We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,628)
Filter reviews
2,628 results
Traveller rating
1,377
937
215
67
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,377
937
215
67
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheart of china townchinese stylemu danbusy chinatownjazz barfour posterbird cagecotton barchinatown areathe free mini barlive jazzno natural lighttuk tukboutique hotelstreet foodgolden buddhadim sum
Filter
Updating list...
1,029 - 1,034 of 2,628 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel has a lot of drawbacks (such as hardly any windows, so so location (unless you are determined to stay in Chinatown), crowded entrance), but the decor makes up for everything. A funky, kitsch and completely over the top concept hotel, at very affordable prices. A rare - if not unique - find.

Room Tip: The difference between the suites and the regular rooms is quite significant. If within your budget, you will want to take the upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank User124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent hotel for this price in the middle of Chinatown,great service and really ment direct contact to the customer.
Amazing design !! and good accessibility rooms definitely quiet in a very busy neighbourhood

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swiepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This really is beautifully renovated hotel from 1832! Impressively done. Since we're on a sabbatical for 6 months we are on a budget. So we booked the cheapest room without breakfast at 42€ a night. The bed was big enough for the whole family ! (we travel with a 4yr old) The decoration is fantastic, you can really feel the vibes of back then. Try some local food in the area, all chinese specialities. We loved it!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Willemijns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 days in Shanghai Mansion for a stopover on our way to Bali. The hotel is absolutely nice and worth its price, the staff is very friendly. Ask Mr. Is in front of the hotel - he is extraordinary polite and will help you arranging your day trips round the city, taxi, boat, etc.

Yoawarat Rd. we found by far more interesting than Khao San, more authentic, more fascinating. Try the two seafood sideways just a few meters right leaving the hotel. All in all a perfect stay for a few days.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When I stayed at Shanghai Mansion in spring 2013 during a solo trip to Bangkok, I decided the next time I went to Thailand with my family that we would do the same. We stayed there for about two weeks in April 2014 and, like me from the year before, my wife and son loved the place. Many of the other reviews on the hotel's wonderful atmosphere and ambience get it just right.

The Ying Hua suite we stayed in was beautifully decorated and big enough for all three of us. The hotel can provide a cot (no charge) for a third person, but our son decided to sleep on the couch instead.

The pictures on TripAdvisor and the hotel website do justice Shanghai Mansion's beautiful interior. Great antiques, chairs outside each of the rooms for relaxing. My wife and son enjoyed wandering the hotel's four floors and looking at all the neat stuff.

As usual, the breakfast spread and service were outstanding. An excellent choice from Continental and Thai/Southeast Asian dishes, eggs and omelettes cooked to order right there, the food was delicious. The staff is wonderful, and we looked forward each morning to seeing Mama and Bo (her son) Fawad. Mama is a great cook, and Bo is an excellent and attentive server. Our son would usually go to breakfast before my wife and I, and would pass the time chowing down and taking with Mama and Bo.

The Mansion's location on Yaowaraj Road is great for those who want to eat on the street, as we did every evening. There are good indoor restaurants all over the area also, but it's just very easy to go outside and join the crowd and get excellent soup, rice dishes, grilled meats, whatever you want. If you like seafood, there are an especially large number of street stalls on both sides of the block where Shanghai Mansion is located. Yaowaraj Road is wide with three lanes of traffic going both ways, but at night is transformed as the street vendors take over, and set out tables from the sidewalk into the street, leaving basically just one lane open each way for cars.

I don't know when we'll be going back to Bangkok next time, but the Shanghai Mansion is where we'll stay again. Bangkok can be a a large, noise, urban city like any other in the world, but the quality of the Shanghai Mansion and its location in the heart of Chinatown is unique. It took me years and many travels in Thailand to find Shanghai Mansion, but it's now our family's go-to-place.

Room Tip: Ask for room on third floor if you want to have the indoor pool/fountain outside your door.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews