We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated boutique china town hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #82 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

When we arrived into Bangkok, if you don't get a transfer to the hotel, I advise using the subway system which was very inexpensive and easy to use.
When we got to the hotel, everything was perfectly decorated and I really felt like I had travelled back in time into china. Such a beautiful hotel.
We stayed in a superior double with bathroom and had free breakfast. Our room was stunning and was cleaned daily. The free breakfast was a perfect idea to start the day.
Chinatown for us wasn't the best location, we wanted the hustle and bustle of the true city, but there is still plenty to look at.
Another downfall for us was a few of the men on the door to the hotel would tell our taxi drivers to take us to restaurants and places we didn't want to go to, and felt they were quite pushy. Most of the time we found our own tuk tuks and taxis. We didn't eat at the restaurant as it seemed pricey an there are plenty of other places to choose from.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helenelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

966 - 972 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

The location is great in China town which is filled with local restaurants, the best street food is at
your first step. When you enter the hotel you don't have the hustle and bustle of the main street.
This hotel is exactly as presented in their information. We stayed in "Mudan". It was more than we expected, comfortable bed, couch for relaxing and watching TV and a tub to dream for.
The staff were attentive, courteous and accommodating. We were impressed by the service of a staff name Ms.Tui. Thanks to her of helping us, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Del_wood43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This hotel is right in the heart of Chinatown.
It is decorated and furnished in a traditional manner.
There is a large lobby area on each level where you can read or relax.
There are a variety so seafood restaurants just outside the front door and it is a 5 minute walk to the underground.
What really makes this hotel is the staff.
Their kindness and attention to detail went way above and beyond our expectations and we are looking forward to staying there on our next trip.
The hotel also represented excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

One of the memories I will never forget about Thailand is the exotic smell of the smokes inside every facility and I really loved it a lot as it makes you feel a real part of the city and you live and smell the city. After a beatiful holiday in Koh Samui & Krabi , Bangkok was our last stop before going back home and we prefered to stay in a special hotel. I fell into Shanghai Mansion's ambiance on Tripadvisor photos. The hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown on its main Street. You can find a lot Chinese local shops, restaurants, open air Street eating points where locals are eating all day instead of cooking at home. Hotel staff-concierge welcomed us on the front door, his name was IS and he made sure we were comfortable at all time we stayed in the hotel, maybe the best concierge we have ever met, he helped and guided us during our 1,5 day stay. Our hotel room was the most authentic we have ever stayed which reflected the typical chinese culture and it was very clean as well as the corridors and every part of the hotel. You should also visit every floor of the hotel as they have botanic pool and an elegant jazz restaurant.
Chinatown is around 10 minutes Tuk Tuk ride away from Grand Palace and it costs around 100 Baht from hotel, please bargain all the time, they tell 2-3 times more than you should pay. We also visited the shops on Chinatown, where you can buy different versions of Tiger Balm, different healin herbal balms, dryed fruits, black tea and different herbal teas.
We left Shanghai Mansion with a smile on our face with sweet memories. Thanks for great hospitality.
P.S. If you don't like chinese food and not willing to try open air cooked stuff, you should go out of Chinatown as there are no international restaurants there. Also don't forget to have a little boat tour on the river.

Room Tip: Every room has a special ambience I suppose, but we stayed in a deluxe room. It was very clean, quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GURKANIZMIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Awesome, really awesome, this is what this boutique is. It's a kind of Chinese style in Chinatown.
Checking in was so much faster and more convenient than 5 star Hotels. The staff ( Khun Tui )
was very nice and helpful.
The room 206 was tastefully decorated. One could easily stay in and relax all day. One out standing was a tub, so nice to come back to, after the hot day.
K.Rodda

Room Tip: Many good restaurants around the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had booked a room of the Mei Hua category online from Germany. When we arrived staff was very friendly and attendive, check-in was very quick (5 minutes only). We received a welcome drink and a cold towel. We were a little uneasy at first walking into a hotel of this kind with backpacks, but there was no problem at all. The room was exactly as shown online. Our room actually had a real window, but we read about some rooms without windows. It was cute, very clean and beautifully furnished. The whole hotel has a very beautiful interior. We had booked with breakfast which I totally recommend. The variety is pretty broad including Thai dishes, chinese DimSum and soups but also an Omelette Station, bread and toast, coldcuts, cheese, jam, honey and lots of fresh fruit and juices arranged in a buffet. The staff in this hotel is really out of this world. Roomservice was also quick and thoroughly. What we loved most was the Yaowarat Street right out of the hotel! So much good food only footsteps away. The hotel bar right out of the lobby had lovely live music on most of the evenings. Also the train station was only a five minute walk away. We totally loved it here allthough very few things must be noted to complete the picture.
- Although each room has it's own aircondition, the hallways and elevators are pretty hot
- aircondtion in the room is a little noisy (like all airconditions usually are)
-we found the pillows to be rather hard, matress and sheets were excellent though
-we had dinner in the hotel's restaurant once and didn't find it worth the expense. Wasn't bad, but rather expensive and small portions aswell (better head out on the street for food)
- most annoying and also the only thing worth a real complaint were two guys in the lobby trying to sell you sightseeing trips around Bangkok. Everytime one would walk past them they would want to know where one was going and what we were doing there.
There also was an apology letter at the Hotel room for noises that might occur between 10 am and 6 pm due to maintenace and repair jobs that needed to be done, but since we were out all day sightseeing we did not experience any noise at the hotel.
Baseline: we loved this hotel, we can totally recommend staying there and we would definately return.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hatschko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights when we first arrived in Bangkok on our honeymoon. It was a beautiful hotel, the rooms were immaculate! When the sweet little lady on reception found out it was our honeymoon she delivered flowers, fruit and wine to our room it was such a lovely gesture. The hotel has a great lobby bar that's open and looks onto the manic streets of China town this is a great place to sit and have a drink. We would highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank travel_lover0101876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#90 of 890 in Bangkok
2,744 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#142 of 890 in Bangkok
1,655 reviews
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#107 of 890 in Bangkok
4,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £41 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing