We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Affordable Budget Hostel in Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Urban Age Hostel
Ranked #777 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,437 helpful votes
“Very Affordable Budget Hostel in Bangkok”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was a solo traveler in Bangkok last June 2013 so I opted for a dormbed just for the experience since I never shared the room with strangers in all my previous trips. All I need is a bed for one night in between flights and I found The Urban Age Hostel in a popular hotel booking website. I was surprised to see the rate below US$10 and after reading the reviews I decided to book in this hostel. The Urban Age Hostel is conveniently located inside a small alley close to the main road. It is also near the BTS and MRT and the infamous bars and night clubs of Patpong. There are so many shopping and dining options around the area. Taxis are available 24/7.

Check in process was swift. Pam, the lady at the reception was very warm, friendly, and helpful. She stored my luggages inside their storage room free of charge since the dorm rooms were at the 6th Floor and there was no lift. I stayed in the mixed dorm sharing the room with some European women traveling in a group. She also helped me do my web check in and print the boarding pass. I just spent a couple of hours on my bed since there was a Filipino guy renting one of the dormbeds next room agreed to show me around Bangkok after his nightduty at the hotel. Unlimited coffee and tea are available free of charge at the reception area. The internet connection was stable and fast. For those without laptop you can use the internet PC at the lobby.

Ok, the toilet and bathroom may not look that clean because this property has seen better days but for the kind of money you are paying I think it is reasonable not to complain at all. I still believe I got excellent value for money and will not hesitate to come back to this hostel on my next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: The dorm is OK for solo travelers on a tight budget but you must be fit to cllmb the flights of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    23
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
17
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Basic rooms with shared bathrooms, just off main road in the red light district of Bangkok.

The room was dirty, with the bin overflowing which was left from last tenants, and seemed the sheets were too. Wifi didn't work in anywhere except the reception where it was painfully slow for the middle of Bangkok.

There are other places in Bangkok that are a lot nicer to stay in for the same money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

I got here after searching for a nice and cheap place to stay without success. Although full, they let me stay on the couch and shower for a night for very little money! Friendly staff also offered many good and honest pieces of advice about transportation in bkk

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sabuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The best thing about Urban Age is its location. It's accessible to everything; BTS, MRT, streetfood, and if you're into bars and women, Patpong Road is less than 5 minutes away.

However, I wouldn't want to go back there. Here are the good and bad things about it.

Good: Very nice staff. They are friendly and very helpful and eager to please. They have a few freebies too, like towel, coffee, tea, cocoa, and soap/shampoo. The wifi is good after midnight and they have a coin-operated washing machine which was a huge plus.

Not good: Dorm is at the 6th floor, no elevator. There weren't enough toilets and bathrooms, too. There was none on the 6th, so I often had to go down to floors 3, 4, and 5. Not all of the bathrooms had hot shower, and one sink in the toilet was broken and remained unrepaired.

Even though the place may be clean, it didn't look clean. Maybe it was because of the color of the tiles, or maybe because it was just old. The room was very depressing. I couldn't wait to get out of the room every morning, which was hard when you don't have anywhere to hang out in. There was only one sofa in the lobby and the cover didn't seem like it had been replaced for months.

The bed was squeaky too (you can't move without it making a noise) and the mattress was not comfortable.

It wasn't their fault, but when we were there, some girls on our floor vomited right on the landing of the 5th floor. Even after it was cleaned the next day, the smell remained. They should have used a stronger cleaner.

The dorm cost 280 baht per day. Cheap, but definitely not worth it. For 70 baht more, we could have the super clean hostel across the road (we went there after staying here 2 nights; read my review about it) which was way way more comfortable.

If it weren't for their freebies and the washing machine, I definitely would regret staying here.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, would have stayed longer if it wasn't so dingy- the window wouldn't open and it felt a bit like a cell. The wifi worked well and the shared toilets were kept clean which was good. Cheap so you can't really complain but there are better places to stay for the same price

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie160990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

the hotel is situated very closely to Silom Shopping Complex, Lumphini Park, Pat Pong night Bazaar and BTS Sky Train (Sala Daeng Station). I stayed here for 3 nights. They have free flow of coffee, tea, and hot chocolate at the reception. However, the hot water only available until around 10pm-11pm.there after, you might need to walk to nearest 7-11 to get the hot water. Overall, very nice place to stay for a short trip.

Room Tip: the hotel did not have elevator. might asked the receptionist which floor your room is located befor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCYMarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Rooms were very clean and wifi was fast on the ground floor. Staff were helpful and location is good, near the train system
Dorm room is on the 6th floor with no elevator and bathrooms only on 3, 4 and 5 floors. Hot water didn't work when I was there either.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#321 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Pathumwan
T-Boutique Hostel
T-Boutique Hostel
#271 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Pathumwan
Inn Stations Hostel
Inn Stations Hostel
#313 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunflower Place
#192 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Silom
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
#318 of 628 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Silom
HQ Hostel Silom
HQ Hostel Silom
#122 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Age Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Age Hostel

Property: The Urban Age Hostel
Address: 130/6 Silom Soi 6, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #777 of 1,185 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Urban Age Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the City, easy access to everything. Minimalist design, maximum hospitality. The Urban Age, stylish guesthouse is the perfect choice for visitors to visit Bangkok city. As it is run by the young and helpful owner, we are sure to make you like home. An oasis of hospitality, it is ready to satisfy the accommodation needs of those traveling for leisure and even business who want to stay in a budget and modern urban guesthouse. We offer clean and safe environment where you can dine or hang out in the area for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Urban Age Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Urban Age Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing