We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, charming hotel”
Review of Drop Inn Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drop Inn Bangkok
Ranked #133 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 November 2011

this is not a flash, new hotel. it's worn on the edges, but it's clean, quiet, and the juliet balcony lets in a lot of light. the dining area is nice, the breakfast was nothing special but sufficient (they had bacon!) as hotel breakfasts tend to be.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miffyninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

The room was ok, small problem with the drains. Restaurant staff very polite especially at breakfast. Also lift seemed to be broken and one of the reception staff was a touch too familiar.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I was travellinhg from Beijing to BKK and couldn't find anything better online. I was looking for somewhere decent but definitely not expensive. It's not that the budget is tight. I really don't like paying 1st world prices for 3rd world accommodation

I know it's not The Drop Inn's problem but it's really not well known. I landed at Suvarnabhumi after 7pm and got the Skytrain into the city and got the taxi from Makassan. The driver passed it on the left and drove on down the road, turned 360 at the end and back up. Stopped to ask a security (actually my little honey did the asking) guard who said "no drop in here". I had to insist on him driving on up the road and spotted the sign on the left. It's directly opposite the sports bar down a lane.

I was expecting the wall of chill when I entered the lobby but they don't have the AC on in the lobby area. They hadn't got the booking details from Agoda when I got there so check in was somewhat delayed. The staff were very good, I know I can be a difficult customer and I feel they handled me well. They had room so there really wasn't a problem and we got up to our room on the front of the building. The room was clean and comfortable. the double bed was in fact 2 singles put together so when I cuddled in behind her I was lying on the divide and somewhat uncomfortable.

Breakfast was "included" but I went down on my own (for the second time in 12 hours) to the dining area off the lobby. Again no AC but the brekkie was ok. The bacon was all streaky, the eggs were all sunny side up and raw on the top side (no problem flipping them on the pan) and the sausages looked raw and pasty but tasted pretty good. All you can eat cereal and toast and coffee and whatever fry up you want.

The location is quiet and still convenient. I found the sports bar at the top of the lane and was able to watch Green Bay play San Diego in a real thriller (Nov 2011) and the action in BKK is a couple of Skytrain stops to the east at Nana.

I had booked it because I couldn't find anything betterbut I was staying in Thailand for 3 weeks. I asked them for a price for another week and the said to get back onto Agoda. No authority to negotiate there and then. Their loss. I'm in the Grand Inn BKK now. See my report after the weekend.


So the place is OK but not really great value, but then their job is to get as much as they can out of us and our job is the get the best value we can.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upah0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Good price for the location near BTS. It's simply, clean and very comfortable. We got softly service from lovely staffs as we're at home. The breakfast's delicious and fresh.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anencha_Pitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

I like this hotel because it is in a convenient location for shopping and it is cute. They give decent breakfast also for the price. The only thing I found out is that the wall is very thin. I have stayed here many times, but haven't noticed this since the last stay. You can hear the voice from next room easily. This hotel is good if you need a stay for a short period of time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pias9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

I returned at Drop Inn Hotel after one year with my girlfriend. I found the same friendly kindness of the staff and the owner. The hotel looks still nice and clean, simple but very well located at a walking distance from Sukhumvit Road and Skytrain station. Still a good place to stay and good value for money

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Totons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We are using Drop Inn, as a Bangkok base during our month in Thailand. It is clean and quiet and very near the Sky Train and Emporium Mall where every need can be met.

I must say that Drop Inn is no frills, but it is comfortable and clean and serves an adequate breakfast. It is in a little alley street so the noise of frantic Bangkok traffic is not an issue. 3 of us and our baggage made here from the airport for 500 Baht about 14 or 15 US$. We could probably find a fancier place for the money but Drop Inn is run and owned by a group of Thai women and that is an exceptionally good thing

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank folktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Towers Serviced Apartments
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#210 of 885 in Bangkok
884 reviews
Sukhumvit
No photo provided
Graceland Bangkok
#204 of 710 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Best Value Inn
Best Value Inn
#271 of 710 in Bangkok
5 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariva Ivy Servizio Thonglor
Ariva Ivy Servizio Thonglor
#267 of 1,307 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Sukhumvit
Wellness Residence & Spa
Wellness Residence & Spa
#145 of 710 in Bangkok
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Inn Bangkok

Address: 392/28-31 Sukhumvit Soi 20, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drop Inn Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Sukhumvit soi 20, at few minutes walking distance from the Asoke subway and skytrain station and Prompong as well as the Queen Sirikit National Convention Center. The hotel is located in a tranquil street at only 50 meters from the lively Sukhumvit road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drop Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing