We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Urban Age Hostel
Ranked #779 of 1,188 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super good location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have stayed in the dorm for 4 night. It's very good for budget travellers.
And the good location, convenient to another where in Bangkok.
I think i will stay there again if I go to Bangkok next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qiwei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    23
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
17
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hostel caters for those on a tight budget. Those who aren't should look elsewhere. For only $4-5 more, you can find much nicer accommodation in Bangkok.
I stayed in the 6 bed dorm on the 6th floor and a 2 bed on the 3rd floor. The 6 bed dorm is not nice at all. The pipes drip water when the air conditioner is on. This was right next to my head, which made it difficult to sleep. The bed would also shake and creak when you get in them. Showers are on lower floors and depending on whether or not they occupied you may have to walk down 3 flights of stairs just to take a whizz. The paint job in this room is also ugly and the blanket itched against my skin.
The 2 bed dorm wasn't so bad. However, it is weird to have only one person in it. I could imagine a single girl could get freaked out if she had to share it with a weird guy. The amenities in here were nicer than the 6 bed dorm though.
Finding this hostel takes a bit of a challenge. You can get to it from Silom Soi 6 and 8. These streets aren't really well signed though and I walked past them several times. It is only a 5-10 minute walk from the BTS sky train. The hostel doesn't get any traffic noise from the main road though.
The best thing about this hostel were the staff, which I could not fault. They were always helpful and friendly. Their English was also well-spoken.
I would not stay here again if I come back to Bangkok. The feel of this place is very dated. I imagine it was a good budget option in 1982, but they haven't changed the place since. There are much better hostels in the city for only a few dollars more. This is the place to go if you want to save a little coin. However, the value of other hostels means that you should give this place a miss.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geelongexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The staff are extremely friendly and willing to help. The dorm is on the 6th floor, but for 250 baht I think it is good value. The dorms have assigned lockers that they give you a key to which is nice. Free tea coffee and cocoa is a nice touch.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptownnofrills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
214 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is what you get when you pay a small amount: A room without a view, but air condition and a shared bathroom. Coffee/tea is for free in the lobby, coin laundry also available. The bathroom provides shampoo and soap, WIFI is available for free throughout the house. You walk only a few minutes to the skytrain "Saladaeng" station and right next lane is famous Patpong with night market and bars.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows, so try to get one to the front. It's a laid back lane, so no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

It's a nice place to stay and people are very friendly. The place is also very clean. Restaurants and coffee are around and you can also purchase plenty of stuff on the taters around at night. However, the main old town is a bit far and you need a Tuktuk or taxi. I would go agin, but considering the location it might be better to get closer to the old town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maxere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
1,020 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,437 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I was a solo traveler in Bangkok last June 2013 so I opted for a dormbed just for the experience since I never shared the room with strangers in all my previous trips. All I need is a bed for one night in between flights and I found The Urban Age Hostel in a popular hotel booking website. I was surprised to see the rate below US$10 and after reading the reviews I decided to book in this hostel. The Urban Age Hostel is conveniently located inside a small alley close to the main road. It is also near the BTS and MRT and the infamous bars and night clubs of Patpong. There are so many shopping and dining options around the area. Taxis are available 24/7.

Check in process was swift. Pam, the lady at the reception was very warm, friendly, and helpful. She stored my luggages inside their storage room free of charge since the dorm rooms were at the 6th Floor and there was no lift. I stayed in the mixed dorm sharing the room with some European women traveling in a group. She also helped me do my web check in and print the boarding pass. I just spent a couple of hours on my bed since there was a Filipino guy renting one of the dormbeds next room agreed to show me around Bangkok after his nightduty at the hotel. Unlimited coffee and tea are available free of charge at the reception area. The internet connection was stable and fast. For those without laptop you can use the internet PC at the lobby.

Ok, the toilet and bathroom may not look that clean because this property has seen better days but for the kind of money you are paying I think it is reasonable not to complain at all. I still believe I got excellent value for money and will not hesitate to come back to this hostel on my next trip to Bangkok.

Room Tip: The dorm is OK for solo travelers on a tight budget but you must be fit to cllmb the flights of stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinoytraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Basic rooms with shared bathrooms, just off main road in the red light district of Bangkok.

The room was dirty, with the bin overflowing which was left from last tenants, and seemed the sheets were too. Wifi didn't work in anywhere except the reception where it was painfully slow for the middle of Bangkok.

There are other places in Bangkok that are a lot nicer to stay in for the same money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susiecampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
Krung Kasem Sri Krung Hotel
#314 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Pathumwan
T-Boutique Hostel
T-Boutique Hostel
#273 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Pathumwan
Inn Stations Hostel
Inn Stations Hostel
#293 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunflower Place
#194 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Silom
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
SK Boutique Maha Nakhon
#323 of 632 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Silom
HQ Hostel Silom
HQ Hostel Silom
#113 of 1,188 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Age Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Age Hostel

Property: The Urban Age Hostel
Address: 130/6 Silom Soi 6, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #779 of 1,188 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Urban Age Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the City, easy access to everything. Minimalist design, maximum hospitality. The Urban Age, stylish guesthouse is the perfect choice for visitors to visit Bangkok city. As it is run by the young and helpful owner, we are sure to make you like home. An oasis of hospitality, it is ready to satisfy the accommodation needs of those traveling for leisure and even business who want to stay in a budget and modern urban guesthouse. We offer clean and safe environment where you can dine or hang out in the area for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Urban Age Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Urban Age Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing