We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #88 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Second time here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

I'm still in the hotel as I'm writing and this is our second stay here. Different room style this time I preferred the one on the second floor (that is the lower level on this hotel). First the location. I think if you come to Bangkok this is one of the best places to stay. It is on a busy road in the heart of Chinatown. A short walk you are in the maze of this colourful quarter, lively and vibrant. Tough transports and traffic are horrendous, like in most of the city. But the river is close to use the boats (by far the best way to go around) and the main rail station is just 10 minutes away (and the metro), until they open the extension of the blue line. The hotel itself is great, clean, cheap and stylish however from last time it lost a bit of charm. The rooms are very well presented and decorated, like early 20th century China. The breakfast is great as it is the restaurant (by the way just across the hotel the Cantonese house have terrific dim sum for nearly nothing). The suggestions I would like to make to the hotel are the following: the street level tables should be re thought as a proper bar, caffee or tea place for hotel customers and people walking along the street, I know there is on on the third floor with the restaurant but the one at street level could be a great place to start or end a day. For the rest a gym would be good but you cannot have everything. I suggest to everyone to try this great place.

Mauro

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    814
    191
    57
    28
See reviews for
239
1,303
210
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

This boutique has a lot of potential, but it's just not there.

PROS: Decor is nice. Hotel is clean. As you enter, the place is completely charming like a scene from a Wong Kar Wai film. The website even uses one of his movies theme songs to draw that emotion from you. Location in Chinatown is great since it's one of the many places you should visit in Bangkok. There's great food all around. They even provide a handout with a "Chinatown Walking" tour upon your arrival, along with a small sheet with Thai phrases. One of my favorites is the abundance of fresh pomegranate juice right outside of the doors, which is not everywhere in Bangkok. The complimentary breakfast was decent and basic. It provided Western and Eastern style, which was nice since my husband and I are Asian American.

CONS: The service is inconsistent, which was quite frustrating. I found the late night staff (after 9pm) clueless with basic hotel practices and spoke terrible English. It was hard to even understand the simplest phrases such as "The kitchen is closed." You can see that the staff is trying, but just not there. They also seem to focus on older Western customers, which I guess I can't blame because they probably have a proven record of good tipping style. However, we're from New York and think we might have over tipped. Either way, we ran into some situations when they "negotiated" tuk-tuks or cabs to two locations - the bus station and airport on our last day. Each time they negotiated, they did a terrible job with complete confusion on the final cost (and we're from New York). My tip is to get a cab because it's metered. Don't let them negotiate. Other cons, the beds are hard and we had the upgraded Peony room. The blankets were too small for the bed. The bathroom layout was a little large and was cold by the time you finished a hot shower. There was also a "storage" room connected to our bathroom by a closed door (which did not seem to be a secure door). We could hear people cough and move about on the other side. I found this quite discomforting when you're in a bathroom. The outside view was terrible and you were not allowed to open the windows, which is probably better any how with all the pollution.

As you can tell, my CONS are outgrowing the PROS. It wasn't terrible, but if we return to Bangkok we definitely would not stay here. Plus the cost did not match the level of service and amenities other hotels provide within it's price range.

Note: There is an old video out there advertising the hotel with "spa" services. From my knowledge, this was not available.

Room Tip: Closest train station is a good 10 minute walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadbyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013 via mobile

Loved the hotel from the moment we entered the lobby. Quirky design throughout the hotel and in the rooms. Comfortable beds, dressing gown, slippers and lovely toiletries help to make you feel at home. Excellent breakfast with Chinese Dim Sum, Thai dishes and Eggs cooked as you like them, complimented by a big variety of fresh fruit - set us up for the day. Helpful and charming staff both in the restaurant and at reception. The location in Chinatown suited us very well for the market, the streetfood stalls and the easy reach of the metro. We will be back!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank saint_lydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Me and my partner found this hotel a fantastic place to relax something we sorely needed after toing and froing about Chinatown. The rooms are well furnished in a funky oriental style and the bed was the biggest we've seen anywhere. Ever. The room was also quite large, clean and comfortable but if you're facing stomach difficulties, beware that your more private moments may not be so private. The breakfast was also fine/good and the staff super friendly and helpful. Look, this place is a great hotel, but just beware that you will have a bit of trouble getting in and out of Chinatown to other popular areas within the city. It is definitely not convenient for the skytrain.

Overall. Lovely hotel, area a bit difficult...although the food in chinatown is great!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 13PistolP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trincomalee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

We love this place, it's really a boutique hotel for his style, the food and the service great for that value.
The location is in the middle of Chinatown, where you can enjoy with food, the colours and all the night street life, but inside is so quite and relaxing, just amazing!
This was our second time, the service and the breakfast is good and the staff very professional
Sure we would like to stay there again come next time in Bangkok.
Thanks!!

Room Tip: They have different room all in Chinese style but the suite is very cozy and great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cottilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

I had a memorable stay in this hotel. The hotel staffs were extremely friendly, polite and really helpful. The service was very attentive. My room was spacious, comfort, clean with a big bathroom. The most outstanding was the breakfast, very nice and many choices. This hotel reached my expectation. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graydon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

My partner and I stayed here in May 2012 for two nights at the beginning of a month long trip around Thailand and for one night at the end of our holiday. The hotel itself is beautiful and so relaxing despite being situated on the main front street of busy China town. The staff were all so helpful and friendly; in particular the gentleman who carried both of our backpacks to and from our room and the hotel security guard. (The only small issue was the lack of English speaking staff.) The hotels buffet breakfast offered lots of choice of food and drink which was all very nice. Would definitely recommend a stay here! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSwan1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,133 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#54 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#61 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#78 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing