We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely retrait in busy Chinatown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #85 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Zutphen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lovely retrait in busy Chinatown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We loved the location and comfort of this hotel. We thought breakfast was very good. You can order a la carte as well as eat from the buffet with many western and eastern choices. They have high tea in the afternoon, and free mocktailparties sometimes for which we found an invitations one afternoon when we returned to our room. We didn't have time to attend but thought it was a really nice idea. Downstairs there also is a little outside restaurant owned by the hotel which serves braised duck over rice etc. for 50 Baht, and icecold water for free...
The decor is oldfashioned Shanghai-Chinese, the corridors are paved with shiny concrete, as are the floors of the rooms. Very funky and stylish, but maybe not to everyones taste. The free minibar contained one pepsi, one icetea, two bottles of water, two packs of oreos and two packs of crisps or nuts, which were different every day.
And outside is the sizzzzling world of Chinatown, nicely busy during the day and really crowded at night. We had a great time, even with our five children in tow!!
For western needs there is aTops supermarket downstairs, and within five walkingminutes you will find three 7/11's, watsons, tesco, kfc and more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diederika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    803
    188
    57
    28
See reviews for
235
1,291
208
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

This is really an oasis of calm and beauty in the heart of bangkok. The style of the hotel and the rooms is colonial china circa 1920, so if that's not your cup of tea you may want to go elsewhere, but if it is you will feel at home and subtly moved to another time. There is a good bar restaurant with jazz at night, and in the splendid main lobby there was a koto player in the afternoon, really charming.
The rooms are classy with a hint of modern design for the bathroom and really, really comfortable.
As for the location it is in Chinatown, for me it is perfect as I love this place and you are close to subway and main train station.
Finally I will add that it is a very good value for money, for the same price you will find hotels but not with as many charm as this one.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shinyakaisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

If this hotel was nearer to a district with the tourist in mind it would be absolutely perfect. Chinatown is a bit out of the way and things shut down early. The hotel is absolutely beautiful. The staff is friendly and speaks excellent English. The free water and mini bar was a life saver in the Bangkok heat. The fish pond and the harp player was a nice touch. The bar is nice and usually has decent bands but the cocktails were expensive and not so good. But the ambience made up for it. I don't regret staying here as it was so peaceful and beautiful but next time I might stay closer to Khao San Road just for a bit to do after the sun goes down.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JASON B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Munich
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed there for two nights and overall enjoyed our stay.
Pros:
- Location right in the middle of Chinatown
- Check-in was fast, friendly and efficient. We could relax in armchairs with tea and fresh towels while the paperwork was done
- Large room, immaculate clean
- Free mini-bar with a nice range of items
- Free wifi in the room with a reasonable speed
- Great choice of food at the breakfast buffet
- Friendly, helpful staff
- Late check-out at 4pm for only 1000 BHT
- One staff stood outside in the rain to get us a taxi while we could wait inside
- Very stylish and unique interior

Cons (nothing really troublesome but worth mentioning):
- Tuk-tuk touts waiting right at the entrance
- Taxi driver have problems finding the hotel
- Breakfast room doesn't have enough proper seatings when the hotel is full
- At check-out reception staff seemed quite indifferent, hardly said good-bye

Make sure you catch one of the cheap offers (e.g agoda) then you can't go wrong with the Shanghai Mansion - but don't expect the Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_and_Jas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Shanghai Mansion in a Mu Dan room, which was quite large and had a sitting area where we could read or watch tv. The bathtub was also large and provided a relaxing place to unwind at the end of the day. The room was very clean and the housekeeping staff were amazing! One of them even noticed a particular type of peanuts we had been eating and stocked up the mini bar with the same kind the next morning.

A complaint I have about the room was the amount of noise we heard from the indoor courtyard. The door didn't have any kind of seal, and the big gaps between the door and the wall allowed for all of the noise from the courtyard to enter the room. When the Cotton Bar closed at night, there was a lot of noise from people leaving, which we could hear very clearly from our room. Breakfast was also a noisy time, since there were many people coming and going from the restaurant throughout the morning.

The location in Chinatown was incredible! It took us a long time (20 minutes?) to walk to and from the subway station, but we really loved the atmosphere and excitement of Chinatown. The sidewalk restaurants that come to life at night were so much fun! If you are looking to stay in a quiet area, Chinatown is definitely not the place to stay. But if you're into people-watching, it's perfect.

When my husband and I were wanting to get a taxi to a Muay Thai match, the hotel porter tried to put us in a tuk tuk with a driver who was claiming to call and reserve tickets for us if we paid him ahead of time. This is a scam that we had read about, so we were quite frustrated that a hotel staff member was putting us into that situation. The driver was also saying that he would charge us 100bahts to go to the match, which is more than twice as much as a metered taxi ended up costing. I would highly recommend avoiding tuk tuks and taking metered taxis instead, and be sure to make your request clear to the porter.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to people wanting to stay in Chinatown for a good price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suprchick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Finding shanghai is a little tricky as it has no off street parking, make sure you print out a map for your driver to get here. Awesome entry, real shanghai old time high class feel. Located in chinatown, its all go just downstairs. We only stayed one night but found the location could have entertained us longer. On first arrival we were taken to one of the cheaper rooms of which we were aware of we were only paying for, unfortunately our room had a curious smell to it and we told reception, they apologised and upgraded us to the next room up which was awesome and very nice of them. Free mini bar in all rooms which is a nice touch. No swimming pool though but all good if you are moving on. Restaurant in hotel continues theme and provided good range for breakfast buffet and what looked to be well priced dinners.
Would recommend this but possibly the higher end rooms are the go. The bath in these are grand and old time couches give a real relaxing feel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharrrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The Shanghai Mansion is conveniently situated in Chinatown, about a 10 minute taxi or tuk-tuk ride to the main attractions of The Grand Palace, the river or the Reclining Buddha. (Traffic allowing!) It was 25 mins to MBK, though one enterprising tuk-tuk driver got me back to the hotel from there in 10 mins!
However perfect though it was for us, the location was not what made this such a great place to stay for our 3 days in Bangkok – stepping off the escalator from street level is like stepping back in time, to the grandeur of Shanghai in the 1930s. It really is like walking through a film set. The lobby has lots of really comfy chairs and though the hotel has wi-fi free throughout, there are a couple of laptops in the lobby for guest use – again, free of charge. The décor is quirky throughout – it feels like being in someone’s home, with lots of ordinary items lying about. The ancient gramophone in the lobby does work – we tried!
We had a twin and a double room – the standard ones, which were smallish but lavishly decorated and full of traditional Chinese touches like the birdcage in the shower and the trios of lanterns hung together at different heights. Another nice touch is the fact that the staff urged us to use the items in the mini bar (replenished every day) as they were all complimentary. In fact there were bowls of snacks in the public areas for guests to help themselves.
The hanging lanterns above the fishpond are breathtaking and if you 'bond' with the fish, they will put some in a bowl for you to have in your room! The manageress is high profile and nothing is too much trouble for her or her staff.
The Cotton Club was quiet but we liked it – the staff are excellent, as they are throughout the hotel. The hotel is non –smoking, which was one of the reasons we’d chosen it. There were some disgruntled guests when we arrived who apparently hadn’t believed that it really was non-smoking. Later we could smell smoke through the a/c and assumed they were ignoring the ban, but that was hardly the hotel’s fault.
One thing that might worry some people is the lack of a window – our room had a ‘window’ but it was inaccessible as there was a fixed frame with panes of coloured glass in front, and lights behind, to simulate daylight. We liked the effect of this and didn’t miss a window, as there would have been no view anyway. It certainly didn’t feel claustrophobic at all.
The lack of a swimming pool didn’t bother us as we had such a short time there. Perhaps if we were staying longer we might like the use of a pool. The hotel was happy to allow us an extra late check –out. We had full use of both rooms right up until our car arrived to take us to the airport at 9.30pm, allowing us to make the most of our last day in Bangkok.
The staff at the front door were particularly helpful with travel arrangements and the hotel operates free tuk-tuks several times a day to a few tourist attractions and to MBK. There were always taxis and tuk-tuks available at the door but make sure you haggle – the price is very fluid! We got to know the drivers and they lined up to shake hands and see us off!
I really cannot fault this hotel. It made the last few days of our holiday in Thailand very special and we will definitely go back next time we’re in Bangkok.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a suite - they are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piglit36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#95 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,042 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Bangkok Loft Inn
#58 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#51 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Southall Travel, TravelUp and Prestigia so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing