We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drop Inn is clean and quiet”
Review of Drop Inn Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drop Inn Bangkok
Ranked #133 of 710 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We are using Drop Inn, as a Bangkok base during our month in Thailand. It is clean and quiet and very near the Sky Train and Emporium Mall where every need can be met.

I must say that Drop Inn is no frills, but it is comfortable and clean and serves an adequate breakfast. It is in a little alley street so the noise of frantic Bangkok traffic is not an issue. 3 of us and our baggage made here from the airport for 500 Baht about 14 or 15 US$. We could probably find a fancier place for the money but Drop Inn is run and owned by a group of Thai women and that is an exceptionally good thing

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank folktraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2010

I don't understand why there are so many positive reviews for this hotel. I've stayed in half a dozen hotels in the area and decided to give this one a try after I read some reviews. At 1700THB/night this has to be the worst value in BKK. There are 25 places within 10 minute walking distance that outclass this dump 10:1. The lobby looks nice, but the rooms are very basic and the bathroom is a dump, especially the midget shower. This is really a backpacker type guesthouse and therefore should be charging backpacker prices (900THB max). My real gripe was after paying up front cash for 10 nights, they did not want to give me my money back after I decided to leave after the first night. Finally they gave me my money back after they charged me an 800THB early check out fee. So I paid 2500THB for a night in a backpacker hellhole. I could have stayed at the Sheraton for that price. For 1600THB down soi 20, you can get a luxury room at the Bally Studio Suites. Avoid this place unless you like to overpay for garbage.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank romco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2010

Drop Inn located at a very great location. few minutes from the skytrain (i can't remember the station). The staff were very friendly and nice. The rooms are very clean. i've enjoyed my stay at drop inn and will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank analyzer777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

I was in Bangkok recently and stayed at Drop Inn, Bangkok for three nights. Located in the center of Sukhumit Road, walking distance from transportation, restaurants and entertainment. Friendly atmosphere, good price and comfortable room. Definitely to suggest to friends and travellers who are not lloking for luxury but for a good value for money accommodation

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Totons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Used the Drop Inn for my hotel before i fly home a few times now its not near the airport on sukhumvit soi 20 but a fair price so i can enjoy last minute shopping and a nice meal before i go to the airport.
The hotel is clean and tidy has a room safe, breakfasts ok, staff friendly and helpful good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petitechang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I already stayed three times at "Dropinn" and will definitely come back: Nice and helpful staff; clean and quiet rooms with individual safe; small bathroom, but hot water; breakfast okay; location almost perfect: 7/11 at the corner, restaurants and Nuad close, BTS 5 minutes walking.

Ralf

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I am a regular visitor to bangkok , I was pointed to this hotel a few years back and have been staying there since. It's like home from home, after a 12 hour flight from London, you want a shower and relax and the staff here do the very best they can.

The location is great, in a quiet side street off soi 20, you can sit outside have a beer in peace and tranquility in the busy metropolis of Bangkok. Skytrain is 5 mins walk away and those that want the up-market shopping of the Emporium just 10 mins walk and you are there

Back to the hotel, the rooms are about the cleanest you can find anywhere in the world, a little basic, but you only sleep there.

The staff are great, they will bend over backwards to enhance your stay, they will even call a taxi for you without ripping you off like some other places do.

There is a computer in the lobby for internet use and the speed is quite good too,

Booking is simple, just send them an e-mail and arrive, your room will be ready, none of this you cant go in the room till after 12' o'clock like some of the larger hotels. The staff will book any trips that you may want to take and again will make sure that you are not taken for a ride.

I am unable to comment on the food as use a local place, but breakfast is good loads of fruit, creial and the coffee is good, none of that instant stuff here, There is a small fridge in the room with drinks and again not a rip off like other hotels.

One final point, I tell anyone that I know if they are going to Bangkok this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deal-lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Towers Serviced Apartments
Sukhumvit
S Sukhumvit Suites
S Sukhumvit Suites
#210 of 885 in Bangkok
884 reviews
Sukhumvit
No photo provided
Graceland Bangkok
#204 of 710 in Bangkok
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Best Value Inn
Best Value Inn
#271 of 710 in Bangkok
5 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariva Ivy Servizio Thonglor
Ariva Ivy Servizio Thonglor
#267 of 1,307 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Sukhumvit
Wellness Residence & Spa
Wellness Residence & Spa
#145 of 710 in Bangkok
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop Inn Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop Inn Bangkok

Address: 392/28-31 Sukhumvit Soi 20, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drop Inn Bangkok 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Sukhumvit soi 20, at few minutes walking distance from the Asoke subway and skytrain station and Prompong as well as the Queen Sirikit National Convention Center. The hotel is located in a tranquil street at only 50 meters from the lively Sukhumvit road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Drop Inn Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drop Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing