We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, friendly service, very glamorous rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #85 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
1 review
“Fabulous, friendly service, very glamorous rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed here for a family wedding in October, we took over most of the hotel. I was bowled over by the style of the hotel - rooms like a 1930s glamorous film set , very dramatic and a treat for the senses - rose petals strewn in the bath for instance. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Its location is great too, right in the heart of Chinatown. Although the immediate area is teeming with life, the hotel itself is very quiet and peaceful. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,188
    803
    188
    57
    28
See reviews for
235
1,291
208
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed in this hotel on late October. It was a good experience of Asia for me. Decoration and atmosphere in this hotel is unique. You feel completely different. Hotel stufff is helpful and warm. Yea, it is not the best hotel in the city but this depends on what you looking for as "the best."

All in all, I recommend this hotel as being a good Asia experience and wonderful stuff.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TolgaOzdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days. Hotel is beautifully designet, but the service is bad: far from both train and boats, toilette paper would be fine, information about breakfast would come handy (at the last day we found out possibilities other then marmelade and stuff), waitress forgot to bring us coffe when asked twice, the frst room was so noisy (sound of machines - climate or washing or???), tso we HAD TO change it, there was no tee baggs in the romm exept for the first day (woter heater present). have to ask for hair dryer. Absolutely a hotel not worth the price!!! When you see the manager, everything is understood!
Positive: design, lobby atmosphere, in the middle of cinatown area, asian breakfast - when you find it out. Maybe, to see the design, stay one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

Great place. Fabulous décor. Good food both in the hotel and just outside.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcg968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon travels. I am happy to say I totally agree with the other reviews on here, once in the hotel we were blown away by the service, comfort, free minibar!! (first time I had ever heard of such if thing, i had to ask twice to be sure) and also free WiFi in your room. This hotel ticks all the boxes, everything is about a 50-100bht taxi ride away at most, and Chinatown is on your doorstep. The taxi ride from the airport (minus the traffic) was only 45 minutes and only 384bht on the meter. When we arrived they had a porter greet us and take our bags up to the room, show us everything and then let us know about the breakfast (ok) and any trips we wanted. This hotel is perfect and well worth the money in every respect. Big comfy bed too! Only annoyance was getting up at 3.30am to get a flight, although the hotel even made us up a breakfast box to take to the airport because we wouldn't be around for the actual breakfast. Little touches like that put our hotels at home to shame.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

I arrived in Bangkok late at night and gave the taxi driver a printed out map to the hotel. Due to the time, I was worried about the hotel lobby being closed; however, a porter greeted me at the door and my name was on the welcome marquee. The escalator up to the lobby was a bit peculiar, but the lobby/hotel was beautiful. I was immediately offered a drink. The decor was funky and rich. The receptionists were always kind and helpful.

My room had lanterns and a canopy bed - in fact, it was even complete with slippers. The bathroom was certainly funky - there was a birdcage in the shower. The common areas were pretty and functional - with games on communal tables by the indoor atrium. I had read that breakfast was by menu with tasty options, when in fact it was buffet. But the items on the buffet were good and it was a great place to leisurely enjoy a cup of coffee and a plate of fried rice before braving the go-go-go intensity of Chinatown. I really thought the small hotel did a good job with decor and small luxuries for travelers on a budget. And the rooms/hotel were quiet despite the Chinatown location.

It was farther to the Reclining Buddha, Grand Palace, etc than I thought - definitely worth taking a taxi or tuk tuk. The walk is really long and the street crossings are hairy.

While in Singapore, I ran into two Americans traveling to Bangkok for the first time. They were also staying at the Shanghai Mansion, which is always my recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1775DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warszawa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

spend there 3 nights (in pay 2 stay 3 offer) with wife and a baby of less then 2. convenient localization in Chinatown, but not that close to the city center. for us acceptable esp. that we like chinese moods. kind of a boutique hotel designed in brilliantly executed old South China concept. tasty breakfast and free wifi. nice old style baby cot. perfect service.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qoobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#94 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Bangkok Loft Inn
#57 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#52 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#90 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia, Southall Travel, ACCOR and TravelUp so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing