We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Turned back in time to China in the 1920's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #79 of 844 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Turned back in time to China in the 1920's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Have you just loved the book L’Amant (the lover) from Marguerite Duras and always wondered how life in Saigon in the 1920’s felt like? Spend a night or more at the Shanghai Mansion in the middle of crazy, busy, chaotic and loud Chinatown and you will feel turned back in time. A very quiet and peaceful island in Bangkok busies part of the city which leaves lots of space for day-and-night relaxing and dreaming.

Unfortunatley, due to the 10pm curfew during the protests, I could not enjoy the highly praised jazz bar.

The hotel was spotless clean. Fast and free wifi available throughout the hotel. The breakfast is ok, more fresh fruits could be available. The staff speak fluently English and you feel very welcome the minute you check-in. I certainly appreciated the cold towel offered upon my arrival to wash face and hands.

I have never felt in jeopardy in any parts of Bangkok during the uprising and protests in 2014. More, the staffs were very helpful with answering questions which part to avoid during this difficult time for Thailand. Unlike others, I did not get wripped of for transportation organized by the hotel. Just name the price you consider to pay. As anywhere in Bangkok, make sure you have the directions of the hotel in Thai available for the taxi driver.

I would suggest to any of my friends/family to stay at Shanghai Mansion. Be aware, the hotel is in crazy, busy, chaotic and loud Chinatown. Nothing you expect while coming from Europe, but absolutely worth the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CondorSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    792
    185
    55
    27
See reviews for
228
1,274
206
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

First class service- staff could not have been anymore helpful!! Absolutely fantastic with everything! Location very good- in China town so not in the centre but only a short taxi ride away, 100% safe and very impressed with the cleanliness of both the rooms and the hotel itself! Great value for money as well! Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

A friend and I stayed here one night and loved it! It is a bit hard to find, so make sure to have the directions in Thai for your taxi driver. Chinatown is crazy and chaotic, but this hotel was an oasis within the city! We stayed in the Mu Dan Classic suite.

Positives:
1) Gorgeous rooms
2) Huge soaking tub
3) Comfortable bed (for Thailand)
4) Very quite room on the second floor

Negatives
1) No windows- I think the hotel is in an old factory building
2) Far from Suvarnabhumi airport- Cost us 700 baht via taxi (although I think we were ripped off!) and took about 45 minutes with traffic

Chinatown was also close to the Wat Pho temple (walk to the pier and catch a water taxi- very cheap!) which was beautiful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiRN05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Situated in the heart of Chinatown, this is a great hotel, as long as you don't choose the cheapest room. Go a bit upmarket on the third floor and you'll enjoy your stay more. The small rooms on the fourth floor are quite claustrophobic.
Turn right as you leave the hotel and on the next corner, about 50 metres away, you'll discover the best seafood restaurant in Bangkok! Only opens up about 6 PM, once the gold shop closes for the day. Further down the street is the market area where you can get great breakfasts and lunches. No need to eat in the hotel dining room.
Avoid the coffee shop at the entrance as the coffee is weak, not worth drinking and very expensive! Across the street is a coffee and ice cream shop and about 200 metres past the seafood restaurant, already mentioned, is a Tescos supermarket comprising a great coffee shop run by very friendly people.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank tezza181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed just one night in Bangkok and coming to this hotel was lovely!!
The price was fantastic and the service from the staff was impeccable!
I would 100% recommend and return to this hotel!(This is my first review as I never usually leave one but as the hotel was so great I thought it needed one)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaSanghera98174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was a lovely hotel that I managed to get at a rock-bottom price thanks to Agoda. The rooms were quirky and colourful, decorated in an old Chinese style. I especially loved the coloured glass windows and (fake) bird in the shower! The bed was large with a firm mattress and new cotton bedding. Despite being in the middle of bustling Chinatown, there is absolutely no street noise and I slept brilliantly. The TV has a few English channels, though I didn't make much use of it. Good quality toiletries are provided, along with plentiful (new) towels, slippers and bath robe. There is also a complimentary minibar (soft drinks, beer and a couple of snacks) which is refreshed daily and a nice touch. The wi-fi in the room worked well, although you can only use it on one device at a time. There is no view, but the colourful windows make up for this.
The breakfast is fairly cheap (about 5 pounds) and there is a reasonable selection of Thai and western food (though no cakes, croissants or pancakes!). The staff are friendly and helpful, especially the bell boy, in giving directions and getting taxis.
Any down sides? Well it isn't really in walking distance to any trains (BTS or MTR) so you have to rely on taxis. However they are cheap in Bangkok. Also Chinatown is fairly central and you are within walking distance of the river (boats to other places up and down the river cost next to nothing) and The Golden Buddha. There is a 7-11 next door and a street food market along the road with delicious things to eat. There are also lots of Chinese restaurants. The big shopping centres and corrections museum, as well as Khao San Road are not far away too.
There is a jazz bar in the hotel foyer which is pretty popular.
Altogether I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Smartej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I wasn't a huge fan of Bangkok but this hotel would be enough to convince me to return. Fantastic rooms and very attentive staff meant that this hotel was a little enclave of peace from the hectic city streets.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#91 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Banglamphu
Casa Nithra
Casa Nithra
#61 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#52 of 844 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#70 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok is the winner of "Best Value Hotel in Asia and Australia" in 2010 by London Sunday Times Travel Magazine. Shanghai Mansion celebrates the romance of 1930's Shanghai in the center of Bangkok. All guest rooms are uniquely designed in a very chic Chinese style with great attention to detail to provide a most distinctive experience. Cotton Jazz Bar features live Jazz nightly and Mian Hua restaurant features delicious Chinese food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp and LateRooms so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing