We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #82 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We have a wonderful good time at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok Thailand. We took a taxi from airport to the hotel. Taxi knows Yaowarat but not sure where is Shanghai Mansion. And the signboard is too dim can’t really see. We received very efficient check in by lovely staff Ms Tai (rabbit). She welcomes us with cold towers and drinks. It took less than 3 minutes for check in and briefing about breakfast, free tuk-tuk services, Wi-Fi, etc. We spent 3 nights and we had a real good time. Especially Ms Tanakorn, she made us feel like home and took good care of our needs. Security staffs are very friendly and polite. Breakfast is the same almost daily. It will be nice to change it so we don’t feel boring. The hotel is located at Chinatown (Yaowarat). Food lovers should stay here because Chinatown is famous for all kind of foods especially seafood and price is reasonable. Massages or foot reflexology can be found any corners. We surely will come back here again the next time. Great Holiday to all!
Mr & Mrs Sim Kiang Poo

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacenjoybewithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,406 - 1,412 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Booked this hotel on a whim really after looking at the reviews on trip advisor. We knew it was cheaper than a lot of the other hotels we would normally stay in but this turned out to be a great decision.

We stayed for 3 nights and wished we had booked for longer but this was just a stop off point. The hotel was full of atmosphere and calm, a real oasis in the centre of bustling China Town, everything on your doorstep and a great base for exploring Bangkok. China Town on a night is a must and well worth the experience as is the street food. As this hotel is right in the centre of China Town you can step outside right into the heart of the experience. The bar downstairs is partially open onto the street, you can sit here and enjoy the delights and watch the night. When you are inside the hotel you can't imagine you are in the centre of a busy area, it is so quiet, great to escape.

We couldn't fault the hotel, the staff were really welcoming and friendly and helpful.

The rooms were spacious and well equiped, the bed was huge, there were no windows, only windows with borrowed light onto the internal courtyard, but this was fine for the amount of time we stayed here, very comfortable and quiet, had great nights sleep.

The breakfast was great, there was so much choice, you could also have a Thai breakfast which my husband really enjoyed, it was help yourself with a chef on hand to cook eggs to your request and the staff made sure you were topped up with tea and coffee, it was a good relaxing start to the day.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was amazing, well worth it. It seems pricy compared to elsewhere but was excellent and worth dining in. The restaurant became a Jazz Club later in the evening which was also great, nice and relaxing, again attentive service from the staff.

If we come back to Bangkok we would definitely stay here again, it was the right decision for us, a hidden gem and a real Thai experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27debs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

This hotel is very cute! Nice employees, rooms are very nice, the shower is amazing!!!!
Breakfast is decent. Only downfall would be that there's no windows in the rooms. Not a huge deal but it does make it feel a bit depressing. Location is pretty good. I liked the lobby facing the busy street where you can sit and people watch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonikaHonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights at the Shanghai Mansion 1-3 November, our first stop on a 2 week tour of Thailand. This hotel was fantastic, we were greeted warmly at check in and taken straight to our room which was just as we expected from the pictures. The hotel is located right in the central Chinatown, and is a gem amongst the chaos outside.
The room had a lovely big bed, was very clean and breakfast was great. We were really happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIRST1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Not that I'd recommend staying in Chinatown, but if you need to be close to the train for a morning trip to Cambodia, this is a great choice. The rooms are clean, secure, and well decorated. Staff are friendly and helpful. It cost us about $50US a night, so it's not the cheapest option out there, but it is nice for the neighborhood!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms seemed quiet to me :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASeanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel is a joy on so many levels. Every time we came back “home” from a day's sightseeing in hot, humid conditions we delighted in its exotic colours, fine furnishings, helpful staff, comfortable beds and wonderful atmosphere. It is a travel experience in itself to stay here for your Bangkok sojourn!
There is great attention to guest comfort and needs everywhere.

We had the most economical room “Mei Hua” but there didn't seem to be any compromise on quality. The huge, canopied bed was great. The room had a desk,, writing utensils, an electric kettle and tea pot and cups, safety box, detailed information about guest services, kleenex, hairdryer, lots of storage space, excellent WiFi, TV with lots of channels and a fridge with a mini bar offering free water, biscuits and crisps. And, to add to the ambience, lots of beautiful lanterns and lamps. An extra chair would be a good addition, though.
Our bathroom was spacious, had ample quality products, powerful shower, huge bath towels – and a fancy birdcage with two pretty residents (fake, fortunately). Made showering fun!
Everything absolutely spotless.

The staff throughout the hotel were friendly, warm, efficient and always willing to help with any questions. Most spoke very adequate English which certainly made it easier for us.

Shanghai Mansion is in one of the busiest streets in China Town. It positively hums with traffic, food stalls, restaurants and a trillion people. But, once inside the doors, you wouldn't know it. There is a soothing tranquility and calm and no evident street noise at all in the rooms and most public areas.
There are very few rooms with window s that open on to the street. Most room “windows” look on to the indoor atrium. This makes for an intimate and cosy feel, added to by the touches of red everywhere. Perhaps you may have a small problem if you suffered from claustrophobia.

PS The buffet breakfast is a feast!

Loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OzziePG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the family suite (called Peony Suite I think). Before we arrived I worried about space and sleeping arrangements (we are a family of 4 with 2 daughters). When we arrived I was dumbfounded at how much space we had PLUS how beautiful and sumptuous the rooms were! We were allocated 2 adjoining rooms, both had beautiful bathrooms and FREE minibars! Added to this was the friendliness of the staff and the overall beauty of the entire establishment. I have never before stayed somewhere that over delivers in such a wonderful way. We felt like royalty! 
The location is also fantastic. We had to stay in Chinatown as we needed to do some business at the local markets, all of which was in walking distance.
The buffet breakfast was great and offers a good selection of asian and western options. I was impressed with  the steam dumplings & other yum cha type dishes on offer, as well as the Gongee (a great first dish).
All in all the Shanghai Mansion gets my vote for BEST hotel in Bangkok!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#87 of 896 in Bangkok
2,865 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 896 in Bangkok
1,724 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £34 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing