We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bathroom Lighting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #190 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 21 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,076)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

871 - 877 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Although I'm not the biggest fan of Bangkok, Grand Sukhumvit Hotel is a nice place. Nice and close to the Nana stop on the Sky Train, walking distance to Soi Cowboy and some other cool bars in the area. Lots of local markets near by and also a short walk to some massive shopping centres. Pools abit average but didn't really use it anyway. Staff are all so lovely and always saying hello/goodbye. Beds are amazing. My girlfriend left her phone there and they have been great to deal with trying to get it sent back to Australia.

Only bad thing is the concierge on the morning we left organised us some very dodgy taxi drivers that tried threatened to kick us out of his cab if we didn't give him more money than the agreed price, but he also took us to the wrong airport...almost missing our flight.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Mat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mat S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location, as well as service given by our friendly staff.

I am sorry to hear about the taxi incident. I have discussed this matter with the concierge team to ensure correct information is given to taxi drivers and that we only use suitable vehicles for these services.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Grand Sukhumvit has been around a while and may not be quite as grand as many of the newer hotels in Bangkok but it offers great value and still has many of the features that make it a very worthwhile choice to stay. The hotel rates in Bangkok are low at present due to the political upheaval - none of which are now visible to the public - and with the hotels discounting to get occupancy there are great deals to be had. The stay here was very inexpensive but the room was spacious, clean, good amenities, free internet (which was okay but slow and not altogether reliable) and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was ideal - a short walk to the BTS overhead "Sky Train" which connects the main parts of Bangkok city. It's a little back from the hustle and bustle of Sukhumvit road which meant very little noise.

As with everything in Thailand - double check every instruction. Despite making it clear a couple of times to the doorman that I needed a taxi to Don Muang airport he did tell the taxi driver I was going to Suvarnabhumi Airport! Having been in Bangkok several times and knowing the way, I figured as soon as he headed past the first expressway entrance that he had it wrong and sorted it out. Otherwise I would have gone well off course and missed my flight.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anwil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Anwil51,

Thank you for taking the time to place your positive review of the hotel. I am pleased to hear that your experience exceeded your expectation and that you enjoyed your stay along with the hotels location, spaciousness of your room, cleanliness and friendly staff.

I am sorry to hear that the wrong information was given to the taxi driver, insider knowledge is always helpful. I have also spoken with concierge staff to ensure they are giving correct information to taxi drivers.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok. We look forward to having you stay again on your next trip to Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

I ve been this hotel last week, nice location next to nana station (BTS), I just paid a reasonable price to got room upgrade to big room it's so nice, staffs were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good. I would ask my company to book this hotel again for next visit.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Somboon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Somboon M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are delighted to know that you had a memorable stay and that you enjoyed your room, breakfast and our friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Bangkok

Kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location is good lots of bars and night clubs around...
its also near to most embassy.
the rooms are also spacious..
the service is average because some staff can't understand English.
The pool area needs a very good clean up..

they have a very spacious GYM with lots of equipment and a sauna too!

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade upon checking in, they have a very good rate..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob Yee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear 280Robriley,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to learn that we made your stay memorable and that you liked the hotels location, the spaciousness of your room and serviced provided by our staff.

I am sorry to hear that you had difficulty communicating with our staff and I have noted your comments in regards to the pool area.

Once again thank you for choosing Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel: Reached there at night and had a hard time locating this hotel, even though it is walking distance away from Nana BTS. Reason is because they did not turn on the lights of their signage. Save on electricity? hmmmm... I have no idea.

Room: Neat and tidy. However, as it has parquet flooring, the beds with wheels moved easily at the slightest interaction.

Bedsheet & pillows had the smell of previous occupant's deodorant! THEY DID NOT CHANGE NEW LINENS!

Concierge: Asked them for directions to Talad Rot Fai Market, he plainly asked us to take a cab. We had to go online and get directions from Tripadvisor.com instead.

During check-out, we specifically requested for a cab to airport that runs on meter. They said, "ok ok". End up when the cab came, we were quoted 400baht by the driver.

Internet: FOC but slow.

Buffet breakfast: FOC but limited selection.


Conclusion: I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank l0kie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear l0kie,

Thank you for taking the time to write and post your review. I am very sorry that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. Please be assured that we do take all of the feedback we receive from our guests seriously.

In regards to the sign it is always on I am sorry that you had trouble locating the hotel and all linen is changed when a guest departs. I have noted this with housekeeping.
In regards to concierge I am sorry that they did not give you directions I have spoken with them in regards to your comments, as with the taxi to the airport.

Once again thank you for staying at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok.

Best wishes,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Although this hotel is located a walking distance away from the NaNa BTS station, it is quiet and peaceful at night despite being in an area that is full of life even when it's at night. This hotel is near to the central and just few stations away.

The room is clean, tidy and neat but the problem I faced is that the water from the tap is really small but the water pressure at the shower is good. Strange but true. The swimming pool is small but nice. The breakfast has too little variety to choose from and nothing special.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexKhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSHBGMPAThailand, General Manager at Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear AlexKhoo,

Thank you for providing a review of your stay. We are happy to learn that you liked the hotels location and also the cleanliness and tidiness of your room. The team work hard to ensure that the hotel is always kept to a high standard.

Your comments in regards to breakfast have been noted.

Thank you very much for choosing Grand Sukhumvit for your stay.

With kind regards,

Suresh Subramaniam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#54 of 891 in Bangkok
1,635 reviews
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Sukhumvit Bangkok
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Phachara Suites
Phachara Suites
#228 of 891 in Bangkok
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok

Address: 99 Sukhumvit Soi 6 Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#155 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £67 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the upscale Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok (Managed by Accor) boasts the best location amidst the bustle and vibrant city centre of Bangkok. Only seconds from the BTS Sky Train station and leading department stores, the remarkable Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok also provides easy access to expressways, and is only 45 minutes from International Airport. Our luxurious accommodation features 386 spacious rooms and suites, outstanding restaurants, and bars. This stylish hotel combines traditional Thai Charm with refined modern amenities and state of the art conference facilities for meetings and seminars, making it one of the best Bangkok hotels for leisure and business travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Sukhumvit Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Bangkok
Grand Sukhumvit Sofitel
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing