We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #90 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Old World Charm in Bangkok”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

A beautiful hotel in China Town. Great location, we walked to the Royal Palace from our hotel. The staff were lovely, the breakfast was great. A gorgeous hotel, and even though they are doing some construction work, it was not a problem at all and we hardly noticed it. We ate in their Red Rose restaurant, which has great food and live Jazz music. Terrific place and great start to our trip. We are returning there at the end of our trip and will be happy to see it again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, Front Office Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your level of understanding about our refurbishments during your stay, we really appreciate that so much.

It's indeed our pleasure that you enjoyed dining at our new outlet Red Rose Chinese Restaurant and Jazz Lounge. We're looking forward to have you once again at the end of your trip as you've mentioned.

We will be right here waiting for you to come back home.



Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    837
    196
    59
    29
See reviews for
251
1,334
217
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We only spent 1 night at this hotel in the heart of Chinatown, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. Although the main floor lobby was being remodelled, it was no problem. The staff was friendly. We loved the decor of the room. It reminds one of China from a bygone era. Loved the birdcage in the bathroom and style of the bed. The room was clean. We enjoyed the complimentary mini bar, and the bathroom toiletries in a small pouch was a really nice touch. Breakfast was also included and had a nice buffet and egg cooking station.
The hotel is located in an interesting, bustling area - the heart of Chinatown. Restaurants and street food vendors are located right out the front door step. Thai massages are available nearby.
It was extremely hot and humid while we were in Bangkok, but the room was very cool and comfortable with the air conditioning.
We took a taxi to a night market approximately 10 - 15 mins. away for about $3 US each way.
The price was very reasonable for the quality of hotel, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelswitheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, we would like to apologize for the on-going refurbishments that time - gladly it's all well and done. A lot of our guests actually had fond moments taking photos of the bird cage, "something unique" as most would say.

Have a wonderful day and thank you once again for coming home. Hopefully you will be able to stay longer the next time around, it will definitely be our pleasure.



Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Set in the middle of Chinatown, this hotel is a calm refuge in the madness outside. The bar on the ground floor has some great Jazz and the restaurant is fine too, but the place is surrounded by great places to eat. We tried both R&L and T&K seafood restaurants (about 50 yds up the road ). To tell you the truth there is nothing to choose between them. The free mini bar & afternoon tea are a bonus but the hotel itself is worth every penny you pay. By the way, if your travelling on by train, you can easily walk to the station from there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Redmayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Your Shanghai Mansion family is very glad to know you had lovely time with us. Our jazz band's group name by the way is Siam Swing, we will also share your feedback to them.

It's also good to know that you like our afternoon tea, hope you were able to get some snap to take back home with you. Looking forward to have you home here with us once again.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at this hotel twice in last 3wks. It can be found in the middle of chaotic china town. It is a peaceful oasis. As you walk in the door you are transported back to a bygone era. The rooms are beautiful. Staff friendly. Most nights we ate food from the surrounding street vendors but we treat ourselves to a meal in the restaurant which was very good. The only problems is we found the trip were expensive from the tour organisor.we went on the long boat trip a long river and canals which did not fulfil what was promised. We were drive to boat but on return drop at a different pier .Had to make our own way back with out directions. Not easy in china town.This trip cost us 4000 Baht. A lot than any other trips we had in Thailand. He was not happy that we refused to go to a tailors. So i am not sure if this why we drop and made to make our own way back

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suemannhastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us. Me and my team are happy to read upon however we are sorry to hear about your tour which we believe was arranged externally since we do not have such.

Next time you come home please let us know how can we assist as far as discovering Thailand is concerned and we will try our best to be of service on this.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Num-archa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in a Mudan Suite.
Was really impress with the design of the room. Really feel like i am i a house in old Shanghai.
My experience in this hotel was truly a great experience and this is really a unique experience for me. Although it is rated as a 4 star hotel, i think the quality of the room and the room design deserves a 5 star rating.
Adding to that, the buffet breakfast is really delicious with a wide varieties of Chinese foods selection.
Complimentary mini bar too..
Very value for money.
Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok.

The only down side is that the air conditional is too cold. Was cold even though we tuned the air con to the highest temperature. Had to off the air con for a while in the end to allow the room to heat up a little.
Also, there is no window in the room. Although i do not mind this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sun_TT1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort McMurray, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is a hotel reflecting Shanghai in 1960s. because I have many relatives in Shanghai, it is not a big surprise for me. I believe this should be a good choice for any non-Shanghai people to experience the romantic atmosphere. The only disadvantage is my girlfriend said that the light of the hotel make everything a bit scatchy, and Chinatown is definitely way messy than central world area.
PS: we lived in room 518 which is a lucky number in Chinese culture, however, when we check the sign indicating the direction, it only says 502-517 then the other side 519-527 which didnt indicate anything about that room number. My gf was joking around about room 518 may not even existed now. which makes everything more scatchy. anyways, give it a shot!

Room Tip: Any room with King Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are glad you did enjoy. Correction on the rooming has already been worked on, looking forward to have you here with us once again.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Very happy with everything about this jewel of a hotel. We stayed here two nights and the staff was very welcoming and pleasant. One of the staff members named Es was particularly helpful and most helpful with every question or request we had. We would definitely stay here again!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AmericanPh2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your stay went!
We will surely have Mr. Est informed accordingly and looking forward to welcoming you here at Shanghai Mansion once again.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#99 of 862 in Bangkok
4,302 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#94 of 862 in Bangkok
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 862 in Bangkok
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing