We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #91 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Shanghai Mansion is a gem in the heart of Bangkok's crazy busy Chinatown! The location of this hotel is a hotspot of activity, but the Shanghai Mansion is quiet, comfortable and romantic - a terrific place to lodge if you're visiting Bangkok. We stayed here for the first part of our Honeymoon and loved it! This hotel has a DELICIOUS breakfast that we looked forward to every morning. The rooms, although small, are great and decorated in a modern and fun Chinese style. We stayed at Shanghai Mansion 4 of our 5 nights in Bangkok with the final night at a different hotel because Shanghai Mansion is 30 min away from BKK Airport and we did not want to deal with busy Bangkok traffic the morning of our departutre. Beware of the high priced Taxis/Tuktuks that the front door staff/bellman secure for you --- simply walk to the corner and negotiate your own price with the drivers to the places you want to go. Other than that, we loved Shanghai Mansion!

Room Tip: Rooms have great curtains that keep the light out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 2,433 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Shanghai Mansions and it did not fail us.
We had 2 nights here on our opening leg in Thailand and again this hotel was very good and of a high standard.
Breakfast has much to choose from along with continental, Thai, fresh fruits and juices, hot and cold anything you could ask for and you will get it.
We would stay here again on any future visits to Thailand.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am are very honored knowing that you've once again spent time here with us.
On behalf of the Shanghai Mansion family, I would like to thank you for allowing us to have the chance of having you served the second time around.

Me and my staff will be right here waiting for your third (and upcoming) visit.
Have a wonderful day from sunny Bangkok!



Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My sister and I were in Bangkok on an overnight excursion from the Celebrity Millennium. Shanghai Mansion was recommended to us by the person who provided guests of the ship with information about the ports they would be visiting. The concierge also told us he'd heard many good things about it. We didn't want to spend a fortune and wanted something out of the ordinary.

The Shanghai Mansion greatly exceeded our expectations. The hotel is absolutely charming from the lobby to the rooms. (Note there was a remodel going on at the time so I imagine it's even better now.) What's more, the staff went out of their way to make our visit truly memorable.

One staff person in particular, Tui, went beyond the call of duty, escorting my sister to the neighborhood pharmacy to serve as interpreter and guide when I needed some medication. I wasn't feeling well and unable to accompany my sister. After returning from the pharmacy, Tui brought me a tray with a vase of beautiful fresh flowers, delicious rice congee and juice. As we checked out I attempted to give her a tip and she refused to accept it. A real angel!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, I hope your sister is getting better by now as well thankful that you arrived back home safely.

It's good to hear that you as well like the hotel but most of all we greatly appreciate your level of understanding about the then on-going renovations. We're almost done and in no time everything will be back to normal.

I will definitely convey your message to K. Tui whom I am sure will be delighted about it too!
Kindly let me know in advance should you be able to visit us once again.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Lovely boutique hotel

Stayed here for 2 nights, hotel is clean and room had a huge, comfortable bed. Free snacks and water in the mini bar, good hairdryer, robes etc and lovely old Chinese style decor. Was really clean and felt like we'd gotten a real bargain as it wasn't very expensive but felt fairly luxurious.

Area is vibrant and hectic, but hotel is a cool, oasis of calm when you go inside. Open air bar/cafe at the front with reasonable priced drinks and friendly staff. Will definitely stay here again. Didn't try the hotelrestaurants so can't comment on those.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I'm very thankful you took the time on sharing your review here on TripAdvisor. Indeed Shanghai Mansion showcases vibrant colors as well as has it's own way of taking you back in time like that of the 1930's era.

Next time you will be back home here with us, it would be lovely for you to try our restaurants as well as our afternoon tea time with our compliments.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

So if you like great, fair price, beautiful decoration and good service do not hesitate to stay here.
The hotel, as the name suggests, is all based in old ancient typical Shanghai, so the most expensive rooms has their entrance decorated as a typical chinese house from a small villa.
Our room was impecably decortaded: the wallpaper were very delicate, the bathroom was huge, all the mini bar items as for free everyday and they are correctly restocked.
The night manager was the most attentive person ever: we told him what our plans were for the next day and he sent us a letter during the night with some hints and tips of the place and left the card of a driver in case we needed assistance. He set up the wake up call as we requested and later called to make sure we were up so we would enjoy our day better.
This hotel has a bar outside that plays a jazz/blues/international music band.
The general manager is walking around making sure she greets guests. She greeted me, shaking my hand and making sure our stay was perfect.
Right on its street there's a street market with great chinese/thais food and many chinese restaurants. It has a fancy restaurant on the 2nd floor.
The only little thing that was as pleasant is that the room was smelling a bit moldy but no signs of mold or debrees inside the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. As I have as well previously mentioned I try to personally meet as much guests as possible so that I will be able to have the chance on checking how else can we make their stay better.

I really appreciate that you still do remember our meeting as well. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared to my team which I will as well double check about the bit moldy smell just to make sure on this.

Our jazz band playing at Shanghai Terrace is by the way called The Siam Swing band, they'll be very glad to know that you were as well fond of their music.

Until we meet again.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My boyfriend and I usually stay in budget guesthouses, but we decided to spend more this time and stay at the Shanghai Mansion. With the Agoda special rate, it was worth every penny. Our four-poster king-size bed was very comfortable. Some rooms face outward onto the street (but with colored tinted windows there's no way to look in or out), while ours faced the interior of the hotel, so it didn't have any natural light, but it was so dark and quiet that we had the best sleep we've had in months. Be sure to request which type of room you want when you book and double-check with the receptionist when you check in. The vintage Chinese decor was tastefully done, and the warm colors and Chinese lanterns created a romantic setting for our holiday. The staff were genuinely friendly, and Mr. Is the doorman was always ready to help us with a smile on his face. The internet was good. The bar had live music every night, with some good local jazz musicians. There's a 7-11 a few steps away from the entrance on one corner and at the other end of the block is T&K Seafood, a very cheap dinner option if you're in the mood for delicious, fresh seafood in an authentic streetfood setting. The location is generally good, right in the middle of China Town. It's very close to the central train station, Hua Lamphong. However, it's far from the BTS stations. Taxis all knew of the place, and were able to get us to Siam Shopping centre for around 60 baht. Walking one block over to the next parallel street got us into some lighter traffic, where it was faster and easier to get a taxi out of China town. The breakfast was good, with a mix of Western breakfast standards, Chinese food and also some savory Thai rice porridge. The freshly extracted juice made to order from local fruits was a nice touch. Overall, we were very happy with our time at the Shanghai Mansion and will probably stay there again next time we're in Bangkok.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvaPapaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest.

I'm very glad to know that not only you've enjoyed our decors and all but especially the fact that you were able to sleep well.

Shanghai Mansion's decor drives mood and romance that a lot of our guests even took a lot of photos to not only share that lovely moment with friends and family back home but as well to keep the memory alive.

Khun Is has already been informed as well of how glad you were with his assistance. We will be always waiting for your return. Let me know in advance so I can personally look after you.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nites in March 2014 and it could not have been better! It is smallish but the staff treat you like family and we were sad to leave. It has character and is well situated in the bustling Chinatown of Bangkok. It is close to Wats, the river ferries, the sky train and everything you would like to see in Bangkok. Mrs. Oi makes you feel at home, the breakfast has everything you could possibly want to eat, the Cotton Club in the hotel serves dinner with a trio playing and the coffee shop next to the side walk is a great place to watch the world go by. Say hi to Poi for us, she was great IT support!
Love the Mansion and hope to back soon.

Room Tip: the inside rooms are quieter. do not miss breakfast here. Try the "BUTTER CHERRY" drink in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian-Girl-13-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burasarigroup G, General Manager at Shanghai Mansion Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for letting us know how your experience with us went. Personally and I do as much as I can, I really love meeting all our guests during their stay and some even would write back to us or yes share it here online.

Me and my staff are very happy to have you home with us and looking forward to have you served once again the Shanghai way.


Best regards,

Ms. Tassanee Numar-cha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#87 of 883 in Bangkok
2,671 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#108 of 883 in Bangkok
4,442 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#192 of 883 in Bangkok
1,635 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#138 of 883 in Bangkok
1,597 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 883 in Bangkok
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#82 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £45 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing