We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great budget hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Retro39

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Retro39
Ranked #308 of 1,155 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great budget hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The best budget hotel i've ever stayed. The room very spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. The facilities are complete; tv, kettle, fridge, strong wifi signal and elevator. I really love the toilet; super clean, strong water pressure and toilet are fitted with a spray hose (really important for muslim usage). Booking the room via Agoda including the breakfast but have not tried the breakfast because no halal certified but it's okay. Just few steps to BTS station and main road. The massage house just infront of the hotel-really good for tired feet and body after shopping. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommanded.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cikdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retro39, Guest Relations Manager at Retro39, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Hello,

Thank you for your review and recommending us. We are glad!

Retro39 is mainly known for its convenient location and facilities around our location. As you mentioned, we provide basic amenities when compared to big hotels, which reflects in our price too. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Retro39
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    30
    23
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
19
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel left me in two minds. Go in the rooms and you think "yeah, this is a decent boutique hotel". Everything is clean and modern, everything works, and it's pretty cheap compared with others in the neighbourhood. But outside the rooms, in the corridors there is so much clutter (toilet rolls, cleaning products, spare beds and bed linen) that it feels more like a storeroom in a home appliance store. There was also a strange smell which lingered around (outside the rooms). On a positive note, the staff are great and the location is good for getting around the city (3 min walk to BTS), plus there are a number of good restaurants -especially Japanese- on your doorstep. Overall, a solid 6 out of 10: but could be an 8 if it was clutter free!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djwill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retro39, Guest Relations Manager at Retro39, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We will look into points mentioned by you and work on them better.

Retro39 is mainly known for its convenient location and facilities around our location. As you mentioned, we provide basic amenities when compared to big hotels, which reflects in our price too. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Retro39
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in May at Suite 603. Hotel was kind enough to note my request for a quiet room. Room was a good size, simply furnished (fairly new furniture) with good clean bed sheets. However the mattresses are hard (1 being harder than the other) and we had a hard time sleeping although we are used to firm mattresses (but not this hard-meant to last forever). The aircond does not seem to cool the suite evenly/adequately and parts of room not blown by air cond directly are hot. The quilts are very hot (non breathable material) and not usable. On the first night (after we checked in), we informed the reception the non smoking room smelt of smoke which she suggested she will send somebody to air and spray the next day as all staff have gone home. Shortly after that, a male staff unlocked our room door and walked in without knocking which really startled us. He said he came to spray some freshener. We slept with a big chair pushed against the door after this unexpected incident. Sounds from the next room bathroom and loud voices from masseurs sitting outside the massage shop downstairs could be heard at times. The reception was only staffed by 1 lady and was understaffed when she has guests at the counter and had to take phone calls. Our call for room service meals was taken but she could not tell us how long it will take for food to arrive and said she was busy serving some guests and cannot assist further. Not a major issue if you do not require any service.
The restaurant owner (from India) speaks great English and gave excellent service offering to serve us warmer food and coffee. Breakfast was a simple buffet (fried rice, toast with butter & marmalade, eggs, ham and sausage plus fruits) but considering it's price, it is as good as complimentary. The manager's service and friendliness certainly made up for the lack of service from the hotel.
On the whole, I would say this hotel is great value at SGD50 for a suite. It's location is 3 minutes to Prong Phom BTS Station. After alighting at Prong Phom station, just walk in the direction of the train and at the first side road to left, you can walk in. The hotel entrance is along this road towards the end. It's a short road. Alternatively continue walking along Sukhumvit Rd and the next side road is Soi 39. Turn into Soi 39 and immediately after Koka Restaurant you will see the restaurant entrance of Retro 39. There are 2 massage units here and some Thai roadside foodstalls and expensive Japanese restaurants here plus Koka.
From the airport, we took the Airport Link City Line (located at basement floor of Airport) to Phaya Thai Station for 45 baht per person. Then transfer to BTS (go down to lowest level) which cost another 39 Baht per person. All in it took maybe about 50 minutes. You will have to carry luggages down the flights of steps.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retro39, Guest Relations Manager at Retro39, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We will carefully look into issues mentioned by you.

Retro39 is mainly known for its convenient location and facilities around our location. As you mentioned, we provide basic amenities when compared to big hotels, which reflects in our price too. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Retro39
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
241 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

room - great. fantastic. spacious. clean. queen bed though, would have been out of this world awesome had it been a KING sized bed.

bathroom - all in there: warm shower, soap, toothbrush, cotton buds, good working toilet - important to have if you intend to offload your alcohol into the sewers after a mad night out.

view - 7th floor had the best view i guess? pictures attached.

hotel lobby - small but who needs a big one ehy? quick check-in and check-out. sweet!

price - @ sgd 48/night with basic buffet Bfast: DO NOT COMPLAIN!

public transport - 2 mins walk to Phrom Phong BTS. 5mins walk to Emporium Mall. 15mins BTS + MRT ride to Makassan Airport Rail stop.

taxi - easy as 1,2,3: just flag one along the main road which was 40 meters away from hotel

food - the bfast was basic but did the job to subdue an angry post party tummy the night before. IM CHAN roadside resto opens from 7am - 10pm. Roadside food booths galore. 7-11 and Family Mart just 2mins walk!!!

staff - all smiles and politeness!

location - plenty of clean and not so clean massages around, take your pick.

Room Tip: only 2 rooms on lvl 7 with shared balcony has an awesome view of the BKK city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee_P_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retro39, Guest Relations Manager at Retro39, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Hello,

Thank you for your review. Retro39 is mainly known for its convenient location and facilities around our location. As you mentioned, we provide basic amenities when compared to big hotels, which reflects in our price too. Thank you for recommending us and writing about our services in detail.

Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Retro39
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed 1 night only, feel comfortable, place was so accessible to restaurants around, just a few steps to BTS phrompong station, near Emporium and park. This is applicable for those looking for a budget hotel, if you are looking for a cheaper one this is right for you. I just noticed the shower room not that clean but over all nice and cheap.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ynez1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retro39, Guest Relations Manager at Retro39, responded to this review, 20 February 2015
Hello,

Thank you for your review. Retro39 is mainly known for its convenient location and facilities around our location. Thank you for recommending us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Retro39
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Amazing hotel, amazing room, friendly staffs, highly recommend the Retro Cafe (clean and good food). Rooms are new and clean with great room service. Staffs alway greet with a smile. The location is right in the heart of Bangkok surrounded with BTS, Shopping malls and other attractions. Looking for a clean boutique hotel? Go for Retro39. Thank you to the Retro Team :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retro39, Guest Relations Manager at Retro39, responded to this review, 17 February 2015
Greetings from Bangkok,

Thank you for such a lovely review. We love happy customers and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
RETRO39
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is located probably 1min walk off the main Sukhumvit road with many coffee shops/restaurants nearby. The room was quite big with 2 double beds with very comfy pillows. The bad point was the proximity of my room to the elevator, every time someone got in/got out there was a loud metal noise which woke me up most of the night. Not sure all rooms are like this but mine front door was probably 3meter from the elevator so it was very noisy.
The breakfast served in the morning was European style but the quality wasnt very good, eggs and sausages didnt taste particularly well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladi_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retro39, Guest Relations Manager at Retro39, responded to this review, 17 February 2015
Greetings from Bangkok,

We are glad you enjoyed the room and will definitely work on your suggestions. We are known for our location which provides ease of access to anywhere in Bangkok with most of the modes of transport. We have a small variety of breakfast however, we will definitely work on its quality.

Thanks for the review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
24 Inn Hotel
24 Inn Hotel
#380 of 852 in Bangkok
83 reviews
Sukhumvit
Nantra Sukhumvit 39
Nantra Sukhumvit 39
#724 of 852 in Bangkok
231 reviews
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#292 of 852 in Bangkok
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
St. James Hotel
St. James Hotel
#425 of 852 in Bangkok
515 reviews
Sukhumvit
Emporium Suites by Chatrium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retro39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retro39

Property: Retro39
Address: 1/10-11, Sukhumvit Soi 39 | Khlong Ton Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit , Wattana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #308 of 1,155 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Retro39 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retro39 is a new breed of hotel in bangkok. We welcome all travelers of the world - we mean the suits, weekenders, explorers, affair-havers and fashion-grabbers looking for boutique hotel accommodations. All of the stylish, colourful and airy rooms at this Bangkok hotel are tastefully decorated using muted, modern themes and natural retro accents. To lure you - we offer LED TVs,Free Wifi and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Retro39 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing