We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Peninsula Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$243
The Peninsula
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Hotel Bangkok(Bangkok)
US$338
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,628)
Filter reviews
2,628 results
Traveller rating
1,377
937
215
67
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,377
937
215
67
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheart of china townchinese stylemu danbusy chinatownjazz barfour posterbird cagecotton barchinatown areathe free mini barlive jazzno natural lighttuk tukboutique hotelstreet foodgolden buddhadim sum
Filter
Updating list...
1,716 - 1,721 of 2,628 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2011

It's hard to imagine that you can step off the busy streets of Chinatown and find yourself in a setting that is tranquil, stylish and delightfully comfortable in every way. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the central court with the fishpond soothing after the mad bustle of Bangkok traffic, the restaurant serves excellent Asian food with a view to catering also for a European palate if the guests so wish and doubles as a pleasant jazz club in the evening and the whole hotel breathes a kind of old world, languid atmosphere. We stayed twice and were extremely happy both times, not least because despite the amenities and the central location (Central Train and Metro Station 10 minutes walk, the Palace and the stunning Wat Pra Keow a 60 baht TukTuk ride away, not to mention China town with its culinary and other delights, where highrises are mercifully absent), but also because of the friendliness and helpfulness of the (young) staff.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Famtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

The beauty of this hotel lies within its walls. Everything is so pleasing to all of your senses. The room was exactly as pictured and yet the picture did not due justice to the room itself. The Tub, so big and relaxing need I say more!! Imagine taking a soak and hearing the notes from a Chinese Harp floating on the air as you relax. This was my own personnel experience.
The Hotel is off the tourist area hotels but well worth the money and extra time. The staff was fantastic and the interior was clean, you can sense the pride they have. The Jazz bar is a great way to unwind from a day of sight seeing.
The resturant had a good selection and the breakfast was excellent with a good assortment to choose from. What a great way to start off the day (mid morning for me). The staff did everything they could to help make the stay more enjoyable. Arrangements to go anywhere could be made at the desk.
The Daybed in the room was a surprize and what a great place to unwind, watch TV, or relax. The Bed in the room was so comfortable and plush.
I 'll be staying here again on my next trip!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lennyg987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

Cosy little hotel in the middle of Chinatown! Near trainstation and other nice places in Bankkok. and i have to say all the staff is really good,but i remember one of them very well, he is receptionist in nights in the hotel,and i have to say:Gone Sutjakorn you are the best!
i had a nice visit all time when i was there,and if i go back to Bangkok i go to that hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We spent one night here after 2 weeks of island hopping in Thailand. We were extremely impressed with the hotel. The decor is gorgeous - authentic Chinese and the rooms are something quite special. We stayed in the double Peony Suite and it really was gorgeous. Spacious, big bath, shower and a small lounge area. The little touches are great - the minibar is FREE (yes, you read right) the glass bottled water and the concierge service.

It is located right in the heart of China Town which is a totally unique experience. It is HECTIC but I think we experienced it at a really busy time - just before Chinese New Year.

The staff don't speak English too well, but they do try.

We only ate breakfast, and I had the traditional Chinese dim sum breakfast - HEAVEN! We had a cocktail or two and they were ok - good prices. I would definately recommend this spot - it's romantic, exotic and steeped in atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetfrangipani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We have stayed here 3 times now and it never fails to impress us.

Being in china town it is a little away from the main action but there is loads going on in china town itself which I think is sometimes overlooked by tourists.

Try T&K seafood just outside the hotel for the best seafood in bangkok at the best price.

The hotel is run by an American and he has done a good job here in creating a really nice environment to stay and with great and attentive staff.

I travel a lot with work and I would normally stay in the big chain hotels for that, but next time I am away on business I might choose to stay here instead for a unique experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarbyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews