We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How about a half star?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sawasdee Bangkok Inn
Ranked #799 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“How about a half star?”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Simply put, this is one of the worst places I have ever encountered.

The staff at reception appear to have taken a course in dismissivness - you are made to feel that your are wasting their precious time. The place is more than seedy after dark with insidious characters lurking about creating an air of uneasiness. Cleanliness appears to be a concept best left at reception; the hotel is upsettingly filthy - this can be best demonstrated by encountering a cat doing its business in front of a door, one along from mine! Room space is... well... tight and the breakfast is not worth paying extra for.

What is most frustrating is that the place is hardly cheap. Sadly, you pay top dollar to stay on Khao San Road!

All in all: not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Manager at Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
I have to say I'm sorry about the inconvenience. And thank you to stay with us and for the review. We will improve the service to be better than this.


Best Regard

Sutthiporn, Thaebboon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    65
    104
    87
    116
See reviews for
18
83
71
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We were not expectant That at all. At first the réception was really Cold. Then we saw a lot of prostitute in the hallway to get to the room. Got to the room (mini) and the sheets had blood stains on them. The room was disgustingly dirty. We changed room but There was already some curly hair on the pillow. We were unable to sleep There So we paid the night and changed hotel. Do not go there! Lots of better cheap options on Rambutri street just beside.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Manager at Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
First of all I have to say sorry for some dirty room. The fabric used for many years, making older.
But now we're already change a new bed sheets. And clean better.

Hope to see you on next visit.


Sutthiporn, Thaebboon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Napier
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This place for us was a shocker. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone or ever stay again. The room was tiny - the door hit the edge of the bed on entry and there was barely room to move. The bathroom was just as small with the door just missing the toilet and the sink. Sleep quality was not good with a very old soft mattress and very loud music from neighbouring businesses playing until the wee hours. The alley way leading to the hotel and the stairs reeked of cat urine. On a positive note the included breakfast was buffet style and adequate.
We immediately started looking for alternative accommodation and moved to Thara House. Cheaper and cleaner with a bigger room and free wifi but no breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Manager at Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for stay with us and for the review. I regret that you did not receive comfort from the this stay. If you come back to stay her again i will give you a bigger room and quiet room. for special price.


Best Regard
Suthiporn Thaebboon
Hotel Manager At sawasdee bangkok inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here with 4 other mates, each in separate rooms.

The room itself i didn't find terrible, yes its small (can hardly open the door because of the bed) but personally i don't spend a lot of time in my room anyway, so it also didn't concern me that the 3 channels that did work on my TV were all in Thai. But the beds at this hotel are terrible! The mattress is so soft that you really sink into the bed, would hate to try and have two people sleeping in the beds here.

I paid extra for the use of WIFI but this is almost a complete waste of money, i instead used the 3G on my phone for the internet as the hotel is so slow and sometimes just didn't work at all.

One night we all turned up at around 3am to collect our keys and call it a night, no problem theres somebody on the desk 24/7, but the lady at the desk then tried to charge my friend for bringing his girlfriend back to the hotel.. They booked a double room (for 4 nights) and originally checked in together, but as my friend has a Thai girlfriend, the hotel assumed she was a working girl and made a big fuss about her paying to stay and giving up her ID at the counter etc which was very rude and inappropriate and i'm sure embarrassing for her!) It took us 5-10 minutes for all of us to convince the lady at the desk that our friend has been with her a year etc.. and with a very stale face finally let her enter! (This didn't happen just once!)

Another night while parting ways in the hallway we had a ladyboy walk out of another hotel room asking if we wanted to go sleep with him/her, which honestly we found pretty funny but also a little troubling at the same time.

Room Tip: Ask for a different room if your AC doesn't work very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickstanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, ผู้จัดการ at Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
First of all I have to say sorry for mistake abount his girlfriend. I have been training on this story. I promise next time I will not be like this again. And apologize for any inconvenience this bed. We are buying a new piece. i recommend room free wifi by bookign via sawasdee-hotels.com that will be exclusive included of wifi .

Thank you very much for the review.

Sutthiporn, Thaebboon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I stayed here for two days in July 2013. Although a lot of the reviews on here do hold some truth (Small rooms, not 5* cleanliness, when you shower you are basically on the toilet etc) I think people forget that you are in a £10 hostel! I'm not sure what people expect really? I found the place nice, it has AC (that worked), the staff were friendly, the wifi worked well, the location is perfect to go and see the craziness of Khao San road... yet it's not outside your window so you can get some sleep! The breakfast isn't great.. but there are so many places close by to grab something. 2 mins from Khao San Road/Seven Eleven etc. You get what you pay for basically! I'd happily stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Manager at Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for stay with us and for the review. We will maintain high standards of work and service for the better.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regard
Suthiporn Thaebboon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Tiny rooms, average cleanliness, snowy TV reception all around. Staff nice enough and downstairs travel agent very helpful and friendly sourcing and offering fair prices. However, the central location of this place makes it quite noisy all night around (the beats of the ongoing doof doof music are ever present, but given the location, this is unavoidable and understandable). In all fairness, this is not as bad a place as other reviews indicate, however, there are better budget options nearby, particularly if you're looking to stay longer than just a night or two.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kupferhollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Manager at Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear
Thank you to stay with us and having our hotel review . Firstly i have to say sorry for your inconvenience during stay. I'm sure for next time when you come to thailand and stay with us again i will give you a better and quiet room.

Best Regard
Suthiporn Thaebboon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

There is only one word to say about this UTTERLY DISGUSTING. I booked a single room and being solo woman traveller the first thing is to check the windows lock. Well having to "try" to get the door as it was so small, " CELL" springs to mind it was not . So after waiting 4 more hours by this time I was already not enjoying ( wish I'd just had!!) the room was soooooo tiny, the bathroom if you can call it that was full of roaches and u literally had to manoeuvre yourself around the door in to keep clean. But I have to say I didn't feel cleaner after!! They say they have tv, well they do have and it certainly isn't satellite as described

Things got better in the morning when I had to check out early. No one was in reception,or they were sleeping no doubt so I dropped the key in the box. Then SHOCK HORROR I looked in the minor to be COVERED by bites and I have had many mosquito bites to know they were not those. Urghhgg bed bites of the worst description.

When I got back to Chiang Mai I had realised they didn't giver my 500 bahts key refund back. After them putting down the phone on me 8 yes 8 times(!) I was finally told that I had not ts them I would not be staying night and should have told the "invisible " night porter . So not only have THE SMALLEST cell (and I have been travelling ThAiland for a year ) have stayed in some pretty grummy places ,but this is the worst. These people call themselves Buddhists what a TERRIBLE show of their relation. So still lying here it itching like mad ALL I CAN SAY IS ENJOY YOUR STAY.. Not. Take LOTS of disinfectant , anti biotic cream, and be prepared for a sell for the night . Wayy cheaper places there with fab employees, no creatures of varying varieties,a shower that you can actually fit in and no views of building site.All in all STAY AWAY!!! You have been warned ..... ;0)


  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JusLindley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SawasdeeHotels, Manager at Sawasdee Bangkok Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
First of all I have to say sorry for product quality , Your review will help me to present to our broad for renovation budget .
I'm apology for our staff not stay at the lobby because she go to check the room has someone check out on that time when you come back to thailand you can come to hotel to get 500 baht back.
However , I recommend you may can try another Sawasdee Hotel such as Sawasdee Khaosan Inn and Sawasdee Banglumpoo Inn which newer and higher quality .

Hope to see you on next your holiday.

Best Regard

Suthiporn Thaebboon
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Four Sons Place
Four Sons Place
#639 of 862 in Bangkok
139 reviews
Banglamphu
Suksawad Hotel
Suksawad Hotel
#582 of 862 in Bangkok
25 reviews
Airy Resort
#424 of 862 in Bangkok
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Amarin Inn
Amarin Inn
#321 of 862 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#566 of 862 in Bangkok
1,588 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#347 of 862 in Bangkok
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawasdee Bangkok Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawasdee Bangkok Inn

Property: Sawasdee Bangkok Inn
Address: 126/2 Khaosan Road | Banglumpu, Phra Nakhon, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sawasdee Bangkok Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawasdee Bangkok Inn is located on Khaosan Road, this affordable hotel offers charming accommodation. Temple of the Emerald Buddha and the Marble Temple are within walking distance. Sawasdee Bangkok Inn offers unique colonial architecture and the charm of the old Siam. Most rooms are decorated in antique teak wood.A business centre, Internet café , beverage lounge are on site for your convenience . Guests can enjoy favorite activities in the area. Close to Chinatown and the Grand Palace, all the sights are in reach. Within walking distance you will also find the National Museum and the National Art Gallery. The tour desk helps guests organize excursions to tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sawasdee Bangkok Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawasdee Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Sawasdee Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing