We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location, beautiful decor and great restaurant bar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #82 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This is a great hotel, and is excellent value. Very cheap for the level of accommodation. The rooms are gorgeous, and the bed was enormous. The 1930's Shanghai style is done very well - very classy but still colourful and quirky. The bar restaurant had a really good band, and the breakfast was really good. The only complaint I could make is that the staff are kind of loud in the mornings (early!) and can wake you up - but that might have just been our bad luck. I don't know if they realise as they were brilliant otherwise. Very friendly. Location is great. Walking distance of the main temples and palace etc. and Chinatown is a buzzy little area with lots of markets. Taxis are cheap to most places. We recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caztravel96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,653 - 1,659 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2011

I went to Chinatown and saw the Shaghai Mansion. So I went inside with my family to have a look at it. The ambient was great and it really gives you a different kind of feeling.

Tai, the Assitant Front Office Manager was so kind to show us different kind of rooms that they have "even though" we didn't stay there. She brought us to have a tour around the hotel.

I really appreciate this kind of great service and hospitality. This will be defintely be the hotel I am going to stay for my next trip to Bangkok.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
Thank T_Ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This Hotel is a wonderful beautiful pearl in swamp vicinity. Sorry for such a comparison but China town is a real mess and dirty place.
We chose this hotel because great reviews and location (very center of Bangkok, Grand Palace, ~3km to MBK - Huge 6 story Shopping Center).
Shanghai Mansion has great and friendly staff. On arrival we were offered to sit and served with tea while all papers were done by Receptionist.
Initially we had problems with Security Safe in our room and the Hotel offered us to change the room. It was very kind. The day we checked-out we took a Tour to Floating market – we were allowed to late check-out upon arrival (~13:30).
Great Thanks to Ms. Patty (Assistant) - excellent English, very pretty, extremely helpful!
Rooms' design is awesome; it is so ancient and modern at the same time! Big Chinese stylish bed, colourful lanterns in the ceiling, spacious clean bathroom, hot/cold water.
Corridors are with Chinese paintings and lanterns, very quiet and cozy. Free internet (Wi-Fi on every floor). Free MiniBar in rooms. Security Safe.
Food was variable, good and diverse however too much Chinese (especially sauces).
+ Quiet, beautiful, cozy, great service, center of Bangkok
- China town (too wicked for me...)

Room Tip: Rooms on corridor bigger then next to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlavKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

The room is very clean, full amenities, snack and drink (free of charge). Staff are friendly and helpful. It is convenience location to get around and find bargain stuff too

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hafadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This hotel has a great location if you want to stay in China town. It's really quirky with some great features and a great breakfast - however we had a very small room with no window that smelt rather fusty, and on a minor note the free mini barcontains two bottles of water, two packets of crips and biscuits.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Archie_3345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Loved it here, Will definitely come back when in Bangkok. The atmosphere and cosyness of the rooms made à good impression on me. And also very romantic!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margreet020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I found the hotel in the current STA brochure. The suggestion was that a smaller boutique style hotel often provided much better value for your money, and this was definitely the case here. Check in formalities were rapid and extremely courteous. Considering the hustle and bustle waiting for you on the street, the calm and tranquility of the hotel were more than welcomed. My room was quaint. A capacious and firm four poster bed was the centrepiece, but all other furnishings were equally comforting and comfortable. Wash sink in the bedroom meant that the bathroom could provide an enormous open-plan shower on wooden decking. The birdcage and lanterns were also nice touches, as was the large towel ladder. Staff are wonderful. Breakfast is varied and ample. And of course, the free wifi, more or less expected than hoped for these days, was quick and reliable. At atrium level, there is a wonderful water feature, stocked with fish (some of which can be delivered to your room in a bowl if you get lonely!). On weekends, musicians play to add still more ambiance to the already laid back atmosphere. Wonderful!

Room Tip: very well located for exploring old & new BKK
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
Thank slls1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#87 of 896 in Bangkok
2,865 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 896 in Bangkok
1,724 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £34 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing