We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queens of the Mansion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #88 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Queens of the Mansion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Bangkok, 4 weary travellers with low expectations for the doirty city. However, Shanghai Mansion treated us like the Irish princesses we knew deep down we always were. Just don't eat in the restaurant pretty sure I ate dog. amazing tourist advice and chauffeur called Chai!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    814
    191
    57
    28
See reviews for
239
1,303
210
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wonderful Boutique Hotel with an Aura of past.
Very ethnic room decor and every item in room is antique and classy.
Place for the lovers and the Honeymoon suit is the ONE.
Located in the China Town, the haven for foodies.

Room Tip: The Suits are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pawanverma5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastia, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We loved our stay at Shanghai Mansion first when we arrived in Bangkok and then for two nights before flying back to France. A beautiful hotel in Chinatown which we loved ( the atmosphere, the food, the area etc ). The staff were very friendly and helpful, very good breakfast, a good bar downstairs, very clean and we were put in a suite on our way back and felt like VIP s. We were allowed to keep our room until 2pm because our flight was late in the evening and we really appreciated this, a special thank you to Mr Is and our special friend Mr Chai, the hotel chauffeur who took us on visits, and gave us a lot of information about Thailand, customs, history and more and more. We will definitely go back to this hotel if we are lucky enough to return to Thailand.

Room Tip: 507 was our favourite room, big and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

What a brilliant hotel, location was superb, rooms massive and clean, breakfast really good, public areas lovely to be in. Value for money was excellent. Visit the red or green street food sellers in the evening just along the road, sensational food and experience.

Room Tip: We had 204 I think, it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusterGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We loved our stay at Shanghai Mansion. Locating in bustling Chinatown, Shaghai Mansion offers a unique opportunity of feeling like a local in this very incredible area of Bangkok with access to exotic street food and amazing local restaurants such as T&K Seafood right around the corner. The hotel decor inspired in Chinese Shaghai of 1920-1930 is delightful, exotic, romantic, everything you can expect and more. It's impossible when on a honeymoon like we were not to feel part of the movie The Lover (l'amant). Additionally, the customer service was super. Es our buttler was incredible. He recommended us a few places in KhaoSan Road that were just perfect for a wonderful night out "hangover" style. The night guard outside was a sweetheart helping us with whatever he could, from securing seats out in the small front area to watch the world cup final, to lending us an umbrella on rainy day, and trying to help us secure a cab to the floating market. Overall, the staff was incredibly helpful, kind and courteous. Like everyone in Thailand always with a bright wide-open heart-melting contagious smile. We had a great time at Shaghai Mansion. The hotel is kept very clean, our room was very comfortable and spacious, and more importantly every single cab, tuk tuk we took seemed to know where the hotel was or at least how to get us close enough. Would stay there again and again.

Room Tip: do not miss the T&K seafood restaurant right on the corner. The best seafood in chinatown if not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camuri-baghdadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Cannot praise this place enough. Every member of staff was extremely nice and helpful. A special mention for Mr Is (hotel porter) who ensured we had a brilliant experience, with suggestions and tips for our time in Bangkok. Breakfast excellent, room was superb! 5* from me, definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

Away from the hotel - a must visit is Khao San Road, a crazy street with so much going on.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Malkz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights .This is a really unique hotel .The style is so different (imperial China).We kept finding nooks and crannies and artwork throughout the hotel -there are little treasures everywhere. The twin room was quite small but adequate .The beds extremely comfortable and great bathroom . No verandahs or windows took getting used to but the spacious areas outside rooms with tables and chairs gave us a place to gather which was really lovely .Breakfast was a buffet and food was very good quality . The area of China Town was fun too .We loved our stay here.

Room Tip: Probably woth paying a bit extra for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidiaperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#102 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,135 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#54 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#61 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#78 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing