We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as I thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Ranked #273 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Not as bad as I thought”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Ok, you've read it again and again and it's true - they take a 1000 baht deposit on giving you your key - don't lose the receipt. You will have no problems getting it back as long as you don't lose the ruddy receipt!

The sign behind reception saying deposit for key is '200 baht a day' must be to alienate everyone with their fibs from the onset of your stay (I stayed 3 days). A lie is a lie.

The room was better than I thought and was clean, with good air con and TV.

Great location away from Khao San but still just a few minutes away.

Receptionists will win no awards, but they were fine. They speak little English and took loads of rubbish off people so don't blame them - a please and a thank you from me was evidently appreciated.

Swimming pool was very nice, plenty of room, but I lasted 2 minutes in that heat!

I would stay here again no problems, but I wouldn't eat at the English restaurant again (something 'Cod') as the sausages were evil and the eggs not cooked. But then the Thai's don't like to cook eggs - snotfest!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thai32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    1,601
    1,017
    304
    274
See reviews for
367
1,546
463
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Rambuttri Village Inn is a great value for money hotel in a great location in the tourist center of Bangkok. I've stayed there four or five separate times already and will continue to stay there whenever I am in Bangkok. Rooms are very clean, quiet, and have all the amenities that you will need. The roofdeck pool is also a treat and gets lots of use from the typically young crowd that stays at the hotel. Highly recommended and don't think you can do much better for the price if you want to stay in the heart of the Khao San Rd / Rambuttri area. When other tripadvisor posters are rating the hotel as a 3, they certainly aren't realistically comparing Rambuttri Village Inn to other options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronneymervis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was there for a short backpack trip with my girlfriend and all I can say that this place is very convenient for backpackers. The hotel itself is very safe and as a matter of fact, we sort of forgotten to take out the key from the door and went to sleep and woke up in the morning safe and sound from any problems. The surrounding of the hotel is filled with bars, launderettes and tour agencies that offers cheap and reliable services.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hidayat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a budget hotel in a backpacker-type location, so I didn't expect much. Even so, I was taken aback by how bad this place was. The reception staff had attitudes ranging from indifferent to hostile, both at check-in and check-out. It's the only hotel I have ever stayed (in any budget range) where the room is only cleaned and serviced if you specifically request it. Of course, nobody reception told me this, and only when I came to ask about clean towels on the second day of my stay did the receptionist point to a well-concealed sign about room cleaning (When I called reception and asked for clean towels, I was told to bring the dirty ones to the reception desk and they would exchange them. There is no internet access available in the rooms, paid or otherwise.
If you really feel a burning need to stay in the heart of one tackier tourist areas of Bangkok, and don't care at all about service, then I suppose you might not mind staying here. Otherwise, avoid it. There are better places available for the price.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

pune india
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

stayed at rambuttri the last time i was in bangkok , this place is immaculately clean and run by an all female staff save the security guards , plenty of room types to chose from and not really expensive , its close to the madness that is khao saan rd, but just distant enough to escape the noise . the staff was extremely helpful , rooms and bathrooms very clean , they do have a pool somewhere on the property the only downside i thought was the key deposit which was mandatory and that breakfast was not included , that being said they have a huge room incase u need to store luggage and charge a nominal 20 baht per bag per day

Room Tip: call in advance and make a phone booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunalshetty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I think it's a good value for money for solo travellers, considering prices in other places in this area. The staff are not particularly friendly or helpful, but they are not too bad either, and this kind of attitude is common in all budget places in Bangkok. It's rather frustrating that they don't have any internet facility at the hotel, but there is an internet cafe next door. I didn't have any noise problems, the room was clean and of reasonable size. I liked the pool on the roof, although the opening hours are not very convenient (8 a.m. - 6 p.m.)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictoriaAndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

No complaints here.
Stayed for 3 nights, the staff was helpful and efficient (some friendlier than others - but no one was rude). The room had a safe and was cleaned daily and the a/c and hot water worked perfectly.
Had no noise problems during our stay - whether this is because of where we were in the hotel or because of it being the low season (or both), I'm not sure - but we didn't have any problems like that.
The location can't be beat - quieter than Khao San Rd, but close enough to check it out/enjoy the action. Actually preferred Rambuttri, it had much of the same stuff as Khao San, but with a more chill vibe. The rooftop pool is really nice, a good way to relax/cool down during the day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brneyes24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#345 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#56 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#202 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#356 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Banglamphu
Rambuttri House
Rambuttri House
#444 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Banglamphu
D&D INN
D&D INN
#541 of 858 in Bangkok
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza

Property: Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Address: 95 Soi Ram Buttri, Chakkra Phong Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza Hotel Bangkok
Rambuttri Village Inn And Plaza
Rambuttri Village Hotel
Rambuttri Village Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing