We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place, don't trust the rewieu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Urban Age Hostel
Ranked #795 of 1,211 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Catania, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this place, don't trust the rewieu”
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I wont recent this place to anyone, very expencive for what they give u, i read the comment and saw at the pictures and seems a great place to stay... Not at all, single room durty poor no window , seems you stay in a tomb, big rats going around front door, durty a smally street, i have the impresion they write them-self the previus good report, staf try to rip u off , anything u ask. There are no lounge , so no chans to meet otrer people. In bangkok for 6 undreds a night u really can get much more,

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andreaagostini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    23
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
17
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed here mid July and was a bit shocked when I arrived. It is in a pretty dirty little side street which is not lit at night. The small reception/breakfast room/lobby was a bit messy and it didn't invite you to sit down and mingle with other travellers. The room had no window and was lit by one large neon tube. All in all I got very dipressed staying there as I never new what time of day it was when I got up. I had to spend a bit of time there as it rained continously.

The positive things are A*** air con getting the room to fridge temp. Superfast and reliable wifi and the whole place may be a bit messy and DIY but I have to agree with others it's clean, even the shared facilities.

Don't know why everyone is raving about the staff, they are as nice and pleasant as everywhere else and as long as you do not need anything out of the ordinary you'll be fine. Anything more than that and you get a blank stare and smile until you go.

Beware of supersized cockroaches and a few skinny rats outside the hotel when you want to sit at there little porch.

I'll definetely won't be back. I can get a window and all the above for the same price or a bit less just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A quiet alley of the cozy silom area. Very friendly stuff, rooms are clean and comfort. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This won't be the cheapest option for you in Bangkok. There are certainly those littered on Khao San Road. But this is probably one of the cozier options. The rooms are clean and big enough. The downsides are the shared bathroom and some rooms don't have a window.

The staff are super friendly.

We've been here numerous times and have tried other hostels in Bangkok, but often come back here.

Also, Silom has some tasty food options - lots of Japanese food, good Thai food stalls/food courts. It is also just a 5-10 minute walk to either the BTS or MRT.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EthanandJocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwangju, Gwangju, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2012

If ou’re coming to Bangkok on a hostel budget, I really cannot recommend The Urban Age enough. Yes, it’s Lonely Planet listed, so you’ll have to reserve a week or two in advance if you want a private en suite room, or even a dorm at some times - but the Silom location features a neat mix of farangs and locals, it’s right near the super-convenient Sky Train. The rooms are clean and well-appointed, the building is surprisingly quiet (for being behind seedy Patpong, although the soi itself feels perfectly safe), and the staff have been nothing but gracious and kind. One woman at the desk in particular has been a total sweetheart - I had an issue with a lost credit card and she immediately helped me find a sim card so I could call and get it sorted! I like it so much here I’ve booked for tonight and tomorrow (stayed here all last week, just returned) and for when I return again after Cambodia. It’s splendid!

Room Tip: While dorms are cheaper, they are on the sixth floor. Choose a private en-suite room if you do not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The urban age is located in the centre of Bangkok just off Silom Road. The location is excellent for everything as there are transport links close and markets and plenty of places to eat.
By far the best thing about this hostel is the great service the staff provide. All 3 staff members we met were really friendly and helpful especially when we had a couple of misfortunes on our trip like losing documents and our phone.
Rooms were simple but comfortable although the mattresses were pretty tough. Overall this is a great hostel for a Bangkok stop over.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I was caught with food poisoning and the owner suggested I went to Bangkok Christian Hospital get a jab. When I came back, she was really concerned about me. I have never felt so loved during a backpacking trip. LOL.

The place is at Saladaeng Soi 6. There most obvious landmark is the "Yellow Bank". Just right outside the infamous Patpong Night Market. The room is simple and clean but the staircase was a torture. I had to go up to 6th floor where my dorm was located each time I go out. That was not main point though. They offer cheap tours but I didn't book as I had no time. As long as the place is clean, nice and conveniently located, I am more than happy. What really stood out in this place is the service rendered by their staff and the owner. I will come back to this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHAIFULLAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Nantra Silom
Nantra Silom
#628 of 861 in Bangkok
223 reviews
Pathumwan
T-Boutique Hostel
T-Boutique Hostel
#298 of 1,211 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#109 of 1,211 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Sunflower Place
Sunflower Place
#194 of 1,211 in Bangkok
114 reviews
Silom
No photo provided
Home Mali Hostel at Hua Lumpong
#608 of 1,211 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
#43 of 1,211 in Bangkok
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Age Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Age Hostel

Property: The Urban Age Hostel
Address: 130/6 Silom Soi 6, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #795 of 1,211 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Urban Age Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the City, easy access to everything. Minimalist design, maximum hospitality. The Urban Age, stylish guesthouse is the perfect choice for visitors to visit Bangkok city. As it is run by the young and helpful owner, we are sure to make you like home. An oasis of hospitality, it is ready to satisfy the accommodation needs of those traveling for leisure and even business who want to stay in a budget and modern urban guesthouse. We offer clean and safe environment where you can dine or hang out in the area for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Urban Age Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Urban Age Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing