We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #223 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    765
    311
    137
    72
See reviews for
293
511
301
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights in bangkok and selected this hotel as we got a very good price of 630 hkd per night including the breakfast for 2 persons and free wifi. This hotel can be considered as a 4 star hotel with big bedrooms and is really cheap compare to some others in the same area ( sukhumvit ).
The location is located in a small and quiet street and is very convenient as just 5 minutes walk to the skytrain. Its also nice located as a lot of bars and restaurants at just a few minutes walk.
The buffet breakfast is not the best one but for the total price we got, it is ok. Just 2 or 3 little things which are not very nice like the fruit juice choice ( only 2 ) and the quality of the juices which are more chemical than natural. There is also no ham.
They have swimming pool, the only problem is the sun on it is only in morning as the swimming pool is blocked between 2 buildings.
If we go again to bangkok, we will go again to this hotel if we arrive to get the same level of price including breakfast and free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear etienne c,

Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review of your stay at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok. We are happy to hear that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed hotels location, the spaciousness of the your room and breakfast at Cafe de Nimes.

Thank you for your comments regarding the juices and the lack of ham. I will discuss this with my team to see how we can improve on this.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you stay again on your next visit to Bangkok.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Spent 3 nights last week at the Grand Sukhumvit. The location is excellent as it's only a 5 minute walk to the Nana BTS station. From here, you can access almost all points of interest along the Siam line without having to step out. Given the traffic conditions in Bangkok, using the BTS saved us a lot of time! The hotel has big spacious bedrooms, a great gym and a buffet spread. The rooms are slightly dated, but everything is clean and functioning well. The prices being offered make this hotel an awesome deal!

Room Tip: Request for recently furbished rooms, if any
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikash D, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Rajat A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location, your spacious bedroom, the buffet at Cafe de nimes and the other hotel facilities.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel should really re-think on their name--"GRAND"--- in many things.
But they can retain the name in few, very few, things for sure.
So let me be a bit positive to start with.
Reception staff. Yes, Grand. Efficient, polite and fast.
Swimming pool. Yes, Grand. Great ambiance. Superb feel of the water.
Hmmmmm, well that's where the grandness ends.
This hotel charges quite a lot compared to the other available in this area.
And compared to the price, the experience is definitely up to the mark.
When i had checked in, my tea maker kept in the room had rotten tea leaves and water inside it. This was used by other guests who stayed earlier and not cleaned by room service.
The rooms are nothing great. The breakfast in the morning is quite depressing.
The food served are too expensive.
i would suggest to think twice before you book this place if the payment is from your own pocket and not a paid trip.

Room Tip: rooms are a bit claustrophobic and has no great view. check the rooms before you take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippytips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vikash D, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear trippytips,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am very sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we do take all feedback we receive from our guests seriously, we do take action and we use this feedback to ensure that we are continuously improving our service levels.

We hope that you will give us opportunity to stay again on your next visit to Bangkok.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had high hopes for the hotel, as the website showed some really nice pictures and due to the Accor brand 'prestige'.

My trip was in two phases, one for 5 day, a trip to Pattaya, then one day again before flying off.

The first phase of the trip was not pleasant. When I checked in, the room I was given was quite dated, the sofa was ripped and dusty, the shower curtains had black mould growing on it, and the bidet was very very dirty with a brown crust, and one of the robes had a blood-like stain on it. I informed the concierge and nothing was done, had to remind the cleaning staff when they came in instead.

On top of that, I used the taxi counter twice to catch a cab to my meetings, first time, the man got me a taxi that did not use the meter and did not have receipts. Second time, I complained, and he tried to get me to use a limousine for a short trip in the city (2.5x overcharged taxi price and 8x usual taxi meter price). When I did not agree, he called a taxi on his personal phone, who also did not use meters and had no receipt. Later on, I found out that it is illegal to do so, and when I complained, he only said it is the norm in Bangkok.

During the second phase, everything was much better. The room I was assigned, though being on the same floor, was clean and decent, and being aware of the staff at the taxi counter being a rip off, I had a much pleasant stay.

I am a Le Club member, I only remembered about the Welcome Drink after I was sent an survey email asking about it. The fact is, staff in the hotel are not aware of the Le Club Accor product, I was asked twice about my room preferences despite having made clear in my account. Generally, other than point collection, I doubt there is any other recognition from the hotel staff.

I would love to come back to Grand Sukhumvit as the location of the hotel is perfect. However, I might just be better served with being put up in Novotel or other hotels of a similar price range. Moreover, hotels outside the Accor group seem to be generally better value for money.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are generally not so well maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emocrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear emocrab,

Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. Please be assured that we do take all feedback we receive from our guests seriously.

The team work hard every day to ensure our guests are comfortable and experience our true hospitality, and it saddens us when this is not the case. I wish you had conveyed to the team your level of unhappiness that you have portrayed in your review, as they would have resolved the issues at the time. If something is not right or if we fail at providing an exceptional level of service, we are very keen to put it right.

We do hope you will consider another stay with us on your next trip to Bangkok. We will ensure that all services and experiences are exceptional.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tianjin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I’m a regular guest at this hotel and obviously I like it. If I would have to rate this hotel I would say it is a high 4 star to a low 5 star facility. Upon arrival you are very warmly welcomed by security and concierge staff, with a couple of “welcome back sir’s” for good measure and you feel back home again. Since my details and bookings are on file I am guaranteed by a very fast and painless check-in procedure all the while surrounded by the friendly smiles of the staff. I book the De Luxe 1 bedroom apartment and the rooms are clean, specious and well decorated. Bed is fantastic and I always sleep well in this hotel, further the apartment has everything I need with two flatscreen tv’s, safety-box, good shower, complimentary internet access and a modest small kitchen. I do agree with some other posters that the rooms are getting a bit out dated, although due to proper maintenance there is no issue at all. Location of the hotel is fantastic and you are with-in easy walking distance to the BTS, Sukhumvit road, and Soi4 with the Nana plaza entertainment center. The quality/price ration of this hotel will surprise you and hence I recommend you to give this fine and solid hotel a try on your next visit to the Land of Smiles and Bangkok in particular.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonaldVisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Ronald Visser,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok and thank you for your loyalty. We are so pleased to hear that we have managed to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel, the spaciousness of the suite, cleanliness and our friendly staff.

We always give importance and recognition to repeated guests like yourself. Our team always strives to make all guest stays memorable. We will look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#190 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Dynasty Grande Hotel
Dynasty Grande Hotel
#251 of 852 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#57 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Property: Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Address: 99 Sukhumvit Soi 6 Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#162 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the upscale Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok (Managed by Accor) boasts the best location amidst the bustle and vibrant city centre of Bangkok. Only seconds from the BTS Sky Train station and leading department stores, the remarkable Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok also provides easy access to expressways, and is only 45 minutes from International Airport. Our luxurious accommodation features 386 spacious rooms and suites, outstanding restaurants, and bars. This stylish hotel combines traditional Thai Charm with refined modern amenities and state of the art conference facilities for meetings and seminars, making it one of the best Bangkok hotels for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bangkok
Grand Sukhumvit Sofitel
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing