We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvements, but still the best option in BKK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Babylon Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Babylon Bangkok
Ranked #88 of 606 Bangkok B&B and Inns
VANCOUVER
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs improvements, but still the best option in BKK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2010

We have stayed here every year over the course of more than 8 years. We like it. You must have a certain set of mind and preparation to appreciate this place however, because there are obvious down sides which have not been improved over the years. I will talk about this later.

Babylon BB and suites still carry the status for high taste level and quality for their architecture, interior decorations, and displayed art. Yes, Barrack is aged, but still holds the original quality and minimalist design spirit. You realize that none of the wall or floor parts are even chipped after so many years. This place is built solid. New Bvlgari garden suites are fabulous. Here you can see how much the owner really cares for the quality and artistic value. Splendid original art and artifacts are displayed and melded into the interior architecture.

I must also congratulate them for serving high quality fresh home made cooking, using in house baked breads and pastries, home made rice noodles and sauces. Their fried rice noodle is the best in the world. Of course you may not expect the same standard for non Thai food. But still most of their creative dishes served here are superior or comparable to high end restaurants in town.

Babylon BB and Suites are "clean" as you see Thai ladies cleaning the place all the time. I never smelled sewage or toilet as you might expect in south Asia. Only smelly city supplied water is unavoidable in Bangkok. You might have heard that there were incidents in the past of fumigating the entire floor due to mice infestation. This never happened whenever we were there. We were told that this was due to the food left in the guest rooms. The building is secure, but quite airy to outdoors.

We appreciate our breakfast time in the lounge as we meet interesting people every time not to mention the breakfast is very good. Cooks and servers are quite charming and make us smile for the start of the day.

The location is fine depending on what you want to do. It is quiet. Silom is taxi distance for a little over $1. So is Paragon and other department stores. Not much happening near by except Lumphini park and night market.

As mentioned earlier, here are some facts you have to be prepared for. Most employees speak and understand English poorly, you have to be patient and be extra cautious about everything you have to communicate. They do make mistakes as well for billings, and other paper works. Just make sure the numbers make sense to you. Mind you however over billing happened only once in 8 some years and was corrected before the we got home. I used to stay in 5 star hotels in Asia and experienced the same problems there as well including theft.

I would not ask for airport pick up as it only adds complication to them. I have never asked for pick up and always take metered taxi from downstairs of Suvarnabhumi airport where you are supposed to take if you are arriving BKK internationally. It is easier and safer than trying to find the driver. Print out the map from the website before hand,

Morning calls(manually done) were never failed. We never missed our flights because of it. On the contrary they do not have voice mail. Our friends could never be able to leave messages even with live person.

There is a theft problem from in guest rooms. Never use the safe as it can be opened by removing the label on the door. Make sure you always know where your valuables are. We were victims once, and were refunded by the hotel. It was a large sum of cash. We also heard there were more victims prior to us. Most employee are of course very helpful, kind, and honest just like we are. A very very few are not unfortunately who take only part of your cash. There may be other schemes to steal things without you noticing for a while. So be aware. Also we heard from a separate source, a manager who runs 5 star hotel in UK, that this could happen at any class of hotel.

Wireless internet may not work like a charm, but I never had problem with my iphone. They used to charge for internet use, but now charge free. I respect their intentions.

The rates can be lowered especially for Barrack considering other hotel rates.

So we still like Babylon BB and Suites because it is unique and has special qualities. We will return next time and look forward to it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tenko7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    93
    43
    28
    29
See reviews for
Families
0
110
121
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

My recommendation is to check into a great hotel for the same price and then just use the spa and sauna on an as=needed basis. My partner and I rented one of the bungalow suites for a week, and although it was beautiful, I was largely disappointed. I asked ahead if there was a bathtub and if there was wireless internet service, the answer to both was an unqualified YES. However, the large and beautiful bathtub had no dedicated hot water pressure. The best we could do was partially fill the tub with lukewarm water using the shower head. This was a real problem as I live in India without a tub and look forward to vacation opportunities for a good soak. Next, the free wireless service, which came with our room, wouldn't work in the room as the signal was too weak. I was able to use the wireless if I went out into the main entrance cafe. Guests were unable to use either the pool or the gym until the sauna opened up at 10:30 am. I had paid ahead, or I would have checked out and gotten a suite at the Dusit for a similar amount of money. Overall, I would give my experience a C+, even though the room was very beautiful. The staff was friendly enough, but not particularly outstanding in any way. The northern Germans have a phrase for this "Aussen hui, drinnen pfui." It means everything looks splendid on the outside, but the inside isn't very nice. You get access to the same amenities as everyone who pays a 230 Baht (a little over $7) entrance fee, so why spend the money when you can stay somewhere sumptuous for the same money? Just come over to this very nice spa for a little R&R. Don't bother staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff_in_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Still a unique experience but the hotel is showing its age, and the attention to detail is truly lacking. Similar to the previous review, my requested airport pickup was not waiting for me upon arrival into BKK, and my room reservation was not correct (small room instead of larger suite). The amenities in the room were excellent and included a much used mosquito repellent, although the shower stall has definitely seen better days and needs a good scrub with heavy duty Ajax or other bleach. The location is quiet and in a somewhat secluded area near the Brunei and Austrian embassies, and is about a 15 walk to the Lumpini MRT station. Meal choices were few unless you wanted to eat in the Spa (and in a towel); however, the restaurant Pandanus is located down the street about 5 minutes away and is excellent (John Ratikul is the manager and he and his staff were extremely welcoming and gracious).

If you've never stayed here before and want to experience a total gay resort, I would only recommend this hotel for 1 or 2 days maximum. For the same price there are much better hotels in Bangkok.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmitsuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

Booked large room for 5 day with airport pick-up. Got there at midnite, no one to pick us up, called the hotel no answer. Was put the first night on a small room (even though I had prepaid for a large). Hotel needs guidance in Hospitality and Food Service. Mold on the shower stalls. Oh yes, they charged us twice for airport pick-up. Check your bill if you stay there.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daniel30168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

The Babylon Bangkok Hotel is simply one of the best worldwide with facilities that far outstretch any other total gay venue. Babylon is made up of several types of accommodation to suit everyone’s budget. It’s also connected to a sauna complex, swimming pool & bar and several restaurants so you never have to leave the complex. The Barracks accommodation is located on the upper levels of Babylon and offers extremely affordable, basic, clean, comfortable accommodation with share bathroom facilities. The Barracks is completely secure and not accessible to day visitors using the sauna facilities. The Barracks however, is not for me as I prefer a private bathroom, but obviously serves a purpose for the budget market. I actually stay at the Botticelli House which consists of 3 suites all opening up onto a central shared lounge area. All suites are absolutely amazingly decorated to an extremely high level. You also have full butler service and can have them organize your breakfast for you and set it up on your private balcony area. Tea / Coffee and small snacks are available all day long and replaced fresh every day. The Botticelli House is surrounded by a high wall with large gates so you’re completely private and surrounded by well maintained gardens. Whilst I was there I met up with the Owner Mr. Toc ... a gentle soul and the creator of Babylon. Mr. Toc showed me around the garden suites which have all now been newly renovated. I then left Babylon to fly to Phuket for a week and on my return I stayed a further 5 nights in the newly refurbished garden suites. These garden suites are just beautiful and very clean. Each suite opens up to a kitchen / lounge area with sliding doors to the outside gardens. The garden is extremely well maintained and provides guests with chairs / tables and sun lounges for relaxation. Mr. Toc is obviously in love with his garden and this certainly shows through with some of the most exotic plants and orchids on display.
Breakfast is served up on the 6th floor of the Babylon complex which is included in your rate. The girls will be there to greet you with a big smile every morning and to cook your fresh breakfast. Breakfast is quite extensive with tea / coffee; fresh squeezed juice, exotic fruits, cereal, toast and cooked brekky if you want it. They also supply a few local Indonesian dishes.
The sauna complex is world class and kept amazingly clean throughout. It consists of a large pool which is completely private from the outside world and surrounded by lush tropical gardens. There are plenty of sun lounges to relax and even a pool bar with attentive staff ready to take your drink orders. The complex also offers various massage, dry sauna, steam sauna, private rooms, several restaurants and very well maintain. If you’re a gym freak then you’re in luck because Babylon also has a massive gym with a hugh array of facilities which overlooks the pool area.
The location of Babylon is situated amongst the various embassies and very easy to get around. The guards or reception can order you a taxi within seconds and it's very cheap to get around. I travelled from Babylon all the way to the weekend markets and it cost me only a few dollars. You can also walk to the Limpini night markets which will take you approximately 15 minutes.
Most reception staff speaks and understands English and are extremely friendly and always willing to go out of there way for you. I would highly recommend anyone travelling to Bangkok to stay at Babylon in this truly amazing complex. Babylon is extremely affordable with suites costing as low as AUD$100 a night which includes daily breakfast, sauna complex pass and free WiFi connection.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maitairesort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

Great place for a single gay guy to stay and play. Rooms are comfortable and functional. Some reading light would be nice, but I guess they want you to interact! Corridor action late at night is an extra bonus :) Included breakie is quite good. As usual, level of sociability depends on how the individual guests want to stick together or say hi to people.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ked999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel itself is fine, but watch out for the sauna, where I and several others got massages, all of which ended before they were supposed to. The 1 hour 45 minute ended after 1 hour and 10 minutes. The 45 minute ended after 25 minutes. Make sure you receive what you buy...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank carberrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Malaysia Hotel
Malaysia Hotel
#389 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Silom
The Tarntawan Hotel Surawong Bangkok
Sathorn
Pinnacle Lumpinee Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
ibis Bangkok Sathorn
#211 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
Pantip Suites Sathorn
#259 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Sathorn
U Sathorn Bangkok
U Sathorn Bangkok
#13 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Babylon Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Babylon Bangkok

Property: Babylon Bangkok
Address: 34 Soi Nandha, South Sathon RoadSoi 1, 10120, Bangkok, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sathorn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 606 B&Bs / Inns in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Babylon Bangkok 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Also Known As:
Babylon Bangkok Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing