We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget and convenience”
Review of Hotel De Moc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel De Moc
Ranked #409 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Budget and convenience”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Ideal for a short stay for business. For the price I paid, this hotel was a budget accommodation ideal for short stay. The room was very basic and furnitures old, but fairly clean bed sheets for a good sleep. Staff at reception had some difficulty with communication but overall was able to understand. Breakfast was not that impressive and basic.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Atonn_ego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Atonn Ego,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.

We were pleased to read you felt our hotel was a good choice for a short business stay in the city and that it also represented good value for money.

Your comment relating to the Reception Staff has been passed onto our Front Office Manager, who will provide additional training for all our front line staff on how to assist and handle guest enquires.

We are glad that overall you had a pleasant stay at our city hotel and hope you would consider returning again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    286
    154
    57
    45
See reviews for
65
243
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for thee nights at this hotel, and were happy with our stay. The staff were friendly on arrival and quick in checking us in. The room was spacious, with a balcony looking out to the pool. My husband had a massage and said it was amazing. The hotel is in walking distance to khao san road, and rambuttri which we thought had a better vibe than khao san. For the price paid I couldnt have expected any more. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_lfc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Rachel IFC05,

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to write an on-line review for the Hotel De Moc. Our Management Team take great care in reading and reacting to helpful reviews such as yours.

Your compliments for the hotel are very well received and make us proud to have had the opportunity to welcome you here as a guest.

We also really appreciate your recommendations to all future travelers about the location and nightlife surrounding our city hotel.

We hope that you will have the chance to visit us again soon and we thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Pictures do not resemble hotel well and were definitely taken in a better light. The rooms are very basic and dated. The corridors are large and dark and remind you of a prison. Staff were nice but we felt like they were always trying to get more out of us. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Brian B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc in Bangkok, we are very sorry to read on Trip Advisor that you were unhappy with the services we provide here.

We understand that our retro 60’s style rooms may not be to the taste of all our guests. We have 92 rooms in this hotel and since our company took over in 2009 we have installed new wooden floors in every room as well as replacing new curtains, baths, beds and a whole host of other essential items. It is simply not true that everything has been left and neglected.

The year 2014 will be the a year of change for the Hotel De Moc as we are planning another round of major renovation work. All of the guest rooms will once more be upgraded, though without compromising the overall style of the hotel.

We are sorry you had a disappointing stay and hope you have better experiences elsewhere on you vacation to Thailand.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Staff were really helpful and friendly as soon as we arrived having never been to Bangkok or Thailand before.
The room was spacious and clean and we had a balcony so we could smoke outside. The bathroom is pretty dated but generally you could get hot/warm water for a shower.
We had a massage at the hotel, one of many and it was nice. The pool is nice too just be sure to take insect repellent with you!
Wifi worked 9/10 times and the breakfast in the morning has plenty of variety. Be sure to get there early though as they dont always restock some items.
Easily walking distance to ATMs, 7Elevens, travel/tour agencies and Khao San Road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Bec H,

Your kind review of the Hotel De Moc is very much appreciated and our staff were very happy to have had a chance to accommodate you during your recent trip to Bangkok.

All guest comments and suggestions are very important to us as these are our link to you, the customer and are vital in helping us improve our services.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to see you again on a future visit!

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived the night of military coup at 2 am so a bit overwhelmed and the hotel proved to be our haven in sweltering curfew Bangkok. Stayed for 3 nights. Staff very helpful and friendly and their English reasonable. Bed and pillows very comfortable compared with other places we stayed.
The rooms need a drastic update but could be part of charm as they market themselves as 60's retro hotel. Some work going on level 2 rooms during day. Checked for bedbugs but couldn't see anything. Cleaning staff only change sheets on request but standard seemed ok.
Beer garden and pool relaxing even if in middle of smoggy noisy area. Shower pressure great. Wifi not so good to start with but could be due to significant time we arrived. Air con noisy and a bit old.
Breakfast buffet very good but make sure you book this as part of room before you checkin as they charged us 260 baht each up from 150 since we did not "accept the policy" when we checked in.
You can walk to many areas incl Khaosan rd and river from de moc. I would stay here again as price very good for what you get.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Elizabeth777_12,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our boutique hotel located near the bustling Khaosan Road area of Bangkok..

Everyone here really appreciates your kind words and recommendation to other future travelers to choose our hotel.

Our Management team place a lot of emphasis on providing good customer service and assistance to all our guests. We understand that arriving in a new country can sometimes be a little daunting and if we can offer a friendly face and good sound travel advice it will enhance the guests stay.

When you first booked the hotel your booking did not include breakfast. We are currently running a special promotion for our guests when they first arrive at the hotel the option of upgrading their room package to include breakfast, at the reduced rate of 150 Baht per person. This price is only available at check-in, if you choose to buy breakfast at a later date the full price will be applied, which is 236 Baht per person. We are sorry if this was not correctly explained to you when you first arrived.

We truly hope you will return to the Hotel De Moc again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel looks exactly like it does in the pictures (unlike some I've been to!) And the staff were very helpful. We were in our room within 15 mins of pulling into the carpark.

Our room faced the front of the building, on the 5th floor. The lifts are old, small and slow but they do work! WiFi did work in our room, but not well. We usually went down to the lobby. The pool is nice, but the weather is so hot and sticky, we couldn't sit there for long!

The room was great. Comfy beds, little balcony (I loved the metal deck chairs outside! Very comfy!), mini bar, nice big bathroom with a tub and there was plenty of room to put all our our luggage.

We are in the restaurant on the first night. The food was lovely but a little too expensive for our budget, so we had room service the next 2 nights. Great service, very quick.

They offer a free tuk tuk ride to nearby Khao San Rd between 9am and 5pm. You have to get yourself back though. Worth a look, but not as great as we expected!

Its around 50-60 mins from Don Mueang airport, and slightly longer from Suvarnabhumi airport. There's a 7-11 about 5 mins walk away. Turn right at the end of the drive, cross the road at the corner and cross again under the raised roadway. Its about a 30 second walk down the main street.

Its a great hotel for the price and location. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkgem_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Pink gem,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel De Moc and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor of your experiences.

We really appreciate you kind words regarding our staff's customer service and the style of the room.

We understand the importance of providing WIFI in a hotel and at the Hotel De Moc we do not charge extra for this important service. However, as a consequence of this sometimes the signal becomes weaker in certain areas of the hotel, if we have many guests using the server at the same time. Over the coming months we will be working with our IT department to improve this service and increase the speed for our guests.

We are glad that overall you had a pleasant stay at our city hotel and hope you would consider returning again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Had stayed at this place for 4 nights, a good hotel with great rooms with a balcony, near to many tourist attractions... I would definitely recommend this hotel to all.
The hotel also has a good tourist information desk where you can book trips to various tourist spots like Kanchanaburi, Ayutthaya etc..I did all my bookings here (compared to other places i found it was cheap). The Hotel has an amazing collection of cars and bikes on display, a nice swimming pool and massage room....
I only thing I felt expensive was the breakfast (not much choice available also) although I had it for a day and the rest of the days I survived on the 7/11 shop nearby...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunilo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRM_officer, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel De Moc, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Sunilo17,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, everyone associated with the Hotel De Moc was delighted to read it.

In particular I have passed your comments onto my colleagues at the Buddy Travel Agency. The BTA staff were "over the moon" to be mentioned on Trip Advisor as they work very hard providing good, sound travel advice to new travellers in Thailand.

We were very pleased to learn you enjoyed staying at our hotel and found it a comfortable and pleasant stay.

We hope you would choose us again in the future.

Kind Regards

John Pettengell
Group Guest Services Manager
gsm@buddygroupthailand.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#173 of 862 in Bangkok
1,283 reviews
Banglamphu
Trang Hotel Bangkok
Trang Hotel Bangkok
#429 of 862 in Bangkok
223 reviews
Banglamphu
Nanda Heritage Hotel
Nanda Heritage Hotel
#132 of 862 in Bangkok
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Swana Bangkok Hotel
Swana Bangkok Hotel
#354 of 862 in Bangkok
318 reviews
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#348 of 862 in Bangkok
1,290 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#369 of 862 in Bangkok
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Moc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Moc

Property: Hotel De Moc
Address: 78 Prajatipatai Rd, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Moc 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel De Moc is conveniently located in the heart of Bangkok, the perfect vacation destination and sightseeing attractions, such as Rattanakosin Island, Grand Palace and Golden Mount. Reflecting traditional standards of excellent service and hospitality, Hotel De Moc offers the most up to date facilities including Wi Fi Hot Spot Internet access, free 24 hr. bicycle service, free tuk tuk serviceHotel De MOC is also a gateway to Khao San Road, the world famous area of Bangkok, where you can buy anything from a College Degree to a Cartier Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De Moc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Moc Hotel
De Moc Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing