We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting boutique hotel but lacks atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Ranked #88 of 861 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Interesting boutique hotel but lacks atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

I visited Bangkok for the first time with my wife. The whole saga started with my booking with Southall Travels - unfortunately not the greatest of travel agents. I had to chase them up just to pay. However on a plus note they did work to find me the most suitable flight at a very busy time (xmas) which no one else managed to sort out.

The Shanghai Mansion was a hotel that was pushed by the Southall Travel agent and on hindsight I should have stayed here for a few nights and then at another for the remainder. However nevertheless I booked a ten night stay with them.

It is also known as the Shanghai Inn, I arranged transfers with Southall Travel, it's easy and cheaper to grab a taxi from the airport so there is no need to pre-arrange transfers. Its about 30-45 min from the airport via the toll Express way. In general the customer needs to pay for the toll charges. Saying that the transfer operator arrived in a minivan and was rather pleasent.

Upon arriving at the hotel it's not easily noticable and can be missed. The reception is up a set of escalators and once your in it looks quite impressive. It has a Chinese period theme, the reception lobby is quite small, it has a spiral staircase at one end leading up to the cotton bar. On arrival we were welcomed with some drinks. The check in was quite fast and we didnt have to wait too long for our rooms. The transfer agent sorted everything out for us when checking in.

We had booked the Superior Room - although we weren't offered anything else by Southall Travels. That was the most basic room. It was on the fifth floor, quite small, and although it looked nice with a huge bed it had no external windows. It did have a internally facing window, not sure if it actually opened but it faced the interior water garden, which is a unique and cool feature in itself but not enough to make up for natural light. We were never sure when it was day or night which didnt help us get over the jet lag.

The room had a 4 poster bed, 32" LCD TV with some movie channels which helped pass some of the time, tea/coffee making facilities. We had to ask for a Hairdryer which they promptly brought up and they have a complimentary DVD borrowing facility where you can borrow a DVD player and some movies. The do have a laundary service which was standard hotel rates. The shower was ok, though the wash basin was in the bedroom as opposed to the shower room. The doors were flimsey and any noise in the corridor or the floor above can be heard. The room also had a safe which the porter showed how to use. Note that the hotel does not have a pool or fitness facilities.

Breakfast is served in the Cotton bar and they have a buffet service which consists mostly of Chinese food such as spring rolls, soups, dumplings and other items. They also have a menu which you can order continental breakfast from - however no one told us about this so for the first few days all we were having was the chinese. Although it was good it did get boring. Everntually we discovered the menu items and it was a pleasant change.

In the evening the Cotton bar serves dinner and then also becomes a bar - to be honest there werent many people there and it lacked the atmosphere. Some nights they have a jazz band playing which were good but with only one or two people in the venue it lost its charm. We had non alcoholic cocktails which were good.

The communal areas are nice and have an elegant feel to it. The theme runs well throughout and the water garden is a pond in the middle of the hotel. It has laterns hanging down from the ceiling of the hotel and just looks amazing.

For new year they had a promotion where they were offering a complimentary photoshoot. They had a poster stuck in one of the lifts and we only found out about it when the offer had ended. it was a shame that they didnt inform us about it...

Its about a 7-10 min walk to the nearest subway station (Hua Lamphong) and once there you can travel around central Bangkok easily. Shanghai Mansion is in the heart of Chinatown which is a vibrant and lively area. The street seafood restaurants nearby are great. Also it is close to the Golden Buddha temple so there is lots to do and see nearby.

Overall I would say that this is a decent hotel and is ideal if you are staying in Chinatown for a few nights. Chinatown has a lot to offer tourists. As the hotel lacked atmosphere, its not a place where you could sit back and relax in so unfortunately 10 nights was too long for me. Worth a visit for short stays of 2-3 nights if your exploring Chinatown.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonhaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,230
    837
    196
    59
    29
See reviews for
251
1,334
217
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Clean great size rooms in a handy location close to all the Bangkok attractions. But the best part is the great service from all the staff but Nuch on the front desk made the stay great.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonabbott2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

nice, well decorated room (cheapest room type)
room is perhaps a little small, but that would be the only critism.
we have stayed here before in Jan 2008, and as we enjoyed before, we decided to come back again.
good location for Chinatown sites. would recommend

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Tastfully decorated rooms, but lack of light (nearly opaque windows). Very nice atmosphere created in the whole hotel by the Chinese decorations. Very quiet bedroom and a comfortable bed. The shower in the bathroom was excellent. The breakfast was simple, but good. The staff were very helpful. A pleasant surprise was the free internet connection made available to guests.
The location is probably the main negative point: in China Town. If you don't like Chinese food, you have to travel 10-15 minutes by taxi to another part of town (unless you want to eat at the hotel every day, as they offer Thai and international dishes). Also, taxis either don't know Shanghai Mansion or are put off by the nearly constant traffic jams in China town: half the taxi drivers we stopped didn't want to take us there, which was tedious. The hotel gave us a small card with the address of the hotel in Thai + a succinct map (very few taxi drivers speak even a bit of English), but I reckon that most taxi drivers couldn't read as they very quickly glanced at the card, gave it back to us and drove off.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 days. September 2008 (husband and wife)
At reception we were met by Naf, friendly iobschitlny chelovek.V what he told us how to get to the places we need and where better to go.
The room was great, very cozy and stilnaya.V it was a huge bed which was unforgettable to sleep.
In the morning we waited for breakfast buffet., delicious with dishes to suit every taste.
We really liked this hotel, we want to go there again and if possible we'll certainly stay in it

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

The rooms of this hotel are great with colourful walls in dark red and yellow full with asian funiture. We had a huge bed. It's quiet. Unfortunetly most of the cheaper room have the windows to an inner patio but it wasn't sticky. For breakfast you can choose a continental or Thai breakfast. It was a classy End of our Thailand trip.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kutzsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I chose this hotel because it was close to the Train Station and seemed to have some character. I wasn't disappointed. It seemed a bit silly going to Bangkok and staying in a Chinese themed hotel, but I am very glad I chose it. The staff are very friendly and the room was big and had everything you would need. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1countryatatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
Rembrandt Hotel Bangkok
#99 of 861 in Bangkok
4,307 reviews
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Dream Bangkok
Dream Bangkok
#93 of 861 in Bangkok
2,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 861 in Bangkok
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanghai Mansion Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Mansion Bangkok

Property: Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Address: 479-481 Yaowaraj Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#58 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#79 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#89 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shanghai Mansion Bangkok 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok An Award-Winning Boutique Hotel in the Heart of Bangkok’s Historic Chinatown. Situated in the heart of Bangkok’s historic Chinatown, Shanghai Mansion is an award-winning luxury boutique hotel named the region’s Best Luxury Cultural Hotel. Glamour and luxury mingle in the hotel’s opulent and well-appointed rooms, with a strong imprint of 1930s Shanghai and Art Deco influences. 76 individually-decorated rooms boast period furniture, vibrant chinoiserie, and luxurious amenities. A peaceful, 5-storey indoor garden is a great place to unwind, while the award-winning Spa Burasari boasts The hotel’s Red Rose Restaurant features a delightful modern Chinese menu and a lively bar stocked with fine spirits, an international wine list and exquisite Chinese whiskey and liqueurs. Nightly live jazz keeps the mood light and celebratory. Situated right on Yaowaraj Road, Shanghai Mansion sits in the heart of the historic district, within easy access to Bangkok’s major attractions, and Chinatown’s famous street food stalls, exotic fresh markets, traditional tea and medicines shops, heritage shophouses and iconic temples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Shanghai Mansion Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Mansion Hotel Bangkok
Shanghai Inn Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing