovely, helpful staff - on each and every occasion so far - well done to all concerned. Will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room as some overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted to read that you enjoy our location and the service provided at the City Lodge Soi 9. This is much appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I definitely recommend this city lodge for the travelers esp. for the first timer like me, my stay was very enjoyable coz firstly, the staff are accommodating and extremely friendly, secondly, the room was so clean and i have a good slept in there. In addition, its in a city center, so it was near the train, malls, street vendors which is very convenient to me. absolutely, next time i will again stay there. so keep up the good work guys. Thanks.

kosh006

Room Tip: "Rooms on the south side are quieter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kosh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Dear Mr Kosh 006
Thank you very much for taking the time to write further to your recent stay at the City Lodge Soi 9. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the location and the facilities, and appreciate you kind comment about the staff who will be very happy to read that their efforts are recognized.
We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Bangkok.
Best regards

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager
alexandre.frenkel@amari.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel from late January 2013 to mid February 2013, and no real complaints, thought it was nice and handy to the entertainment areas and good public transport in the sky train basically at the door.
Would have been nice if there was Coffee making facilities..but no real complaints about that..as it is a budget hotel....the only small complaint...which was rectified straight away anyway was that I was charged with using the mini bar....but as soon as I said I didn't use it..it was removed...so all good.
The only staff I really dealt with were the receptionists, and they were friendly and helpful and had a basic knowledge of English
The rooms were always cleaned each day and bottled water was replaced daily to...so all in all a nice little budget hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We were happy to learn that you experience at the City Lodge was a pleasant one and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed here for four nights in march.Hotel is at nana sky train station(you can't get any closer).Staff friendly enough,room cleaned everyday with two bottles of water.In great location for Bangkok in the middle of everything.Clean hotel at cheap price in great location what more can you ask for.would stay here again.

Only downside no swimming pool,you can use the amari hotel pool on soi 5(5 mins walk away),but is very very small.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your review including your kind comments about he staff. I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the location, service and facilities of the City Lodge Soi 9.

Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hotel is a sort of bargain. It's very close ( beneath) the Nana BTS station. You have several restaurants, hotels, food stalls near the hotel. So as far as the location is concerned it's a good choice. However, the rooms are very small with small windows and hardly any natural light passes through. The room tariff is a sort of balance for the small rooms but good location. The breakfast is arranged with an adjoining pub and is acceptable. So if you don't mind the small rooms, I think it would be a reasonable choice. The rooms are neat and tidy though. And yes, if you request the hotel for an early check-in or late check out their answer would be that they are fully booked. But offer to pay them for half the room rent and voila !!! the rooms are immediately available. So don't expect any out of the way help from the staff. Please be careful before you pick up that bottle of water or local map or any other thing from the hotel room for your personal use. Most of the items are on a charge (exorbitant) basis and they have little price stickers which you could easily overlook.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We were happy to read that you found the City Lodge Soi 9 to be convenient. I was however sorry if you were not comfortable with the way we communicated our late check-out charge to you and shall review this. Due to the high level of demand of the hotel and the per night pricing however late check-out charges indeed do apply. In regards to bottled mineral water and chargeable kios items like maps, this is in line with other hotels. Again we are able to keep the room rate low by providing such optional items in the rooms with additional charge. Yours sincerely.

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The hotel is good if you're going to spend most of your time outside the hotel, need awesome access to MRT, and can't afford to spend money.

I went here since I need to do some business in Bangkok

I didn't know how things will turn out, so I decide to keep a tight lid on cost.

This hotel definitely good value for location if you're on a budget.

It's very near an MRT (2-3 minutes walk).

Although the service is good (front desk is fast and friendly) but in term of room quality, the budget experience is intense.

The room is small, cramp, ill equipped (old TV), and smelly.

I brought my own sheet to anticipate the budget experience, and I was glad I did.

Breakfast exist but bare.

My room felt so cramp I cannot wait to leave it and just walk around Bangkok.

Understand the benefits but be ready to accept the negatives

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SendyFilemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandre_Frenkel, General Manager at City Lodge Soi 9, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments about the staff and the service, much appreciated. We were sorry to read however that your experience with the room did not meet completely your expectations, and we have duly taken note of your comments for future improvements, including your mention on the sheets, which I was very concerned to read.
Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Yours sincerely

Alexandre Frenkel
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
Studio Nana by iCheck inn
#349 of 887 in Bangkok
179 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Business Inn
Grand Business Inn
#369 of 887 in Bangkok
188 reviews
Sukhumvit
On8 Sukhumvit Nana By Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Amari Boulevard Bangkok
Amari Boulevard Bangkok
#266 of 887 in Bangkok
1,261 reviews
Sukhumvit
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
Bunk Sukhumvit 11 Business Inn
#736 of 887 in Bangkok
7 reviews
Sukhumvit
Armoni Hotel Sukhumvit 11 by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Soi 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Soi 9

Address: Sukhumvit 9, Sukhumvit Road, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £26 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Soi 9 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal base for enjoying the attractions, shopping and nightlife of Bangkok, City Lodge Soi 9 is centrally located on the corner of Sukhumvit Soi 9 - close to the entrance of ’Nana’ skytrain station and a short walk to the ’Sukhumvit’ underground station. Many shopping centres, including the Emporium and Siam Paragon are just minutes away.All 28 guest rooms are equipped with an international direct telephone, satellite TV and minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Lodge Soi 9 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Soi 9 Hotel Bangkok
City Hotel Soi 9
City Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing