We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Cockroaches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Ranked #279 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Three Huge cockroaches in the bathroom. I didn't check in. The hotel charged me for one night because I booked online. It was 1:00 in the afternoon, and they only had one room available, so they will definitely rent it again. So they doubled their money because of the roaches. Why clean up?

I was only staying here because I couldn't get another hotel. On a previous visit the mattress was awful. This hotel appears to be good value, but it's not.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,522 - 1,528 of 3,908 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2011

Ok, you've read it again and again and it's true - they take a 1000 baht deposit on giving you your key - don't lose the receipt. You will have no problems getting it back as long as you don't lose the ruddy receipt!

The sign behind reception saying deposit for key is '200 baht a day' must be to alienate everyone with their fibs from the onset of your stay (I stayed 3 days). A lie is a lie.

The room was better than I thought and was clean, with good air con and TV.

Great location away from Khao San but still just a few minutes away.

Receptionists will win no awards, but they were fine. They speak little English and took loads of rubbish off people so don't blame them - a please and a thank you from me was evidently appreciated.

Swimming pool was very nice, plenty of room, but I lasted 2 minutes in that heat!

I would stay here again no problems, but I wouldn't eat at the English restaurant again (something 'Cod') as the sausages were evil and the eggs not cooked. But then the Thai's don't like to cook eggs - snotfest!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thai32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Rambuttri Village Inn is a great value for money hotel in a great location in the tourist center of Bangkok. I've stayed there four or five separate times already and will continue to stay there whenever I am in Bangkok. Rooms are very clean, quiet, and have all the amenities that you will need. The roofdeck pool is also a treat and gets lots of use from the typically young crowd that stays at the hotel. Highly recommended and don't think you can do much better for the price if you want to stay in the heart of the Khao San Rd / Rambuttri area. When other tripadvisor posters are rating the hotel as a 3, they certainly aren't realistically comparing Rambuttri Village Inn to other options in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronneymervis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I was there for a short backpack trip with my girlfriend and all I can say that this place is very convenient for backpackers. The hotel itself is very safe and as a matter of fact, we sort of forgotten to take out the key from the door and went to sleep and woke up in the morning safe and sound from any problems. The surrounding of the hotel is filled with bars, launderettes and tour agencies that offers cheap and reliable services.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hidayat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

This is a budget hotel in a backpacker-type location, so I didn't expect much. Even so, I was taken aback by how bad this place was. The reception staff had attitudes ranging from indifferent to hostile, both at check-in and check-out. It's the only hotel I have ever stayed (in any budget range) where the room is only cleaned and serviced if you specifically request it. Of course, nobody reception told me this, and only when I came to ask about clean towels on the second day of my stay did the receptionist point to a well-concealed sign about room cleaning (When I called reception and asked for clean towels, I was told to bring the dirty ones to the reception desk and they would exchange them. There is no internet access available in the rooms, paid or otherwise.
If you really feel a burning need to stay in the heart of one tackier tourist areas of Bangkok, and don't care at all about service, then I suppose you might not mind staying here. Otherwise, avoid it. There are better places available for the price.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

stayed at rambuttri the last time i was in bangkok , this place is immaculately clean and run by an all female staff save the security guards , plenty of room types to chose from and not really expensive , its close to the madness that is khao saan rd, but just distant enough to escape the noise . the staff was extremely helpful , rooms and bathrooms very clean , they do have a pool somewhere on the property the only downside i thought was the key deposit which was mandatory and that breakfast was not included , that being said they have a huge room incase u need to store luggage and charge a nominal 20 baht per bag per day

Room Tip: call in advance and make a phone booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kunalshetty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I think it's a good value for money for solo travellers, considering prices in other places in this area. The staff are not particularly friendly or helpful, but they are not too bad either, and this kind of attitude is common in all budget places in Bangkok. It's rather frustrating that they don't have any internet facility at the hotel, but there is an internet cafe next door. I didn't have any noise problems, the room was clean and of reasonable size. I liked the pool on the roof, although the opening hours are not very convenient (8 a.m. - 6 p.m.)

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaAndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#355 of 885 in Bangkok
1,313 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#366 of 885 in Bangkok
1,067 reviews
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#181 of 885 in Bangkok
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#229 of 885 in Bangkok
205 reviews
Banglamphu
Lamphu Tree House
Lamphu Tree House
#146 of 885 in Bangkok
1,840 reviews
Banglamphu
ibis Styles Bangkok Khaosan Viengtai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza

Address: 95 Soi Ram Buttri, Chakkra Phong Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £20 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza Hotel Bangkok
Rambuttri Village Inn And Plaza
Rambuttri Village Hotel
Rambuttri Village Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing