We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel, in a nice neighbourhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centre Point Silom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centre Point Silom
Ranked #102 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, in a nice neighbourhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Great hotel, almost right at the exit of the BTS (Station: Saphon Taksin). We stayed three people in a nice BIG room, with views of the river. It is a bit pricy, and not for the people on a budget. The extra bed, was quite short, but otherwise comfortable.

The sorrounding area is very nice, really busy, and only 5 minutes walk from Silom Road. The hotel is situated on top of the Robinson Shopping Mall (Under renovation until at least dec. '13).

Room Tip: All rooms are on 9th floor or higher so dont worry about street noise. River is to the west of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoerenKaae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    788
    111
    29
    17
See reviews for
308
843
151
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The hotel is not best located for tourist travellers, may suit business people better.The exterior is largely covered in scaffolding. The immediate street outside is dark and not encouraging for late night walking. No pleasant local restaurants or cafes. Thankfully a 7-11 but meant crossing a busy road.
On the plus side the rooms are very big, clean and even have a washer/dryer complete with small soap powder sachet, very useful.
We arrived at 11.pm and found the twin room requested was not available. At this late hour and having had two weeks booking notice it was not acceptable. The reception staff were not helpful until much complaining and agreeing to a further 20 minute wait they changed the bed to twin beds and then we were exhausted. We did not have a chance to try breakfast due to schedules. Door staff and porters were excellent. Room cleaning excellent. Good view of the river from the side higher floors but only looking sideways as there was a ugly buildings directly in our front view.
A taxi from SIam Centre refused to meter the journey due to great distance and ended up costing a fixed fee of 250 Baht.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view but remember it is partially obscured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shopwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

This is a great place to stay in Bangkok. Nice clean large suite type room with cooking facilities. Breakfast is excellent - good value for money. Very close to River.
Watch for scamming taxi drivers in the vicinity who seem to be hand in glove with hotel security and bell boys. Always ask taxi driver to turn the meter on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kbhathal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanasit T, Front Office Manager at Centre Point Silom, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Kbhathal,

Thank you very much for your kind comment. I will forward your message to all department to encourage their duties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in this good hotel, booking a standard room. It was very clean with wide rooms and comfortable. On the room there was even a wash/dry machine with soap: that's great for long staying.
Hotel staff was nice and helpful.
The position is good and closed to sky train and boats on the river.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank esc014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Centre Point Silom is a newer efficiency hotel located in the Silom area of Bangkok. The hotel sits above the Robinson Department store (currently closed for a complete overhaul) and equipped with a fridge (free cold bottled water inside), stove, washer and dryer. Our room was big enough for 3 people; a king bed with a cot. I would consider this a 4 star establishment. The breakfast was excellent; Western food included eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, cereal, etc and Eastern food included congee, stir fry noodle, dim sum, etc & assorted entrée type of foods (one day was seafood casserole, then braised beef, etc). It has a gym, outdoor pool, free DVD & books for loan, free coffee dispenser in the lobby and across the street is a 7 Eleven. More importantly we picked this hotel for the location, as it is approx half block from the SaphanTak Sin BTS Station and one long block from Central pier. The only other hotel closer is the Shangri-La Hotel. Most sightseeing sites are off the River Chao Phraya, either with a short walk or tuktuk/taxi. The value and location make this a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Had late check in at 11:40pm with no problems. Stayed on 12th floor. Excellent location since close to MRT, ferry, local cheap and good food stalls (even the ones that's top "to visit" places like the famous Mango Sticky Rice place, and the fried oyster omelet place), extremely awesome fruits stalls (mangos to die for! They are SOOO smooth like butter but my thai friend said Nov mangos aren't in season. If those none stringy, super sweet, butter-like texture is "not in season", I can't imagine what "in season" mangos (April) taste like!). Rooms are super big, beds are super comfy. Great customer service at front desk and even better concierge service. Always quick to assist on providing directions, hailing cabs, providing umbrellas when raining, etc. Were planning to go to Grand Palace but they advised going by ferry would not only be cheaper, would get is there faster. Rooms come with washer/dryer combo machine which is a plus since we tend to change a couple times a day after each outing in the 90+ degree heat/humidity. I packed tide pods with me to use. They provide some detergent but I would bring my own toiletries/detergents just to be on safe side. Washer/dryer takes forever to wash/dry but that's the drawback of having a combo so nothing the hotel can do....still, excellent feature. One of the main reasons why I picked Centre Point Silom.

Cab is 30 min ride from airport for 350-400 bt, depending on traffic. If going to MBK malls, If more than 2 people, take cab since around 70 baht whereas MRT sky train would be 42 baht each way. Going to Chinatown is about 80 bahts.

Never an issue finding a cab since they are an abundant...except when it rains. If so, better off taking the MRT.

Pool is very chic. It's 1.4 meters aka 4'7" deep. Never crowded so you can always have a spot or feel like you have the whole pool area to yourself.

Didnt use the kitchen to cook or anything but all utensils, pots, pans, etc are provided. We uses the knives to cut up fresh mangos bought from street vendors. Hotel provides 2 bottles of water each day.

Like other reviews mentioned, the connecting department store, Robinson, is undergoing construction. We stayed 11/3 - 11/8. I believe in one of the hotel's response, they said reno would complete 11/2013 but it was still under heavy construction while I was there. I never heard any noises from inside the hotel, however, it does make it hard for cabs to find the hotel at times. Make sure you take the hotel's business card with you since it contains the address and name in Thai. The concierge always make it clear to the cab drivers where you're going and provide in writing the location you are going in Thai in case the cab driver have any questions. Concierge also tells me if there are any issues with the cab or the ride, let them know so I guess they can follow up. Never had an issue with cab rides the hotel hails but if you hail from outside the hotel, make sure they turn on the meter before they "guesstimate" and overcharge.

Free wifi, good shower/water pressure, clean, courteous, didn't open up balcony since afraid Mosquitos would fly in, didnt use complimentary tuk tuk since didnt even know it existed till I read the latest reviews just now, didnt try restaurant so can't comment, gym was good/clean...had all sorts of equipment, a couple 7/11s nearby, a bubble tea place across the street, a "Watson" pharmacy nearby.

Overall, great for couples/family that wants to be close to all and experience staying amongst the local. Probably not so much for those looking for "Hangover 2" Bangkok experience.

FYI - Get a SIM card for 299 baht for x mins and unlimited Internet at airport/convenient stores. With that, you can use Skype, google chat, WeChat, etc. use GPS, google translate, etc since unlimited Internet.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SmileighGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I chose this hotel based on the location. There are many market stools, restaurants and shops near by.
The shopping centre was under construction whilst we were there but we did not hear any noise.
I booked us on special package with late check out, which was a bonus as we had very late night flight so it was nice to have shower before check out at 6pm.
Reception staff are all friendly and helpful.
Lifts can sometimes take long time to come and the hallways are very 'plain'. I felt like in a block of flats but the room made up for it. The shower was amazing!
Breakfast had interesting choice of food but what I had, it was tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Silom
Triple Two Silom
Triple Two Silom
#58 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,605 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#16 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre Point Silom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre Point Silom

Property: Centre Point Silom
Address: 1522/2 Soi Kaysorn 1, (Chaloernkrung 50) Charoenkrung Rd. | Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#75 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#86 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre Point Silom 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre Point Hotel Silom, situated on the top of Robinson Bangrak Department Store and at the bank of Chao Phraya River, is in proximity to Saphan Taksin skytrain (BTS) station and Sathorn ferry pier; aiding quick and easy transfer to:The Grand Palace, Emerald Buddha Temple, Wat Pho Temple, Temple of Dawn (Wat Arun), and Asiatique - the Riverfront and Community Mall(night bazaar).The Hotel’s building is in the Jewelry Trade District of Silom and Sathorn road. It takes just a 5 min. drive to BKK Sea Shell Museum, and Sri Mahamariamma Temple; a mere 10 min. drive to Pat Pong (night life), and a short 15 min. drive to China Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Centre Point Silom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre Point Silom Bangkok
Centre Point Silom Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing