We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of pleasure”
Review of Babylon Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babylon Bangkok
Ranked #84 of 632 Bangkok B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An oasis of pleasure”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Beautiful decor and excellent facilities, including the gay sauna, gym, swimming pool, bar, and restaurant. Close to the centre, a five minute taxi or motorbike ride will take you to Soi 2 and 4, where the gay bars and clubs are located.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank TeeGeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    94
    44
    29
    29
See reviews for
Families
0
112
123
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Very BASIC room. Two single beds, a desk, 2 safes (one didn't work and the other had a keypad that didn't seem to like me, so I never used it). No fridge or water supplied like other hotels. The Aircon worked well.
Communal shower for the floor , which is opposite the laundry, (bit disturbing to come out of the shower and have a female cleaning up the area!)
The only lift of the hotel lift travels to the 6th floor, and you then have to carry your bags to the other floors, via steps.
For the price, better to find a place nearby that would be about half the price, even if you do get a free pass to the Spa.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank kevg_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The word "iconic" is overused these days, but surely it can safely apply to the world-famous Babylon sauna/B&B in Bangkok. Now in its 25th year, Babylon is undoubtedly the best-known gay venue in Asia and perhaps among the most famous in the world. But what is less known is that Babylon is as well-suited to relaxing getaways as erotic adventures. Its lush garden setting gives Babylon an oasis quality even as bustling Bangkok hums and roars around it. It's barracks and suites are uniquely appointed in the unmistakable Babylon-aesthetic style, as well as being comfortable and surprisingly quiet. Breakfast time rarely fails to produce interesting and unexpected connections with travelers from around the world, and the food and service are of a great standard. Overall, the staff are friendly and competent (most of them are not gay, but it is the kind of place where sexual orientation barely warrants mentioning). The sauna itself is huge and clean (by international standards), and includes multiple steam rooms, a spa pool, an outdoor bar, as well as abundance of private rooms and showers. There is also a pool, gym and a second bar/service area in the section of the venue that comes to life in daylight hours.

The restaurant on the first floor is something of a hidden gem, serving an eclectic fusion cuisine ideally suited to the international crowd that congregates at Babylon. The food is well-priced and surprising in both quality and variety.

The review that mentions a lack of security and an alleged incident involving a money-boy is utterly incompatible with my experiences there over several visits. It has all the hallmarks of fiction. Babylon is unfailingly safe and moneyboy-free. You will be well looked after.

Don't be put off by the seedy quality of its counterparts abroad. Babylon is a unique and uniquely welcoming place.

Room Tip: Monthly and weekly rates available, and the website offers promotions from time to time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilQuin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

My only complaint is that on my first visit,I go lost in the sauna etc areas. I had to ask where the particular areas were. I never new they had a swimming pool on my first visit. More signs should be displayed after you leave the changing rooms pointing you to the different places. After finding areas I had a good time. Did not stay in the hotel. My hotel was in walking distance and only 400bts a night with all facilities. Ray from New Zealand.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

What an excellent service and level of facilities provided in the garden suites of this very popular asian Gay Sauna and B&B. The barrack rooms with shared toilets have a good level as well, but the garden suites are just over all the expactations at that price level!
10 000 Bahts total per week for two people in the garden suite including two breakfasts and two free sauna tickets daily.
This was our third visit in the same facility and the service is always in the very high level. Helpful and smiling staff, clean and high level facilities (no pests, no smells) and safe environment with the most beautiful gardens I´ve ever visited. (no wonder, because there are 40 gardeners working among the total 120 Babylon staff).
Babylon food is also worth a kind word, but in generally the food around Bangkok is good and moderately priced (sometimes almost free!)
When visiting the Babylon B&B, please ask Mr Sak a short tour in the facility and in the garden.
And do take into account that the hotel price is not including any sexual act with the staff. Please do respect those Thai people. Not all the people in Thailand are living for a prostitution, even if they give you their best smiles!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelsinkiJom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

As a first base to discover Thailand as a gay couple, we choose Babylon and do not regret it at all. We selected one of the Bulgari Garden suite, as we love gardens, and could enjoy the private entrance, the orchids patio/nursery, and the views on the large wonderful garden of the owner (unfortunately these gardens are private, as garden lovers we would have loved to walk there every day but the guard was very strict!).
The room was excellent, no noise, all comfort, air cond, wifi, nice original pieces of art, and the entrance spacious lobby catering for only 4 rooms-suites has always some biscuits or tea and coffee available.
Breakfast on the 6th floor of the main building was excellent, eggs the way you like, local soup if you want, and the regular bread, jam etc.
We used the local amenities every day after our 'tourist' visits in Bangkok, ie the sauna, large pool and sexy bar tenders, and the restaurant which offers a large choice of good food, wine, desserts, the menu changes regularly.
It is very easy to get a taxi from the entrance of Babylon, and for 40 or 60 THB ie less than two dollars, you can get to the main Skytrain station (and gay area) of Silom, from where it is very easy to go anywhere in Bangkok.
As owner of an exclusively gay guesthouse in the Caribbean (Villa Rainbow in St Martin), I can say that Babylon fulfills the gay traveller needs with high standards. If you want company, either guests or local guys, it is very easy to communicate with all, and if you want your privacy you will not be bothered. We were there in low season, so never had the feeling of too many people in the pool etc. We always had lounge chairs, and space. Staff is very attentive and helpful, either by the pool, by the rooms, at breakfast, or at front desk and lobby.
We recommend it with no hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Babylon Bed & Breakfast is a wonderful place to stay, with private tropical gardens, private entrance, and good security. The rooms are clean and spacious, with a walk in robe, safe, mini bar and flat screen TV, a separate large shower and toilet. We stayed on the ground floor, so had a door that opened into a garden area patio. The airconditioning was perfect.

Breakfast is included, served buffet style on the 6th floor of the main building. It is generous and fresh. Free wifi works well through the whole compound area. There are 3 PCs at the reception area for those without their own laptop or ipad.

The reception staff speak quite good English, and the arrangements we made for tours, taxis and airport pickup were all precisely as we requested.

The swimming pool is surrounded by tropical trees and plants, overlooked by the gym, restaurant and a cafe. Meals are very reasonable. There is a pool side bar as well as pool side service by the life guards. Access to the pool, sauna and gym is included, as often as one wishes to go from 10.30am.

The location is a good 15 minutes walk to Lumpini MRT station. However, there are taxis pretty much all the time waiting in the street outside Babylon. The Silom area is around 50 Baht one way (less than $2). Our stay was for 7 days, which was both restful and enjoyable. A green oasis.

Room Tip: Stay at the B&B it is quiet and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glendaloughbnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#381 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#224 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
#264 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Silom
The Siam Heritage
The Siam Heritage
#187 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Bangkok

Property: Babylon Bangkok
Address: 34 Soi Nandha, South Sathon RoadSoi 1, 10120, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 632 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Babylon Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Babylon Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Babylon Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing