We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super, central and comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Urban Age Hostel
Ranked #795 of 1,211 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Super, central and comfy”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Spent three nights at Urban Age. Great location in the centre of Bangkok with Sala Daeng and Silom stations within five minutes walk this is a perfect base from which to explore the city and excellent value for money.

Staff were friendly, welcoming and informative, with good communications in advance of arrival as well as during my stay. I had the feeling that guests are really cared for.

I had a private "Urban Room" on the fourth floor and although facilities were on the landings there were sufficent that this posed no problems with availability. The room was simply furnished but equipped with a combination safe and airconditioning. I enjoyed a good, comfortable nights sleep.

Would definitely recommend and will certainly return on future trips to Bangkok. Many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    26
    23
    11
    12
See reviews for
2
17
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malacca, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The location of The Urban Age is strategic, near by the markets and shopping area; it is also very convenient for those who want to go for night life activities. The transportation from here to other places is also very convinient, since there are BTS station and MRT station in just five minutes walk from this hostel, and many taxi pass by. I enjoyed the best hospitality in this hostel, since the staff here are very freindly and helpful, and the most important thing is free wifi service. I went to Bangkok several times already, and I stayed in The Urban Age every time I went to Bangkok.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuhShyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2009

URBAN AGE is avery good hotel . it is centrally located. the receptionists are the asset of the management they help the new travellers to find out the best place to visit.they are very coordial. i wish them all the best

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — particularly nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank subhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2006

Thank you to the Girls, I was in Thailand when there was a public hoilday and only stopped over for 2 nights.

Staff - They were very nice and helpful.

Rooms - Very simple and the beds were hard, however the aircon and cold showers were great. No hot water, but it isnt a problem in Thailand.

Location - Great location if you like to shop and see the local market were just out the front door.

I would stay again if i came back to thailand, it isnt in the backpacking area, what is a good thing some times. And all the locals are very friendly!

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Disliked — Hard beds, but you can still sleep fine.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maka09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2006

I was very disappointed in this place after reading the positive reviews. It is sort of clean, not filthy not spotless. No bugs or anything, just old and falling apart. Beds are like particle board--VERY HARD!!!! Not like firm, like actually HARD. Terrible for solo travelers--no social atmosphere whatsoever. I have been travelling for almost a year and have seen both ends of the spectrum. This is somewhere on the lower end. Also, no elevator--if you get stuck on the 6th floor, it can be frustrating. The girls at the desk during the day are VERY helpful but the girl at night only speaks Thai, so it is impossible to get info on getting from point A to point B, any recommendations, transportation help for the next day, etc. I know I am in her country, but it is hard at hostels when they can't help the tourists. I don't mean to be disrespectful by any means. The location is convenient for the sky train, but if I stayed again in Bangkok I would pick another part of town. Not much to see around here and you have to take taxis at night--no public transportation options.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank imouttahere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Nantra Silom
Nantra Silom
#628 of 861 in Bangkok
222 reviews
Pathumwan
T-Boutique Hostel
T-Boutique Hostel
#298 of 1,211 in Bangkok
12 reviews
Silom
Loftel Station Hostel
Loftel Station Hostel
#109 of 1,211 in Bangkok
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Sunflower Place
Sunflower Place
#194 of 1,211 in Bangkok
114 reviews
Silom
No photo provided
Home Mali Hostel at Hua Lumpong
#608 of 1,211 in Bangkok
1 reviews
Cozy Bangkok Place Hostel
#43 of 1,211 in Bangkok
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Age Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Age Hostel

Property: The Urban Age Hostel
Address: 130/6 Silom Soi 6, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #795 of 1,211 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Urban Age Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the City, easy access to everything. Minimalist design, maximum hospitality. The Urban Age, stylish guesthouse is the perfect choice for visitors to visit Bangkok city. As it is run by the young and helpful owner, we are sure to make you like home. An oasis of hospitality, it is ready to satisfy the accommodation needs of those traveling for leisure and even business who want to stay in a budget and modern urban guesthouse. We offer clean and safe environment where you can dine or hang out in the area for 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Urban Age Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Urban Age Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing