We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great on the surface, but with little substance if you stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia
Ranked #484 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 19 September 2009

On arrival at The Eugenia you are quickly hurried into a charming guest bar from yesteryear for a welcome drink whilst they prolong the checking in process. The restaurant and ajoining bar were buzzing with life giving a great impression. But then you were taken to your room! Having booked the Eugenia Suite we would have anticipated to be in one of the better rooms, however what you get is a dark, drab, lifeless and shabby room. Marketing would love to spin the Eugenia as a 'boutique' hotel full of 'personal antiques', but having stayed in genuine boutique hotels it is plainly obvious that the room was put together by someone with no eye for furnishings. 2nd hand does not equal antique. Furnishings hanging off the wall, all light switches are labelled with yellow Dymo tape, messages are presented to you in tatty photocopied forms.

The service is also unfortunately amateurish and run from a ill-equpped and poorly organised reception desk. It is quality and not just your quantity of employees that provide a service.

All that said, the public areas are lovely and a welcome departure from your Orientals, Intercontinentals, Westins etc, so our advice would be, come to the restaurant, come for a drink and enjoy those areas, but retreat to one of the many other fine hotels in Bangkok rather than reward this 'emperors new clothes' hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2009

We loved this place. Amazing reception and welcome in a most elegant and charming building in the heart of sukhumvit. The collectables and furnishings all around this place are fantastic, hours of interest. A beautiful pool in suprisingly peaceful settings, and a decent depth for laps (althoug honly 12m lengths). Free international phone calls, internet and soft drinks all add to the comfort. The breakfast was amazing, however we think some people might not like the limited choice, but give me the freshly made eggs benedict anyday over a buffet breakfast. We had a problem with a long delay for some room service then the food being served was cold, but staff were in excellent in discounting this without question and apologising. Overall we cannot understand how anyone cannot be wowed to stay in such a place and not feel special sleeping in these rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cosmicmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

Stayed over New Years eve with a group of friends. We had all but two rooms in the hotel. Food quality was excellent and I would recommend peopl to go there for the food. They also make great martinis and cocktails although they are expensive.

Owner lives on premises so staff are constantly undeer scruntiny which is a shame because it could be a fun hotel otherwise. The staff are excellent.

Swimming pool is more of a pond, no sun and very short. Rooms are okay. No stairs so if you're upstairs then you need to walk up two/three flights of stairs.

There's better value out there if you want a pool to lounge around in and modern amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skanji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

The Eugenia has the potential to be a really special boutique hotel. Indeed if style were the only criterion I'd give it six stars. But good hotel-keeping is about detail and here, alas, the Eugenia falls.

The vintage cars they use for airport pickups are a case in point. They look fabulous, but the interiors of the two cars we tried both smelt strongly of petrol - one of them so strongly that it argued a leaking fuel line. Half an hour in this atmosphere and you feel as though you've taken up glue-sniffing.

The antique fittings are another example: somebody had a wonderful time tracking down antique electric switches and sockets - but shouldn't they have checked that they all still worked? More seriously, at 4 am one morning the antique fitting on our antique bathroom door decided to lock us out - and this at a moment when my wife was suffering from mild food poisoning, with its predictable results... Our phone calls to the front desk went unanswered, and it was not until 6am that we were able to find help, my wife having spent the intervening time roaming the corridors to find a bathroom with a functioning lock. Granted, we were then moved swiftly to another room but surely a hotel charging this much should have all-night cover in case of emergency?

It's all a real shame. When things went well, this was a lovely place to stay. The staff were individually pleasant and helpful. But something is wrong somewhere. We were left feeling that what the Eugenia needs is a good Swiss-trained manager to lick it into shape - at which point it might achieve its full potential.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

WE stayed at the Eugenia for two nights at the conclusion of our recent trip to Bangkok and, I have to say, it came as a refreshing change to the slick-yet-soulless, hi-rise five-star we had been in previously.

Charmingly decorated and with just 12 suite-rooms it's in a quiet residential area just 10 mins walk from one of Bangkok's busiest intersections, and has its own tuk-tuk to take residents to the nearest skytrain/MTR station.It's stuffed with antiques and designed in Colonial style with - unusually - a swimming pool. The staff are utterly charming, friendly and helpful. The beds, swathed in expensive linen, are a joy.

There are minus points: rooms at the front suffer from early-morning street noise and I found it quite impossible to stop the shower above the old-style metal bath tub from overflowing: flooding the bathroom three or four times a day.

It's romantic, welcoming and offers a real sense of the Far East. If you want more from a hotel than the corporate chains can provide then I would not hesitate to recommend the Eugenia.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrahamCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

service is up to standard but a bit lack of heart, people are just performing their professions rather than serving you from their hearts.
fancy decors but not particular impressive. What's really annoying is those corridor lights and come into room even when i shut the door firmly.

after all, it's a good try.. no harm trying but i think i'll probably wont consider going back... been there, done that :)

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juno613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

was in Bangkok last weekend to meet up with friends that stayed at the corporate hotels (Hyatt erawan & Sheraton)

was quite happy to be at the Eugenia hotel instead, cute charming photogenic hotel, good service, decent breakfasts (didn't eat other meals here) close by everything else (I still don't know Bangkok that well but it took me only a 10 min cab ride to meet up with friends at different spots)

definitely print out a hotel map & bring it with you (cab drivers can't figure out where it is, I had to call the hotel twice to have them help the cab driver find the place)

also would recommend taking the hotel car pick up service, it's taking longer than usual to get through immigration & this time by the time I made it through immigration the public cab line was sooooo long ended up taking an expensive airport taxi (a mercedes) instead

plus Bangkok cab drivers have a tendency to either take you on the scenic route (I go there 6 times a year, so know it when taken for a ride) or have no change..... so that you'll just tip big

would come back to the Eugenia anytime, it felt like staying at a rich friend's house vs. the usual bland corporate hotels

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Anilegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Praya Palazzo
#281 of 894 in Bangkok
281 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Park Plaza Bangkok Soi 18
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia

Address: 267 Soi Sukhumvit 31 | Klongton Nuea, Wattana, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#133 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £112 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Charming Embodiment of Fine Living" " The Eugenia ", an old world style architectural beauty, is embodied in a late 19th century colonial-style house, charmingly decorated and tastefully furnished by its owner in the heart of down town Bangkok for travellers with refined taste who seek to enjoy more than a touch of the Fabled East.Each of the 12-suites of The Eugenia is appointed with antique furniture and fittings. The four-posted beds, settees, dressers and desks in the suites are of various vintage as are light switches and light fittings; they bring you back perhaps eighty or a hundred years, or more. The period decoration even extends to the bathtubs that were made of hand - beaten copper and aluminium-alloy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asia Herb Association Spa Auberge Eugenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eugenia Hotel Bangkok
Eugenia Bangkok
Eugenia Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing