We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A SUPURB VALUE...IN THE MIDST OF A CULTURAL GOLD MINE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #82 of 896 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2010

i've stayed at this property in both 2009, and 2010...with the
'09 stay being during the celebration of chinese new year. if
you're looking for a 'room with a view,' you'd best move on.
however...if you want to be totally immersed in the chinese
experience, with some thai flavor... this is your spot. stay
during lunar new year festivities (january/february) and you'll
come face-to-face with dragons, drums, and fireworks, as
soon as you walk out of the lobby. (the bruhaha in the streets
is not heard in the rooms)
the decor at the mansion is 1930's classic 'old shanghai
style,' with hanging lanterns, lots of red, and a beautiful indoor
fish pond. that style continues into the rooms, where huge
four-poster beds deliver a good night's rest. the service was
excellent...detailed, and delivered with a personal touch. this
is not the chain-corporate experience...it's personal. i'd advised
the front desk that i had to leave for my flight home at 2:45 a.m.,
and when i opened my front door...a porter was standing there,
waiting to assist.
there's also a bar, the 'cotton club' that offers a live jazz combo
several nights a week. that room serves as a restaurant during
the day, and is the location for a very adequate breakfast. while
it's not a buffet, there is a salad/fruit/cereal/bread bar, and a choice
of entrees. it's your option to book a room with, or without breakfast.
there's also free, wireless internet, with good signal strength even in
the rooms...and a decent slate of television channels on flat screen
tv's.
shanghai mansion is smack in the middle of yaowaraj road...the
main street in the chinese quarter. you'll find fascinating markets
all around you... filled with every manner of goods, along with fruit,
vegetable, meat and fish markets. it's stroller's heaven. within just
a couple of blocks on yaowaraj and charoen krung roads, you'll also
find approximately two dozen gold shops. these sell magnificent 23k
gold jewelry...96.5% pure gold of a stunning deep yellow color that
will have your friends asking, "where did you get that??" it's all sold
by the gram, based on the current gold price... they weigh, and you pay.
also just two blocks away, is the famous 'wat traimit,' the solid gold
buddha, in it's new temple home. go there to be blessed by the monks.
you'll find the chao praya river just a short taxi or tuk-tuk ride away. there
are also many great dining opportunities close by...real chinese stuff
including bird's next, abalone, shark's fin...and everything else under
the sun. and, speaking of the sun, when it sets, yaowaraj road turns
into a canyon of food cart vendors, with 'al fresco' dining on the sidewalks.
in short... if you like value...the shanghai mansion is one of the best in
the city. and as a bonus, you get two countries for the price of one!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingsteve_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,568 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2010

One of the loveliest place I have stayed in terms of room design, beautiful and quiet. Rooms are warm and large. The staff was very friendly, courteous and trustworthy, everytime you walk pass you can be sure someone would greet you with a smile. They event went to extent of helping me haggle with the taxi driver for a reasonable price. However, some of the staff, especialy room maid, are not very competent in speaking English but it not a problem. I higly remommend this hotel and will be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We highly recommended Shanghai Mansion when holidaying in Bangkok. Fantastic service, the oriental decor, cozy environment, clean hotel rooms, complimentary mini bar and accessible food paradise.

We were welcome by team of friendly, helpful & patience front office staff leads by Ms Patty. Our trip involved olf folks and on numerous occasions seeks help. The (front office, kitchen & housekeeping) never refused our request and even went beyond our expectation to render their service (thumb up).

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenPhua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed here for a family wedding in October, we took over most of the hotel. I was bowled over by the style of the hotel - rooms like a 1930s glamorous film set , very dramatic and a treat for the senses - rose petals strewn in the bath for instance. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Its location is great too, right in the heart of Chinatown. Although the immediate area is teeming with life, the hotel itself is very quiet and peaceful. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

I stayed in this hotel on late October. It was a good experience of Asia for me. Decoration and atmosphere in this hotel is unique. You feel completely different. Hotel stufff is helpful and warm. Yea, it is not the best hotel in the city but this depends on what you looking for as "the best."

All in all, I recommend this hotel as being a good Asia experience and wonderful stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TolgaOzdemir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

We stayed in this hotel for 5 days. Hotel is beautifully designet, but the service is bad: far from both train and boats, toilette paper would be fine, information about breakfast would come handy (at the last day we found out possibilities other then marmelade and stuff), waitress forgot to bring us coffe when asked twice, the frst room was so noisy (sound of machines - climate or washing or???), tso we HAD TO change it, there was no tee baggs in the romm exept for the first day (woter heater present). have to ask for hair dryer. Absolutely a hotel not worth the price!!! When you see the manager, everything is understood!
Positive: design, lobby atmosphere, in the middle of cinatown area, asian breakfast - when you find it out. Maybe, to see the design, stay one night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciba68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Great place. Fabulous décor. Good food both in the hotel and just outside.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcg968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#87 of 896 in Bangkok
2,865 reviews
Banglamphu
Chillax Resort
Chillax Resort
#143 of 896 in Bangkok
1,724 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#68 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £34 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing