We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“difficult to find but unusual and beautiful room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #85 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
215 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“difficult to find but unusual and beautiful room”
Reviewed 4 February 2010

i booked this hotel on the basis of the colourful, fab looking rooms and was not disappointed, we had a peony classic room that had a huge bath, brilliant shower and no end of lovely decorative touches, free mini bar that stocked daily, free wi fi and a beautiful restaurant that served nice breakfast and pricey meals.
we did struggle to find it however as our taxi driver dumped us on the main road, waved us in the wrong direction and left pronto!
it is a little strange that you enter a foyer and have to go up an escalator to get to reception, it did feel a little like a shopping mall and as the rooms are all off a central lobby, it did get quite noisy at times
however it was immaculately designed, decorated and staffed, brilliant for a few nights of eccentric luxury, and in the heart of crazy manic chinatown, make sure to visit the sunday market, chaotic, frenetic and with amazing sights on every street corner

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank collymarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    812
    190
    57
    28
See reviews for
239
1,303
210
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I travelled to Bangkok a lot for short leisure trip, but somehow never notice this hotel. We spent two nights there before going to Hua Hin.
The hotel location is in the center of Chinatown which is very convenient for shopping around Chinatown considering the traffic condition there. ALso very easy to get to other attractions in Bangkok, ask the bellboy and he will give you very good and valuable advice, this help us to save a lot of transportation expenses. I even walked from the hotel to the railway station to take train to Hua Hin, and subway to other part of bangkok. The train station and subway is side by side., 10-15 minute walk from hotel.
We arrived on a hot afternoon (3pm with 33c); however the cheerful and welcoming smile from the bell boy cool us down immediately. The staff are friendly,warm and accommodative. The general manager even help us to arrange our diner at 6pm instead of the normal 8pm.
The room is amazing, almost everything is oriental. And is very quiet, despite the noise, bustle and hustle at the entrance. The only thing is that almost all rooms have no window to look out.
The whole hotel is very quiet and have that zen feel.
Food is not an issue, of course most of the food here are chinese food. Cheap and fresh, especially the seafood, birds nest and sharkfin.
We immediately books for a deluxe room when I came back from Hua Hin , and is in to another amazing experience. I am still staying in the hotel writing this review.
I will definitely come back again next time I visit Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ongtyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We stayed in this hotel for the first nights of our Thailand trip. My girlfriend had never been to Thailand before and I wanted to give her a real introduction by living in Chinatown.

On our arrival my name was on the welcome-plate down by the street. Nice little touch.

The hotel faces the main street in Chinatown which is really noisy, hectic, smelly (both good and bad ones) and hot. The main entrance to the hotel is at the street but rest of the hotel and the lobby is within the building and away from all the hustle and bustle.

The rooms are very charmingly decorated in old Chinese style - including the bathroom. We both liked it very much. The hallways are a bit dim - but it works with the style. The roomdoors are flimsy, but we did not feel unsafe.

Breakfast was a choice between different options. We only tried the "Healthy" one which is a buffet with cereals, fruit, juice and yoghurts etc. It was fine - but nothing to get too excited about.

All in all a very charming and quiet hotel in the middle of one of the busiest districts of Bangkok.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lookingfordru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We loved the Shanghai Mansion and Chinatown. All the guidebooks said we'd be way to far away to see any of the top sights, but that was simply untrue: we walked practically everywhere with hardly any trouble. The decor of the hotel was fabulous even if there were't any windows in the room. The complimentary breakfast was hearty and the staff was great. We felt our belongings were absolutely safe while we were out. There's also a little market/grocery store right next the hotel if you want to pick up some snacks for your room.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SaritaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca Watts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

This hotel is well worth the money! We booked last minute and got a really good rate with breakfast included.

The staff were helpful and the room had everything you could possibly need. I loved the little decorative touches in the room and thought the indoor fish pond was really lovely!

Breakfast was adequate, but did lack choice,

Over all would definitely stay there again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whataworld27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This hotel is beautiful and has a nice spa. It's also in the heart of China Town in Bangkok. China Town is exciting (if not a little overwhelming for the western tourist). This is not a "cheap" hotel, but is consistent with the prices of other nice hotels in Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

Shanghai Mansion is one of the most amazing hotels my girlfriend and I have ever stayed in. A lush, dimly lit island of sanity away from the chaos and smog of Bangkok's Chinatown raging outside, the hotel's interior will make you feel like you walked onto a carefully crafted movie set designed from the dreams of Bernardo Bertolucci and David Lynch. You can't take a bad picture here. From the colorful rooms to the elegant cool of restaurant/club everything is constructed with faithful and loving detail, leaving you with the illusion of being in another place and time. If you're looking for something really different outside normal cookie cutter hotels - this is it. I commend the owners of this hotel for taking a chance and creating a vivid and lush experience rather than following the same old, tired hotel formula.

The service in this hotel is really very friendly. Not exactly professional, but you feel like they're all good people who'll help you out if they can. You won't get the perfect service you may get at other hotels, but you will always feel welcome and attended to. One of the security guards out front actually walked me to the corner 7-11 and poured me a cup of coffee when I merely asked where I could get a one. On the other hand, when I was looking for an after hours (11pm+) restaurant in the area or delivery to the hotel I came up empty handed at the front desk. I had a hard time believing there's no late night restaurant in Bangkok open after midnight in any area of town, and I'm sure there were but the front desk person didn't have that standard type of information on hand for some reason. It's a mixed bag and there are some apparent holes in the service, but overall we walked away feeling very satisfied because everyone was really very, very nice.

The one glaring drawback to the hotel is it's specific location. In general, it's well positioned between all the major sites and a short tuk tuk or cab ride away. Specifically though, it's in Chinatown which isn't exactly walking distance to any of that, and taking a tuk tuk or cab through Chinatown traffic is in most cases slower than walking. The area is really safe, but very sketchy looking. Games of cards in dark alleyways, people selling stuff out of their garages, legless homeless people begging for change are a few of the exotic sites you'll be treated to in a walk around the block. Not exactly romantic if that's what you're looking for. Food choices? Very narrow. Looking for a good Thai restaurant? Forget it, this is Chinatown. The overwhelming majority of food is Chinese seafood. I thought this would be a nice option when booking the hotel, but I didn't understand that Chinese food would overwhelmingly, completely dominate the area.

I would highly recommend this hotel as a uniquely cool jumping off point to explore Bangkok. However, outside the hotel it's really not an area many will feel like hanging out in for the hours leading up to and coming back from other parts of town. Considering that the hotel restaurant isn't 24 hours (6:30am-10:30am and 6pm-10pm with no room service option), you may want to closely take this into consideration when deciding to stay here. This isn't an area that caters to western travelers, which is great if you're tired of being surrounded by tourists, but bad if you're looking to have a nightcap at 1am close to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#99 of 852 in Bangkok
4,125 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#53 of 852 in Bangkok
1,324 reviews
Bangkok Loft Inn
#61 of 852 in Bangkok
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#76 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing