We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CONSISTENTLY GOOD, AND A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #88 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“CONSISTENTLY GOOD, AND A UNIQUE EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I've stayed at the shanghai mansion several times over
the last five years...and have never been let down. the
décor, and furnishings make it a truly unique hotel.
you'll have no doubt that you're in asia, and in particular,
Chinatown. the pictures below will tell that story.
depending on the plan you book, a very adequate
breakfast is included...and it's served by efficient and
cordial staff, in a restaurant that becomes a jazz club
at night...complete with a 3 piece combo. while the
staff and facility alone make it a great place to stay...it's
located right in the middle of a very vibrant Chinatown...
dining opportunities, and all sorts of shopping abound,
just outside the door. that does tenfold, if you're lucky
enough to be there during Chinese new year...all of
the excitement is right outside the front door. you just
can't go wrong at shanghai mansion.

about the only drawbacks are the traffic in the area...it
can be a bit difficult to navigate...and the internet signal
can be weak on the upper floors. also, most of the rooms
have only 'simulated' windows...but for me, with the heat
and vibrant activity outside... that only serves to make the
hotel that much more of a sanctuary. sadly, a grocery
store located on the ground floor has closed... but there
are several options, including 7-11's very close at hand.
(beware: Thailand has limited hours for the sale of
"adult beverages")

there's so much going on nearby, you'll have no trouble
finding things to explore...including the famous 'wat trai
mit,' home to the 5.5 ton solid gold Buddha. you can
then satisfy your lust for gold in one of yaowaraj road's
gold shops...they've got stunning jewelry...up to 23k!!!

so...that's it. be it first stay, or next stay in Bangkok...
go for something different, and stay at SHANGHAI
MANSION.

Room Tip: some of the rooms front on the atrium, and have small 'porches' where you can relax with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyingsteve_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    837
    196
    59
    29
See reviews for
251
1,334
217
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pasir Ris,Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Our second time,good location for good food and site seeing (if you know how to get around).Nice décor, cosy and very clean.Very helpful and friendly staffs.Only problems is maybe the jams while getting in & out of Chinatown during office hours.It is also very near to the pier where boat rides for any distance travel won't cost you more than 50 cents Sing.also the aircon is fantastic esp when the weather is hot.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aero39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have stayed in this hotel regularly over the past 6-7 years & have never been disappointed.

The decor have never worn off on me & I'm always delighted to be back.

The service has been consistently friendly & helpful.

The location is not a problem for me - it's only an 800m walk to the main MRT (subway) station Hua Lamphong. I actually like being on the main road (Yaowarat) for the many food stalls at night.

Not having windows, gym, pool & spa are obvious shortcomings but for the rates being charged, I cannot think of a better deal in Bangkok!

Room Tip: The ground floor are undergoing renovation so I recommend the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Overall good if you are looking for just a place to sleep. It's 15-20 mins from Hua Lampong MRT by foot. It's advisable to choose a hotel tht is near to where you want to visit during your stay in Bangkok cos weather can be very hot. Nicely decorated. But hygiene of bed needs to be improved. Could not connect to the hotel wifi at all. Will not say its value for money as there are many other better options offering the same price else where in Bangkok.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsohjlskldmfds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

This is my first time staying in Chinatown Bangkok. Altho i come often to Bangkok. Saw this hotel was highly reconmended on lonely planet guide book and decided to give it a try.
So I checked in for 2 nights in this hotel and was very impressed by the setting and the decoration of this place. From the outside it doesnt look very nice, But the moment you stepped into the lobby , the interior takes you back to the 1950'of old Shanghai! How quirky. I was given the room at the ground floor which overlook a beautiful pond. The room was so spacious and romantic. The staffs are great and friendly. Food is a plenty as the place is conveniently located right in Chinatown. Mind you the place is far from the city centre but just 10 mins walk to the pier if you want to catch the boat ride along the chao praya river. Price of the room is also quite reasonable. The only setback was the breakfast. Not much of variety and as a coffee person , they dont have any normal latte's or cappucinos just normal black coffee and tea.

Room Tip: Try to ask for the rooms on the ground floor. I heard from the staff that the best rooms are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

When we arrived hot and tired we were welcomed gently with smiles, a sit down, cold towels and tea. So friendly. The hotel is lovely, small enough to be personal (about 70 rooms) and large enough to be professional. Room service was instant! Lovely decor and art appropriate to Chinatown. A first rate boutique hotel underlined by the close attention from all the staff.
Mike W, Sydney

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is my first time staying out of bangkok city just to try it out in chinatown. I can't complain about the price and staffs are friendly. My only bad experience was only during the check-out where the receptionist was very unfriendly and rude. Her face was practically sulking and serious which was memorable!

Location for food was great! To get to the city is only by taxis. I was traveling with my sister and her husband so we had 2 rooms. I had the room facing out which is bright through the colored glass and theirs were inner room where its darker. The windows for both rooms were shut so you can't look outside which wasn't an issue for us. My only qualm was the little ants roaming around the wooden furnitures which was quite a bit so I was careful with where I lay my things around.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jengems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#99 of 861 in Bangkok
4,305 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#93 of 861 in Bangkok
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 861 in Bangkok
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing