We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old China Fashion Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #88 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
“Old China Fashion Hotel”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a hotel reflecting Shanghai in 1960s. because I have many relatives in Shanghai, it is not a big surprise for me. I believe this should be a good choice for any non-Shanghai people to experience the romantic atmosphere. The only disadvantage is my girlfriend said that the light of the hotel make everything a bit scatchy, and Chinatown is definitely way messy than central world area.
PS: we lived in room 518 which is a lucky number in Chinese culture, however, when we check the sign indicating the direction, it only says 502-517 then the other side 519-527 which didnt indicate anything about that room number. My gf was joking around about room 518 may not even existed now. which makes everything more scatchy. anyways, give it a shot!

Room Tip: Any room with King Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are glad you did enjoy. Correction on the rooming has already been worked on, looking forward to have you here with us once again.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    837
    196
    59
    29
See reviews for
251
1,336
217
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very happy with everything about this jewel of a hotel. We stayed here two nights and the staff was very welcoming and pleasant. One of the staff members named Es was particularly helpful and most helpful with every question or request we had. We would definitely stay here again!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanPh2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went!
We will surely have Mr. Est informed accordingly and looking forward to welcoming you here at Shanghai Mansion once again.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel in the heart of fascinating China Town is a great place to bases yourself to explore the city. It is stunningly decorated and the staff are all very welcoming and helpful - the manager even arranged for us to not have to check out until 8pm for a night flight, which was very much appreciated to be able to have a shower before flying home and after a hot day's exploring the sights! The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds and the breakfast buffet was one of the best we have had. It deserves all the good praise it gets!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaD73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

With utmost pride and happiness to have you served while staying with us. Much to our delight that we have made you “Feel at home”.

We hope this is just one of those many times we will be having you here with us. Please do not hesitate to send me an e-mail through aoy@shanghaimansion.com should you plan to come once again or should you have friends and family coming over.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Num-archa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

excellent hotel with a unique atmosphere, very nice furniture and asian style, excellent service, topt environment very central in the city, very friendly and helpful staff, large rooms, good price, really a very good offer and something special

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


I am glad that we have given you some sort of joy out of the Asian inspirations we have all over the hotel as well as with our service.

I will inform the staff about your wonderful comment, I’m sure they too will be very happy to hear just like I do.



Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Num-archa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great ambiance, as if you go back to a luxurious hotel in the 1920’s Shanghai. The hotel has a fine restaurant and a very nice bar near the street with good live jazz music. In the centre of China Town, and close to many other attraction in Bangkok. We are very happy that we have been staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PH v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you had a lovely time. The whole Shanghai Mansion family especially myself is looking forward to have you home with us once again.



Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Num-archa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

You will definitely not be in the middle of tourist staying at this hotel. I absolutely loved staying in China town in Bangkok. Crossing the streets as in all of Thailand is a bit like Frogger but don't fear no one will hit you they actually slow down and don't honk their horn at you as they do in the US. Loved it! As for the hotel, it was clean and smelled of I think eucalyptus or tee tree oil. Unfortunately the lobby was going through renovations but that did not ruin our stay there because we could not hear any noise. The staff smiled and would always ask where are you off to today. So awesome that they are curious...no they weren't trying to sell us a trip, there is a guy on the first floor that does that. The buffet breakfast was amazing, so much food and both american style and Thai. Bed was on the hard side but all of the beds in Thailand we figured out are just very firm. I love the little pond in the middle of the hotel with the lanterns hanging. Such a nice touch. You can walk everywhere from there. Just make sure to bring your map because its very easy to get lost. Also, they give you a little travel bag that you can take. Awesome! Lovely hotel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fuapepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your spending time to share your experience with everyone. We're more than glad that we have made you "Feel at home".

Looking forward for your next Shanghai Mansion trip, see you then! :)


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Num-archa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The Shanghai Mansion was a pleasure to stay in. The bedroom was beautifully decorated, very clean and comfortable. A free mini bar was included in the price of the room which was a nice touch. The staff were very helpful, particularly in ordering taxis and tours. The breakfast was amazing including a fabulous contineal and hot breakfast. I would defintley recommend staying at the Shanghai Mansion as you recieve a great service at an affordable price

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayLeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is so great to hear that you had a wonderful Shanghai moment and appreciate
it’s beauty from within and so does with our food.

Thank you so much both for taking the time to share your feedback as well as for recommending us to everyone.

We will be waiting for your return!

Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#97 of 862 in Bangkok
4,311 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#92 of 862 in Bangkok
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 862 in Bangkok
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing