We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bulgari garden suites suit me”
Review of Babylon Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babylon Bangkok
Ranked #85 of 643 Bangkok B&B and Inns
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Bulgari garden suites suit me”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

What an excellent service and level of facilities provided in the garden suites of this very popular asian Gay Sauna and B&B. The barrack rooms with shared toilets have a good level as well, but the garden suites are just over all the expactations at that price level!
10 000 Bahts total per week for two people in the garden suite including two breakfasts and two free sauna tickets daily.
This was our third visit in the same facility and the service is always in the very high level. Helpful and smiling staff, clean and high level facilities (no pests, no smells) and safe environment with the most beautiful gardens I´ve ever visited. (no wonder, because there are 40 gardeners working among the total 120 Babylon staff).
Babylon food is also worth a kind word, but in generally the food around Bangkok is good and moderately priced (sometimes almost free!)
When visiting the Babylon B&B, please ask Mr Sak a short tour in the facility and in the garden.
And do take into account that the hotel price is not including any sexual act with the staff. Please do respect those Thai people. Not all the people in Thailand are living for a prostitution, even if they give you their best smiles!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    98
    44
    29
    29
See reviews for
Families
0
112
127
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Martin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

As a first base to discover Thailand as a gay couple, we choose Babylon and do not regret it at all. We selected one of the Bulgari Garden suite, as we love gardens, and could enjoy the private entrance, the orchids patio/nursery, and the views on the large wonderful garden of the owner (unfortunately these gardens are private, as garden lovers we would have loved to walk there every day but the guard was very strict!).
The room was excellent, no noise, all comfort, air cond, wifi, nice original pieces of art, and the entrance spacious lobby catering for only 4 rooms-suites has always some biscuits or tea and coffee available.
Breakfast on the 6th floor of the main building was excellent, eggs the way you like, local soup if you want, and the regular bread, jam etc.
We used the local amenities every day after our 'tourist' visits in Bangkok, ie the sauna, large pool and sexy bar tenders, and the restaurant which offers a large choice of good food, wine, desserts, the menu changes regularly.
It is very easy to get a taxi from the entrance of Babylon, and for 40 or 60 THB ie less than two dollars, you can get to the main Skytrain station (and gay area) of Silom, from where it is very easy to go anywhere in Bangkok.
As owner of an exclusively gay guesthouse in the Caribbean (Villa Rainbow in St Martin), I can say that Babylon fulfills the gay traveller needs with high standards. If you want company, either guests or local guys, it is very easy to communicate with all, and if you want your privacy you will not be bothered. We were there in low season, so never had the feeling of too many people in the pool etc. We always had lounge chairs, and space. Staff is very attentive and helpful, either by the pool, by the rooms, at breakfast, or at front desk and lobby.
We recommend it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Babylon Bed & Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay, with private tropical gardens, private entrance, and good security. The rooms are clean and spacious, with a walk in robe, safe, mini bar and flat screen TV, a separate large shower and toilet. We stayed on the ground floor, so had a door that opened into a garden area patio. The airconditioning was perfect.

Breakfast is included, served buffet style on the 6th floor of the main building. It is generous and fresh. Free wifi works well through the whole compound area. There are 3 PCs at the reception area for those without their own laptop or ipad.

The reception staff speak quite good English, and the arrangements we made for tours, taxis and airport pickup were all precisely as we requested.

The swimming pool is surrounded by tropical trees and plants, overlooked by the gym, restaurant and a cafe. Meals are very reasonable. There is a pool side bar as well as pool side service by the life guards. Access to the pool, sauna and gym is included, as often as one wishes to go from 10.30am.

The location is a good 15 minutes walk to Lumpini MRT station. However, there are taxis pretty much all the time waiting in the street outside Babylon. The Silom area is around 50 Baht one way (less than $2). Our stay was for 7 days, which was both restful and enjoyable. A green oasis.

Room Tip: Stay at the B&B it is quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glendaloughbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We stayed here over the weekend with friends from Bangkok. It's a hotel spa and admits paying day guests. We were very shocked when one of our friends was attacked by a local moneyboy with a metal bar by the pool area. The staff did nothing to stop the crazed guy and he was allowed to run around trying to attack with this weapon. Even after the manager finaly came this dangerous guy was allowed to stay!!! The bar was taken from the gym and if it had hit somene could have killed them! Babylon really isnt a safe place! And the managers really do not seem to care about the safety of the customers. We complained again later to staff but they just said the attacker was a regular and a friend of the owners so i guess that makes it ok!!

On the other aspects of this place the steam room smelled to high heaven of a bad odor! The restaurant served all of us cold food with one pork dish being uncooked! There is very bad service here and very poor management.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! Simple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank Roughbstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Here is our scenerio and we will let you decide: We got a coupon from a previous stay for 50% off suite rooms for our next stay. Upon check in, we gave the receptionist the coupon and he verified that 50% coupon is eligible for this stay ( WITHOUT DAY OF THE WEEK RESTRICTION) and he stapled this coupon to our registration that we filled out. Upon checkout, we were notified by checkout staff that our coupon was not valid since the coupon states only for Monday through Thursday and our stay was from Friday to Monday. We asked for the orginal coupon that was stapled to the registration, the receptionist told us that the paper was locked up in the "business office " and it was closed (on a Tuesday at 11AM). He informed us that we have to pay full price for our entire stay. After going back and forth for an hour, he offered one night discount and the rest of the nights were full price. He would not let us see the original coupon with the registration. WOW, it seems like a shaddy business to me!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank u782037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Positive review :
- Rooms in the small Thaî house (just next to the entrance) are splendid ! You can't find such nicest rooms in the other hotels in Bangkok
- Breakfast is delicious and hearty
- Some members of the staff are very kind and honest

Alternate review :
- It is a place for persons looking for sex => don't go if you aren't in that mood, but go if you are, because you won't stay alone for a long time
- The swimming pool is overcrowded (accessible by non-residents), which can be a positive review for the cruising guys
- Location isn't perfect for tourists who want to discover the city (Palais Royal...), but is ok for the ones who like to go to the gay areas

At last, as we didn't feel well in such an ambience, when we explained that we wanted to shorten our stay, the staff spontaneously offered us to refund the unused night (and they really did it !).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank OMNIPADMEOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

First off, let me just say that I'm an uptight gay man, and so I wouldn't normally check into Babylon. However, I was travelling with friends that wanted to stay here for the sauna facilities and so I agreed. Hey I'm not a closet case, just what might be referred to as a "straight gay man" by Carrie and the girls. So my review is for any others like me that have "issues".

The pros:
1. The facilities are very clean.
2. The room has a air-conditoning (though it's a tad noisy).
3. The view from our room on the fifth floor was fantastic.
4. The breafast (included) on the sixth floor was good, and the food offered was decent.

The cons:
1. The barrack rooms are small with no TV, no bathroom, and only one key (even though they have two beds).
2. The shared bathroom on each floor was a nuisance every time I wanted to take a leak or brush my teeth. Europeans will not be bothered by this but North Americans may find it a pain. I also disliked having cleaning women hanging about the toilet area (presumably ready to clean up whatever hits the floor).
3. If you want to lounge by the pool or eat at the restaurant, you have to check into the sauna (free) and wade through semi-clad men draped everywhere. I mean, I'm not averse to naked men, but sometimes you just want to enjoy a snack with your clothes on. And if you want to go for a swim, be prepared to also have scores of indolent men watching you. I personally hate being the centre of attention.
4. The pool area is very popular, but there just aren't enough deck chairs.
5. There really isn't anything interesting to see or do near the hotel. The closest touristy thing is a 20-30 min walk along busy streets to the Silom night market.
6. The staff were either friendly in that giddy gayboi style or seriously aloof (we all know the routines), but what was frustrating was their lack of suggestions on what a visitor might like to do while in Bangkok. Some of us are here for more than giggles in the sauna.

In summary, this is a basic, over-priced hotel with rooms and a sauna that is completely separate. The sauna has the facilities (pool, restauant) that a hotel guest may wish to use, but after a few tries, I simply avoided the sauna. The actual hotel corridors are "safe" and I only met friendly men that were usually clothed. I was open to visiting Babylon, but I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank RoamingRowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#387 of 858 in Bangkok
281 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#187 of 858 in Bangkok
867 reviews
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#224 of 858 in Bangkok
1,212 reviews
Silom
BBB Inn
BBB Inn
#337 of 643 in Bangkok
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Bangkok

Property: Babylon Bangkok
Address: 34 Soi Nandha, South Sathon RoadSoi 1, 10120, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 643 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Babylon Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Babylon Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babylon Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing