We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beer paradise”
Review of Mikkeller Bangkok

Mikkeller Bangkok
Ranked #344 of 11,033 Restaurants in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Thong Lor & Ekamai
Description: 30 rotating draft taps and dozens of bottles from the best brewers in the world. We carry beers from all over the world and continuously bring in new, innovative creations, many of which are exclusive to Mikkeller Bangkok and cannot be found elsewhere in Asia. We also carry spirits, meads, ciders and juices and frequently host tap takeovers and pop-up dinners, making every visit a unique experience that redefines the norm and pushes the boundaries of the craft. All prices are inclusive of tax and no mandatory service charge is added!
brunei
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beer paradise”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to hang for beer lovers. Lots of craft beer to choose from on tap or bottle. Nice quiet area and great place for conversing with friends. Nice bright decor. Food menu was not appealing.

Helpful?
Thank junjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justinbkk, Owner at Mikkeller Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hey Junjin,

Thanks for the great review. We work hard to offer the most amazing and unique beers and follow a strong international brand. As such we purposely keep the food menu to a minimum to maintain our focus, however the food we do offer (i.e. platters, sandwiches and desserts) is very high quality and selected to complement beer very well. For example, the New York cheesecake is served with a porter reduction and lambic infused raspberry sauce and pairs exceptionally well with a heavy dark beer. Likewise, the chiliwurtzerl or spicy meatballs have the perfect amount of spice to balance well with a hoppy IPA. Our selection of cold cuts, cheeses, olives, stuffed peppers, breads and dips come from the best suppliers and we are frequently complimented on their quality. I personally find the pulled pork and smoked salmon sandwiches served on daily baked charcoal buns to be amazing. I apologise if you found the limited selection unappealing, but a full food menu at a beer centric place such as ours was never our intention.

Keep craft alive!



We also do pop-ups that feature local food artisans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    49
    13
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best beers in Bangkok”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

For beer lovers or any one looking for a break from the usual English and Irish pubs Mikkeller is a must. With thirty taps of Mikkeller's famous craft beers plus lots more in bottles there is something to please everyone. Decor is modern European style. In the garden area out front you can laze about in bean bags which is a nice touch. The owners Peter and Michael make you really welcome and all the staff are able to provide guidance to the different beer styles and help you to find a beer to your taste. No its not cheap but its great value. These are really top class brews. Food range was a bit limited when I was there but the cheesecake was very good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siamrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justinbkk, Owner at Mikkeller Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hey Junjin,

Thanks for the great review. We work hard to offer the most amazing and unique beers and follow a strong international brand. As such we purposely keep the food menu to a minimum to maintain our focus, however the food we do offer (i.e. platters, sandwiches and desserts) is very high quality and selected to complement beer very well. For example, the New York cheesecake is served with a porter reduction and lambic infused raspberry sauce and pairs exceptionally well with a heavy dark beer. Likewise, the chiliwurtzerl or spicy meatballs have the perfect amount of spice to balance well with a hoppy IPA. Our selection of cold cuts, cheeses, olives, stuffed peppers, breads and dips come from the best suppliers and we are frequently complimented on their quality. I personally find the pulled pork and smoked salmon sandwiches served on daily baked charcoal buns to be amazing. I apologise if you found the limited selection unappealing, but a full food menu at a beer centric place such as ours was never our intention.

Keep craft alive!

PS. We also do frequent pop-ups that feature local food artisans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nectar of the gods.”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I miss having pure quality beer bars back Stateside, such as Father's Office (though Father's Office is more of a gastropub), so this is a welcome scene for Bangkok, Thailand. A couple of my friends who are beer aficionados recommended this place, so I didn't hesitate to visit. With 30 specialized beers on tap, there is something for everyone. I just wanted to taste them all. Beer is of course on the expensive side but you expect it to be going in. Great place and atmosphere to sit and chill with your friends and talk about the greater meanings of life.

Bonus: Try the beers exclusive to Thailand and try the cheesecake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the3amfeeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justinbkk, Owner at Mikkeller Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks so much. We try our best to represent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good beer with a price to match”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Tasty. Original. Good crowd. Mostly ipa and stouts. No specials. Good food. 450 baht for a big platter of cheese and cold cuts. 300 baht for just under a pint of beer(450ml). You're welcome

Helpful?
Thank bincenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dee Why, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beer Heaven”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you have the slightest interest in beer this is a must.

Cabbed it from Soi 5 on a Sunday no issues. Next visit was the following Saturday and I walked up from the BTS. Was a bit of a hike but made the beer oh so much better when I got there.

Opens at 5.

Great staff who knew their stuff and remembered me from my visit 6 days earlier - which was nice. 3 beers brewed for the location - a Brown an IPA and a Hoppy Larger - all worth having.

Nice and chilled indoors with a funky garden out front. Didn't eat but food looked interesting.

Sure it's not cheap but it's worth the extra $.

It's on must do list next time in BKK.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie_miso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mikkeller Bangkok also viewed

 

Been to Mikkeller Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing