We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #94 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed for one night at the Shanghai Mansion and wished that we could have stayed longer. This hotel is truly unique and the decore is absolutely amazing. Our room was the Mu Dan (Peony) Classic - it was huge and had a giant bath tub! The hotel is right in the heart of Chinatown and they provide you with a walking tour map of different street vendors so you can check out all the incredible food! AND it is only like 2 blocks away from the shopping market. The website pictures of the rooms are right on. The decore is really unique and cool. The room also comes with a breakfast which is either made to order or buffet and the food was spectacular (can you say ... dim sum? Yum!!) Finally, although you are in Chinatown you are really close to many of the major sites in Bangkok. The doorman will help you arrange a tuk tuk and you can check out the reclining buddha, emerald buddha and grand palace all within a 10 minute ride! (Although make sure you bring a card with the hotel address with you on the tuk tuk as our driver had no clue what we were talking about until we showed him this). Without a doubt you will enjoy a stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessCO31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 2,474 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

The staff was extremely friendly and gracious and helped answer all of our questions about getting around town. I contacted them in advance to ask for a late check-in and they were very prompt to respond and let us know that it would not be a problem to arrive after midnight.

The hotel itself is very quaint and beautifully decorated with lots of seats and spaces in the lobby to sit and relax. They also have two computers with internet service in the lobby. Although our room was pretty small, it was clean with lots of beautiful details. I especially liked the lamps.

The location is great right in the middle of Chinatown and although it felt a bit busy and frenetic outside, the hotel was quiet and relaxing on the inside. It also didn't feel touristy, so it was a chance to step outside and get a feel for real life in Bangkok. There are tons of sites to see nearby and it was walkable to all of the historic temples and the subway and skytrain stations.

A friend recommended this hotel to us and we would definitely recommend it to our friends as well.

Room Tip: We booked online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NadiaAR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Lovely boutique style hotel in the middle of Chinatown away from the tourist areas but only a short walk (10 mins) from the Hua Lamphong MRT station or the pier for the boat to the Grand Palace,a great way to avoid the crazy traffic. Rooms on the lower floors are beautifully decorated and have a shower and separate bathtub. Staff are very helpful and at night the restaurant becomes `Cotton Bar` with perfomances from local jazz musicians and singers. If you are staying somewhere else come and have a drink here and ask yourself why you didn`t stay here instead. With a supermarket underneath and local market on your doorstep a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

We stayed at the Shanghai Mansion Hotel for several nights in May 2011. We stayed at many hotels during our trip to Thailand so we were able to compare it to other options quite easily. I'll break up the review into several categories to make it easier for those reading.

Rooms
We stayed in a standard room which was very spacious. In fact this was one of the biggest standard rooms we've been in. We had a large 4-post king-sized bed complete with flat screen television. The sink was in the room rather than in the bathroom (shower with good pressure and temperature and toilet) which sounds a bit weird but it really wasn't. Lots of closet and drawer space including a desk. The room had a faux
window but really, this was fine as the room is very colorful and decorated nicely. There is a safe in the room which can hold a netbook. The outstanding features include free wifi in the room, fridge with waters, pop, and snacks, all of which were free. You also get two robes and slippers which was a nice touch.

Food
Breakfast was great and buffet-style. We did not do lunch or dinner here. With so much great food in Bangkok you really should go out for a bite.

Hotel Services
Oustanding. The hotel is modern and yet traditional at the same time. Great service as well. We asked for a scale and the front desk came up with a huge scale within minutes. Also, there is a free tuk tuk shuttle to the mall.

Location
It's a bit of a walk to the subway (10 minutes) but with taxis being so cheap its not that big a problem. The hotel is hidden away and could be hard to spot from a moving vehicle. Bring a map with you and memorize the corner because most taxis we used had a very hard time finding the hotel.

Conclusion
One of the better hotels we stayed at. Very different from your traditional hotel. We had the most relaxing nights here. Great place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichieRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The theme of the hotel is fusion/contemporary Chinese style.
I stayed at suite room #201 for one night.
Location is right in the middle of Chinatown and walkable-distance to MRT (subway system in Bangkok).
I've already fallen in love with this place since I walked into the hotel.
The "pond" area and those lamps are spectacular.
I'd recommend to stay on 2nd and 3rd floor to enjoy the view. 4th and 5th floor have small room with tiny bathroom according to pics I saw from other sites.
In the evening around 4 or 5pm, there is a lady in Chinese dress plays one of the Chinese music instruments for about an hour which I found it's very cool. At night jazz bar is also available in dining area.

Mini bar is complimentary....everything in the room is free of charge!
Breakfast is okay. Many items in Chinese, Thai, Western style.
Free shuttle to MBK mall and Wat Pra Keaw
Free Wifi

All in all, you won't be disappointed to stay at Shanghai Mansion regardless of the purpose to be in Thailand. ; )

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

My husband, two friends and I stayed in the Shanghai Mansion for three nights in June 2011, and absolutely loved it here! The Mei Hua rooms were beautiful, colourful and really quirky (not at all like your average, bland hotel room), with everything you could need, plus free drinks and snacks in the mini bar each day. The beds were very comfortable, bathroom well designed and supplied with toiletries, and the air conditioning worked well.

The rest of the hotel was stunningly designed too, and the staff were extremely polite and helpful. We went to the Cotton Jazz Bar for a night cap and were impressed with the range and price of drinks and the great performances.

The hotel is situated in the heart of China town, which is busy and full of great restaurants, interesting street markets and stalls. It definitely felt like diving into the heart of the city, and made a great base for both exploring (near to one of the fantastic river express boat stations) and for travelling onwards (near to the Bangkok's main train station and a 450 Baht taxi ride from the airport).

I was a bit worried about not having enough light after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, as I like to apply my make up in daylight - but even with the coloured windows it was absolutely fine and beautifully lit by both daylight and the lamps and lights in the room.

Friends who have seen our holiday photos have all loved the original look of this hotel - and are keen to stay here if they visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed here for the last leg of our three week honeymoon. It was a great hotel with a quirky charm which used to be an old Chinese opera house. It is located in China town and only a 20 minute walk to the Great Palace which is a must see.

We read the reviews before we went and it is true that there is no natural light in the room so if you are looking for fabulous views of Bangkok don't stay here. We found that this meant the room was a good temperature and contributed to a romantic atmosphere.

The staff are great, and the food we ate in Cotton 'the jazz bar' was really good. Breakfast is an amazing all you can eat buffet, there is a real variety on the menu so there is something for everyone.

Our trip included bed and breakfast for three nights, free meal for 2 on the first night, airport round transfers and a day trip to the bridge over the River Kwai with elephant trekking . If you want a package like this contact the hotel directly as they will give you a very competitive rate.

This hotel really is excellent value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenh-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#88 of 887 in Bangkok
2,720 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#105 of 887 in Bangkok
4,503 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 887 in Bangkok
1,634 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#85 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £47 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing