We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Accommodation in Bangkok” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Somerset Lake Point Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Ranked #135 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Accommodation in Bangkok”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family of 6 - stayed here in January 2014. myself and hubby and children , aged 20 to 13 years old. The hotel has a tuk-tuk to take you to with-in a 5 minute walk to Sukhumvit Road where you can walk along the road or get on the Asoke Staton ( train). We had an apartment on the 27th floor over looking the man made lake. Might have been 2703 - non smoking room. . If anyone wants to know I will look for the correct information. This room was great with 3 bedroom all with Aircon units in it - that worked brilliantly and much needed with the heat of Bangkok.Piiows were not the best - we all didn't like them. The kitchen was great - we made a few lunches here and used plates for take away food as well. And of course the fridge with our 'drinks' in it . there was 6 bottled water without fail each day. BEDS MADE EACH DAY. There is a Foodland supermarket 10 min walk up the road - great.There is a few massage places directly across the road - about $11 for an hour . Kids certainly went there a few times Breakfast - yes there was enough to eat but if you got there late - the hot food was cold. But eggs - scramble, omelet, fried - all prepared fresh to your table :) .We ate in the restaurant once and we found this reasonable priced as we are really are eating 6 adult meals. Unfortunately 1 of the pools was under repair/ maintenance and i didn't realize upon booking this would be the case. But the under cover pool was good for the kiddies ( but a little cold ). All staff we encountered were great . You can change money at reception. The can organise ride to airport. So yes if we were to return to Bangkok with the family - this would again , be ideal. HOWEVER i doubt we would return .We found the people in general to be rude ( not in the hotel) . the vendors along Sukhumvit Rd -rude, a few eating places really didn't have much customer service, the floating markets - very expensive and not that exciting - maybe you need to go on a particular day!! . Taxi driver - the worst ever. Even thou the cabs say no 'haggle - metered' they just want to rip of the tourist. We walked or used the train - train is excellent. These attractions are a must see - Chatuchak Weekend Market,Victory Monument - good local shopping & a shopping centre - all with great prices/ food, any of the temples - must see's, China town for dinner and Dreamworld - adventure park - FANTASTIC . IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS PLEASE ASK :)

Room Tip: High floor - if you can get a corner - i looked in 1 and it was absolutely HUGE
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvluvluvBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear luvluvluvBali,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Pertaining to the pillow, I have asked Housekeeping to look into the matter.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    422
    88
    23
    14
See reviews for
340
155
65
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Fermoy, Ireland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Somerset Lake Point is all one would require for City Accommodation.. For a week or two in Bangkok you would be pushed to find someplace more accommodating. Everything about this place is almost perfect, the only crib I would make is that they don't know how to boil the kettle for a cup of Tea / Coffee it comes no better than Luke warm which Is terrible and impossible to get a good cuppa. That said we would definitely go back again to Somerset Lake Point. The staff are extremely friendly, obliging, helpful nothing is to much for them to do to ensure your stay is perfect. The apartment we had was like a 2 bed bungalow it had everything one requires eg Washing Machine, Dryer, large fridge lovely kitchen and bedrooms. We had a balcony which we could use to sunbath and look across at the beautiful park and Lake. The view at night was inspiring to say the least the colourful lights of the city were lovely to look at. The higher you go in the tower the better for the views. The restaurant is nice and the food while limited is enjoyable. ( boil the kettle ) Westerners love to have their Tea / Coffee boiling hot. A complimentary Tuc Tuc is available to take you to the top of the road to where you can get to anywhere in the city. There is a 24 hour supermarket a little way up the road where you can get everything you would need, it also has a restaurant which we would advise you to skip, the staff are ignorant and not at all helpful. Haggle with the Taxi Drivers every time they will overcharge you if they think they can get away with it. The road down to the Somerset is narrow and a little dark at night which can be a little intimidating having said that we never felt in any danger at any time. There are kiddies and adults swimming pools in the Summer set lake although the adults pool was closed for renovation while we stayed there it would have been nice to have been able to go for a swim but at the end of the day it was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: Look for an Apartment high up with a balcony to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear James L,

Pertaining to the tea & coffee serve we have highlighted your feedback to our F&B operator and reiterated the need to improve. My team and I will continue to monitor their performance and service delivery. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused you during your stay.

We will continue in our improvement efforts to deliver excellent service to our residents and look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a lovely 3-bedroom apartment on the 26th floor, with view of the Lake. The apartment was great for size and comfort. The living room was very large and airy, though the two smaller bedrooms could have been larger. Our plan included breakfast at the restaurant, which was not bad at all. Our only problem was that the protest zone was near Asoke Metro station, which meant that getting taxis was a problem especially at night, and we were dependent on the Metro, that is a good 10 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment facing the Lake, on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swati_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Swati_55,

Many thanks for your recent complimenting for our residence & facilities. We are now looking forward to welcome you back at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong West New Town, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Apt is not bad for the size and comfort however due to protest zone around the affect zone. It kind of affect our travel arrangement. It kind of far from Asoke station to the hotel as tuk tuk can't stop us at Asoke station. 2nd bedroom don't have TV as stated in fact sheet. Please remove certain information if not right. Quiet at night easy to sleep in. Housekeeping and Front office staffs are friendly and accede to our late checkout request. Appreciate it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Benny G,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad to hear compliments of our staff members at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok.

Pertaining to your observation on Television in the second bedroom, our marketing team have attending to this matter and throughly check all collaterals.

Once again, we thank you very much for making us one of your preferred accommodation choices. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GANGTOK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights it is a good property, we booked a 3bhk apartment, but i was bit disappointed with that, in an apartment only one room was good and other was just ok, may i will suggest to book seperate rooms instead of apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickymatrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear vickymatrix,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding Somerset Lake Point Bangkok.

I would like to apologise for any discrepancies during your stay. We always do our best to meet the expectations of all our residents, but in this instance, we failed to meet your expectations. Please be assured that we are always seeking to satisfy the expectations of our residents. For this reason, Somerset Lake Point Bangkok is undergoing renovation program.

I hope that we will have another opportunity to make your stay experience a better one in the future. We look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Staying with friends in this apartment is really value for money to use and we have 7 pax all together.Somerset Lake Point offers free tuk-tuk drive to the main road (note there is still 2-3 min walk to Asoke BTS/Sukhumvit MRT) The hotel location is slightly further in Asoke BTS/Sukhumvit MRT (10mins walk) is kinda tiring to walk back to hotel during the night time. There are less choice in their breakfast buffet. Other than that the area have few korean and japanese restaurant. Although they are currently on renovation but it did not affect any of use and the hotel area are very clean. We are happy to stay with Somerset Lake Point and they offer a good service!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joysan1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear joysan1214,

We are delighted to note that our facilities and services met your expectation. We will certainly convey your impression to our staff concerned. Your positive feedback will certainly encourage everyone to go the extra mile in serving our residents better.

Pertaining to the breakfast we have highlighted your feedback to our F&B operator and reiterated the need to improve breakfast quality and variety, as well as, service standards. My team and I will continue to monitor their performance and service delivery.

We trust, you had a pleasant trip home and look forward to have another opportunity of welcoming you back to Somerset Lake Point Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights starting on the 1st January ,sorry it was not longer.Everything about this property was perfect.check in was quick and efficient , luggage was brought to the room for us,staff were always on hand,nothing was too much for them.breakfast was as you would expect ,buffet style with an omelette station, my biggest crib was they don't know how to boil water,coffee and tea was lukewarm not boiling .we had a 3 bed appartment which was very spacious with washing machine and tumble dryer .we requested more tea bags and they arrived within minutes.View from room was overlooking a lake and a park . Lovely to watch at night time.The pool and kids play area was perfect for the little ones, The outside pool was closed due to renovations a bit disappointing but not the end of the world.The location was great with complementary tuc tuc .There is a shopping centre and sky train within walking distance, hairdresser and massage across the road ,24 hour supermarket 200 yards away.I have no negatives on this hotel and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: The higher you go the better your view.We requested room with a view and that's what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunameabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chaiya_k, Manager at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Shaunameabh,

We are happy to have met your expectations and endeavour to continually delight our residents whenever they stay with us.

Thank you for your valued patronage. From all of us at Somerset Lake Point Bangkok, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Chaiya Kochchawong
Assistant Residence Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Legacy Suites Sukhumvit by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Grand Swiss Sukhumvit 11 by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
Maitria Hotel Sukhumvit 18 - A Chatrium Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Somerset Park Suanplu
Somerset Park Suanplu
#130 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
Adelphi Suites Bangkok
#59 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Lake Point Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Lake Point Bangkok

Property: Somerset Lake Point Bangkok
Address: 41 Sukhumvit Soi 16, Sukhumvit Road | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#119 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#128 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Lake Point Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Bangkok’s Central Business District as you live in style by the lake view, a getaway at Somerset Lake Point will be sure to rejuvenate you. A selection of popular shopping complexes and fine restaurants await you, just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Ctrip TA so you can book your Somerset Lake Point Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Lake Point Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing