We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Under promise - Over deliver” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Elephant Cooking School

Blue Elephant Cooking School
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Under promise - Over deliver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Took half day course. Was fun day going to market. Guide explained different foods and let us try. Then went back to restaurant. Comfortable learning environment. Chef was funny and gave good tips. Made 5 different dishes and then had them for lunch. Well worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kent f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    40
    15
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bagram, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, So so Teacher”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

You either like to teach or you don't and if you don't, best leave it. This goes double for chefs and cooking school instructors because, no question about it, being a chef and teaching how to cook are two quite different things. My cooking class at the famous Blue Elephant Royal Thai Cuisine restaurant in Bangkok was not unpleasant (with the exception of a bad experience touching my face after slicing chili peppers), but it wasn't wonderful. The good part was that the Blue Elephant restaurant and cooking school is in a wonderful, colonial era building just across from the BTS skytrain stop in Sathorn and the teaching rooms are great, a classroom with video monitors to give great views for the cooking demonstration that precedes the hands on lesson, and a cool working kitchen where students get to prepare recipes. The not so great part was an instructor ho is probably an excellent chef, but just didn't seem enthused about teaching three women how to make recipes he has made a million times. It felt like the less he had to deal with the three of us the better. The only person who showed any interest in us was the boss, Chef Nooro Somany Steppe, who popped in and had us try some items she was testing out. She surely has charisma as well as talent, but our instructor seemed to be struggling through the painful process of teaching us. Instructor issues aside, the recipes we were taught to prepare were very tasty. At the end of the class we sat in the empty dining room and ate what we had prepared. It was just two of us students and no one spoke to us or had anything to do with us once we sat down at the table with our dishes in front of us. I found this a bit off-putting. It didn't make me want to rush back for a meal at the place. Still, the class was fun, if somewhat pricey, and one of my fellow students was a pleasure to meet. It might be more fun to do this class with a group of your friends and to see if you can get more time with Chef Somany Steppe.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No show”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

I booked the cooking school by email in early December for 14th January. As they gave me a confirmation number on the email I thought it would be fine. I did however email them 4 times prior to turning up with absolutely no response.
When we did turn up at a cost of A$40 by taxi we were told by the Manager that they did not have our booking and we couldn't participate in the class. When I showed him our email he said he would investigate what went wrong but to date absolutely no feed back. When we complained that it would then cost another A$40 to catch a taxi back to our hotel there was no offer of any compensation, just a very weak apology. With all the cooking schools in Thailand I would definitely look at somewhere else unless you have triple checked your booking.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueElephant_Bangkok, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Elephant Cooking School, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are very sorry to learn that you could not participate at our Cooking Class. Unfortunately we are still not able to find any e-mail or reservation from your side and we could not track any record of refused customer on February 14th.

May I kindly invite you to send us a copy of the confirmation you received, your full name and reservation code if any at this e-mail address: andrea@blueelephant.com

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Andrea Bressi
Guest Relations Executive
Blue Elephant Cooking School & Restaurant Bangkok
andrea@blueelephant.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Thailand Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Aside from it taking over an hour to get there from the Best Western by the airport AND it taking almost another hour to wave down a taxi to take us back (not the schools fault of course) everything was WONDERFUL! Great instructors, facilities and food! Highly recommend!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tessrosern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My 13 year old son and I attended the morning session. Our guide and chef were both knowledgeable and entertaining. We made four dishes that were divine and received a beautiful apron and certificates. Highly recommend them. Chef gave us so many tips. Was worth every cent and more.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Elephant Cooking School also viewed

 

Been to Blue Elephant Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing