We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for bachelors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Square Boutique Hotel
Ranked #736 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
trivandrum
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for bachelors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

before selecting this hotel i read all these reviews and was reluctant to book there, but to my suprise i had no problem in getting taxis, going shopping, etc...the taxi guys were good. the hotel food is expensive, but near to the hotel there is a resturaunt , u can always go there and eat. malls like mbk and others are not far...rates are ok...i never did get to see a tuk tuk there. but overall i am happy..i will recommend this to people who travel with friends.. not good for family

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bangcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    37
    26
    24
See reviews for
28
31
9
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I booked Howard Square because I find it very difficult to sleep in the central, noisy areas of Bangkok and hoped it might be a bit more peaceful. The hotel describes itself both as being a 'boutique'and also ín a quiet residential area'. Neither of these things are true, and this wasn't the end of the lies told by this place.
Other reviewers are right, taxi drivers have NO IDEA where this place is, so we really struggled to find it. The hotel should be aware of this problem and send you an email with directions or a small map. We arrived to discover that, far from being a 'quiet' area, the hotel is in fact located on what I can only describe as a motorway.
We were very tired after taking the overnight train from Chiang Mai, so I requested that they put us in a room NOT overlooking the roar of the traffic. I had already specified when booking that I needed a quiet room. We went up to the 8th floor (when did supposedly good quality hotels stop showing you to your room?) and discovered that our room directly faced the road, and not only that... It was below the restaurant where all day there seemed to be a chair scraping contest going on. Also, there was a large group of very noisy young men staying on the same floor. How they can think that is quiet I do not know.
The room itself was large, but there my positives end. Firstly, we found cigarette ash and butts still in the ash tray, pretty disgusting. The room was in general quite clean apart from that, but just hideous, and badly laid out. I know decor is a matter of personal taste, but this was unspeakably bad. And in a room for two why have only one comfortable chair to watch tv in? And why have a large, ugly kitchen sink installed in the corner?
On the first night we ordered some food, which was barely edible, and took extensive negotiations to get them to bring it to our room, despite advertising room service. The breakfast, which was included luckily, was fairly good, although if you prefer Western items, you will not be in luck.
There are vulture-like taxi drivers waiting outside the hotel at all hours ready to pounce on you and quote some ridiculous price to get into the centre of town. I actually heard one of them trying to charge someone 3000 baht for the journey! Again, the hotel should put a stop to this, it does not make them look good.
The worst thing about the hotel is the staff, who I was unfortunate enough to cross. They have one computer in the (very busy and noisy) lobby for internet use at 60 baht per hour. I asked to use it for a few minutes and was told I would still have to pay the 60baht. This is a ludicrous price compared to any other internet cafes in Bangkok, and making you pay a full hour is just plain greed. I asked to use some of it then and some the next day t which the girl on reception grudgingly agreed. The following day I used the internet, and was going upstairs to our room when the receptionist (a different girl this time) ran after me shouting 'have you paid?' I explained about agreeing to pay once and use my time over 2 days, and she simply would not budge. She insisted I pay the whole amount again, despite my patient explanations. To imply that I was lying and not give the customer the benefit of the doubt over a small amount of money is some of the worst customer service I have ever experienced. I was so angry by this point we checked out early.
We really hated this place, and felt that it was a shoddy, cheaply done hotel charging far too much for appalling service. Do not stay here. It will make you miserable.
Also, they claim to have a fitness centre and coffee shop. They do not have either.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Batfink27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

Rooms are spacious and clean. However, located in the middle of nowhere I certainly won't recommend this hotel - especially to tourists. Taxidrivers have no idea where the hotel is and cannot even find the street. Public transport too far to walk.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

The Howard Square Hotel is a small Hotel which is located in some suburb of Bangkok. The only bad thing about it was its distance from everything. Its in a very isolated spot which is far from the city center. The lobby is Ok but the rooms are great. The food is not all that bad. I actually enjoyed my stay here in-spite of the distance. i recommend it if you want to save on some cash and don't mind a 20min drive to get to where the action is.

  • Liked — the clean rooms
  • Disliked — the distance from the city
  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rjogani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

Howard Square ambience and reception desk was quite a welcome to Thailand. The lobby is not relatively big, but very well decorated - Rooms are comfortable, as well as the breakfast options on the 8th floor are quite an appetite.
The hotel is not so close to the tourist attractions, so you need to rent a cab to get to the nearest shopping centres, Pat Pong - overall, even though the hotel is not very conventiently located, the service and the quality of the hotel, may just change your mind.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEO76_SYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

On a recent trip to Bangkok,we stayed in Howard square.Though I agree that the hotel is little far off from Pratunam/MBK/Suan Lum etc however finding a taxi is never a problem.
Taxi to MBK would cost you around 100 THB during the day and around 150 THB during the night.From Suan lum night bazaar a taxi would be easily available for 100 THB.I would suggest all to carry the hotel card with you for giving out directions to the cab drivers as language is a big problem with them.You might also tell them that this hotel is near the surasak station on the main road.The hotel is spotlessly clean and serves nice breakfast at the 8th floor.The staff at the reception understands english and is keen to provide you best of the services...Even at 4am they packed a nice breakfast for us as we had an early flight to phuket.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tans10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

This is hotel is good in cleanliness and rooms are a great treat. worth for our money. But the only demerit of this hotel is the location. This hotel is located on the outskirts of Bangkok and far away from famous shopping areas like Chattuchak(weekend)market, MBK mall and Indira market areas. Difficult to reach from the main city of Bangkok since many taxi fellows wont come to this hotel location during night.

  • Liked — cleanliness and comfort
  • Disliked — location is very far away from city
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shakthivel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangkok
Royal Tycoon Place
#333 of 442 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
The Seasons Bangkok Huamark
#716 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Convenient Park Bangkok
#739 of 851 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
CNR House Hotel
CNR House Hotel
#632 of 851 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Silom
Win Long Place Hotel & Apartment
Silom
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
Sathorn Terrace Apartment
#520 of 851 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Square Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Square Boutique Hotel

Property: Howard Square Boutique Hotel
Address: 3641/10 North-South Sathon Road | Bangklo Bangkoleam, Bangkok 10120, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #736 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Square Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Square Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Square Boutique Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing