We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and stylish sma place in Bangkok's buzzing Chinatown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #86 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Lovely and stylish sma place in Bangkok's buzzing Chinatown”
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Loved it here, Will definitely come back when in Bangkok. The atmosphere and cosyness of the rooms made à good impression on me. And also very romantic!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margreet020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    853
    197
    60
    29
See reviews for
261
1,357
220
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I found the hotel in the current STA brochure. The suggestion was that a smaller boutique style hotel often provided much better value for your money, and this was definitely the case here. Check in formalities were rapid and extremely courteous. Considering the hustle and bustle waiting for you on the street, the calm and tranquility of the hotel were more than welcomed. My room was quaint. A capacious and firm four poster bed was the centrepiece, but all other furnishings were equally comforting and comfortable. Wash sink in the bedroom meant that the bathroom could provide an enormous open-plan shower on wooden decking. The birdcage and lanterns were also nice touches, as was the large towel ladder. Staff are wonderful. Breakfast is varied and ample. And of course, the free wifi, more or less expected than hoped for these days, was quick and reliable. At atrium level, there is a wonderful water feature, stocked with fish (some of which can be delivered to your room in a bowl if you get lonely!). On weekends, musicians play to add still more ambiance to the already laid back atmosphere. Wonderful!

Room Tip: very well located for exploring old & new BKK
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank slls1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Worth every Bath. We totally enjoyed ourselves. Being in the mist of Chinatown seemed a bit odd when we first arrived, but we quickly realized that it was much more interesting than staying in the more touristic areas of Bangkok. Personally, I'd stay there again. The lobby of the hotel has a feel of decadent Indochina at the beginning of the century, plus the relief of modern technology (internet, air conditioning, etc.). Breakfast was not the best, specially the coffee, but then again, who needs coffee when you can have the best fruit juices in the world!

Room Tip: Internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuchen1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

An extraordinary assault on your senses from the moment you enter. It's like stepping into another world. Our bedroom was red, plush but a little dark. Good facilities including kettle etc. Top quality toiletries. Good breakfast with lots of choice. Located in Chinatown its a little out of the way fro central Bangkok. Only negative was the the often dubious advice from the concierge who negotiated expensive tuck tuck rates and sent us to a dodgy travel agent claiming it was the the national torist office which it certainly was not !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mgchmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and could not fault it. The decor and rooms are amazing. Our room had a big comfortable bed and massive shower in the bathroom which was very powerful. You also get lots of free toiletries. The staff are really helpful and cant do enough for you. You get breakfast in the restaurant every day where you get a choice of full English, Asian, pancakes, healthy option, this was the best breakfast we had while we were travelling. We also ate in the restaurant one evening which was also good. There is free internet in the reception. The hotel is in the centre of chinatown which is really good and it is easy to get to other parts of Bangkok. There is also amazing street food almost outside the hotel in the evening. Will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katebratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I found this hotel in Lonely Planet. It lived up to the excellent reviews. Decor was fantastic - we stayed in the Mu Dan Suite. A lot of the rooms only had internal windows and looked quite small, so I would recommend our suite! It was very roomy and beautiful. The staff were very friendly, especially the bell boy.

I was hesitant to book because of the location, but it was fine. Other people have commented that taxi drivers wouldn't take them there. We got a taxi to and from the airport, but the rest of the time took the subway, which also links to the sky train, to go to the shopping areas, and the ferry to the temples. The subway is only a 5 min walk away. If you were going for a long time it might be easier to stay right in the new city area, but for a 3-4 day trip it was fine for us.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelAsh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Together with 2 friends, I went to Bangkok for shopping , for 3 days. The hotel decor was really impresive and pretty, and the staff were friendly. The rooms were very neat and clean, and the bed was very big and comfortable. The 3 of us could sleep on the bed comfortably with our own space!

Everything was great, except that the lights in the room was a tad dim, even though dim lights contributed to the "ambience".

Another thing was the location. I feel that the location was not awesome. We stayed in the heart of china town, where traffic can get congested. Also, the places where we wanted to shop at (Platinum Mall, Chatuchak etc) were a distance away from our hotel, and some taxi drivers demanded a high amount for transport.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwq19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#89 of 871 in Bangkok
2,619 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#101 of 871 in Bangkok
4,359 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 871 in Bangkok
1,404 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#49 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#78 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing