We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in a familylike surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bansabai Hostelling International
Ranked #502 of 1,344 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Our familiy stayed twice in this hostel, at the beginning and end of the holiday. We enjoyed it very much, especially the clean comfortable rooms, the swimming pool which was very nice for the kids. The staff took care of any annoyance what so ever.

For a reasonable price you can stay here and enjoy your holiday

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opvakantie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2010

We stayed here precisely because it was north of downtown. Our train connection to BangSue was easier as was the airport pickup. The neighborhood has some ok places to eat, but we didn't even use them that much since the room service was good. There was a little trouble ordering (even with relatively decent Thai....they would hear a foreign accent and transfer us to another place, which would do the same...but eventually we got to someone who spoke English or would speak Thai to a foreigner).
The rooms are spacious, although the second time we stayed, about 2 months later, we had a room that was smaller, but still not cramped.
When we were there, they had loads of cable TV channels, many in English. This was our main purpose, since we just wanted to relax for a few days, recover from jetlag and watch the world cup. Good, free wireless for laptop users as well.
We never used the free shuttle service, but taxis into Silom and Sathorn were pretty cheap. I think we paid somewhere in the 150-200 baht range.
Great hotel, just a little outside, but worth it. Oh, the rooftop pool and the hydroponic vegetables (really never seen anything like it) make the place special. Planning another stay when my parents stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tijax5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed here because I wanted a cheap bed (the dorm room) but good facilities. The rooms were clean and modern and the pool was excellent - best budget swimming pool in Bangkok! Nice outside area and free wi-fi. But it is so difficult to get to that you will either end up spending heaps on taxi or hours on public transport. Best if you have a car or are hanging out in that area. I believe a shuttle is included in the price of a proper room.
The garlic chicken at the restaurant was also very yummy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

When I finished pleasant supper and came back to the room, hot water of bathroom did not come. Staff come and tries to repair but could not it, so changed the room few minutes later. However substituted room’s spring of Bet was broken.
So I requested to exchange the room to front staff, but she make an excuse only with dissatisfied face. I strongly requested again, so she prepared the substituted room with bad attitude. Younger lady staff ordered almost to the old age man.
Why does not taking care herself?
Why does not check the hot water before changed the room?
Why do not consider in view point of customer?
Off cause I can recommend to somebody, if she improves the correspondence.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kohagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Very clean, organised and nicely decorated hostel. Relaxing roof terrace with great views, and little pool for cooling off. Room, and particularly restaurant prices could be lower. Would recommend Hi-Bansabai.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottHendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

all very nice Quiet area but still could make it easy to all the spots in Bangkok. All staff very nice ,, Had the unique feel of old and new. staff seem to deal with a lot of unneccessary paperwork all sorts of little paper which slowed any trqansaction down. mywife and I met for first time at your hotel and we always stay there. Maybe get a coffee machine better than those little packages of instant.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank richardmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

The service is good and very accomodating, although some of staff cannot speak well in english language. my kids likes the room especially the cold aircon, the problem is they don't have a cable tv.

we like the best is the swimming pool, the staff are very kind. but a little bit problem in communication. the location is quite far in attractions area. but it was cozy and relaxing place. the amenities we could not use especialy the gym cause that time is under renovation, the rock climbing we could not use also cause they don't have a safety equipments and they don't have play room for the kids, especially who wants stay there having childrens like me and stayed for a week in that hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 889 in Bangkok
8,623 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Silom
Trinity Silom Hotel
Trinity Silom Hotel
#194 of 889 in Bangkok
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bansabai Hostelling International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansabai Hostelling International

Address: 8 Soi Nak Niwat 53, 71 Lat Phrao Rd, Bangkok 10230, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #502 of 1,344 Speciality Lodging in Bangkok
Price Range: £14 - £19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bansabai Hostelling International 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bansabai hostel offers the definitions of utmost privacy, cleanliness especially comfort meanwhile natural greenery environment are also affordable at 'economical rates'. Modern int'l fittings with Cable TV (HBO, ESPN, etc), personal bathroom, refrigerator and air-con are included in all rooms. Surrounded by tropical verdant residential environment, quite and pollution free. A hub of various food both Local and Int'l food within walking area. Uniquely HI-Bansabai...The Nearest Hostel to Bkk Int'l Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bansabai Hostelling International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bansabai Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing