We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great style - shame about the substance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia
Ranked #426 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Great style - shame about the substance”
Reviewed 29 March 2009

The Eugenia has the potential to be a really special boutique hotel. Indeed if style were the only criterion I'd give it six stars. But good hotel-keeping is about detail and here, alas, the Eugenia falls.

The vintage cars they use for airport pickups are a case in point. They look fabulous, but the interiors of the two cars we tried both smelt strongly of petrol - one of them so strongly that it argued a leaking fuel line. Half an hour in this atmosphere and you feel as though you've taken up glue-sniffing.

The antique fittings are another example: somebody had a wonderful time tracking down antique electric switches and sockets - but shouldn't they have checked that they all still worked? More seriously, at 4 am one morning the antique fitting on our antique bathroom door decided to lock us out - and this at a moment when my wife was suffering from mild food poisoning, with its predictable results... Our phone calls to the front desk went unanswered, and it was not until 6am that we were able to find help, my wife having spent the intervening time roaming the corridors to find a bathroom with a functioning lock. Granted, we were then moved swiftly to another room but surely a hotel charging this much should have all-night cover in case of emergency?

It's all a real shame. When things went well, this was a lovely place to stay. The staff were individually pleasant and helpful. But something is wrong somewhere. We were left feeling that what the Eugenia needs is a good Swiss-trained manager to lick it into shape - at which point it might achieve its full potential.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    42
    14
    11
    10
See reviews for
15
91
20
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2009

WE stayed at the Eugenia for two nights at the conclusion of our recent trip to Bangkok and, I have to say, it came as a refreshing change to the slick-yet-soulless, hi-rise five-star we had been in previously.

Charmingly decorated and with just 12 suite-rooms it's in a quiet residential area just 10 mins walk from one of Bangkok's busiest intersections, and has its own tuk-tuk to take residents to the nearest skytrain/MTR station.It's stuffed with antiques and designed in Colonial style with - unusually - a swimming pool. The staff are utterly charming, friendly and helpful. The beds, swathed in expensive linen, are a joy.

There are minus points: rooms at the front suffer from early-morning street noise and I found it quite impossible to stop the shower above the old-style metal bath tub from overflowing: flooding the bathroom three or four times a day.

It's romantic, welcoming and offers a real sense of the Far East. If you want more from a hotel than the corporate chains can provide then I would not hesitate to recommend the Eugenia.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2009

service is up to standard but a bit lack of heart, people are just performing their professions rather than serving you from their hearts.
fancy decors but not particular impressive. What's really annoying is those corridor lights and come into room even when i shut the door firmly.

after all, it's a good try.. no harm trying but i think i'll probably wont consider going back... been there, done that :)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juno613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
386 reviews
377 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 699 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2008

was in Bangkok last weekend to meet up with friends that stayed at the corporate hotels (Hyatt erawan & Sheraton)

was quite happy to be at the Eugenia hotel instead, cute charming photogenic hotel, good service, decent breakfasts (didn't eat other meals here) close by everything else (I still don't know Bangkok that well but it took me only a 10 min cab ride to meet up with friends at different spots)

definitely print out a hotel map & bring it with you (cab drivers can't figure out where it is, I had to call the hotel twice to have them help the cab driver find the place)

also would recommend taking the hotel car pick up service, it's taking longer than usual to get through immigration & this time by the time I made it through immigration the public cab line was sooooo long ended up taking an expensive airport taxi (a mercedes) instead

plus Bangkok cab drivers have a tendency to either take you on the scenic route (I go there 6 times a year, so know it when taken for a ride) or have no change..... so that you'll just tip big

would come back to the Eugenia anytime, it felt like staying at a rich friend's house vs. the usual bland corporate hotels

  • Liked — unique & charming
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2008

A unique and superb small hotel. We got picked up in the hotel's Daimler limo which is obviously more expensive than a taxi but a different experience. The hotel itself is new construction but amazingly seems like it is 100 years old but just renovated extremely well - beautiful old wood flooring, great combination of antiques and reproductions in the design. Excellent and personal service. The location leaves a bit to be desired since you it's somewhat of a hike to get to the metro (the hotel's tuk tuk will take you) and same to get back, which if in the evening more or less requires a taxi. Also not sure that there are as many quality real deal thai restaurants in the area.....the hotel's restaurant looks nice but has an asian fusion menu which is relies more on japanese cuisine if anything - tried some of the thai dishes and was not very impressived (extremely, extremely mediocre rice dish labeled as "The Eugenia Specialty" and a good Tom Yang Goong). Overall though I wouldn't eat at my hotel much no matter where I stayed in Bangkok - this hotel should be recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nontaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

stayed there 3 times since 2 years ago - simply can't resist this little gem!
Nobody can be unmoved by the sheer style of the rooms: the romantic drawing room, cocktail bar etc. But do try their own dinner room, food is divine (better than many other 'famous' BK outlets).
also the service, especially with the lady manager (whom I believe is related to the owner) is supremely personal, discreet and stylish, exactly like the hotel itself.
in fact the hotel itself is so fantastic that I always had to tear myself away from it. One day, all the hotels will be like this..............

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

I was recommended this hotel by a friend in the interior design industry who'd stayed there on business. As I was also a single traveller I thought I'd take up the recommendation and I'm so glad I did. A trip back in time - picked up from the airport in vintage Mercedes began the experience, the hotel was charming old colonial, tiled floors, dark woods, cool low lit library and leafy swimming pool. Tastefully decorated with overstuffed couches, endless bookshelves with what looked like first edition books, and my room was like something out of an old movie - just perfect for the 3 or so days before heading down to the islands. I hardly left the hotel, they have complimentary lap tops and wifi throughout. The rooms are huge and cool, the bathrooms with antique copper bathtubs are lovely and the attention to detail with the amenities is worth mentioning. It was not inexpensive, but I knew I'd be spending the whole time there so it was worth it.

  • Liked — The old world charm, like an old English movie set
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LargeMargeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Praya Palazzo
#254 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#3 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ad Lib
Ad Lib
#58 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#152 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Sukhumvit
Kingston Suites
Kingston Suites
#306 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia

Property: Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia
Address: 267 Soi Sukhumvit 31 | Klongton Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#128 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Charming Embodiment of Fine Living" " The Eugenia ", an old world style architectural beauty, is embodied in a late 19th century colonial-style house, charmingly decorated and tastefully furnished by its owner in the heart of down town Bangkok for travellers with refined taste who seek to enjoy more than a touch of the Fabled East.Each of the 12-suites of The Eugenia is appointed with antique furniture and fittings. The four-posted beds, settees, dressers and desks in the suites are of various vintage as are light switches and light fittings; they bring you back perhaps eighty or a hundred years, or more. The period decoration even extends to the bathtubs that were made of hand - beaten copper and aluminium-alloy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eugenia Hotel Bangkok
Eugenia Bangkok
Eugenia Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing