We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for backpackers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza
Ranked #285 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here on a tip from a friend who had done a similar traveling route to me the year before. Just coming in from Australia having spent two months sleeping pretty rough this was 5*! The staff are typical Thai and won't take any lip from the English however I do believe it would've been cheaper not to book online and have a go haggling with them on the day as they nearly always have rooms free. The pool is nice, could do with a few more loungers but it's big and clean and wasn't overrun with kids, mainly couples on holiday. The rooms themselves are basic with AC a small TV fresh towels, wifi and a safe. not a lot else but they are cleaned daily and I never felt like I was in danger of having anything stolen. There is a great little restaurant serving thai cuisine just on the road outside and Khaosan road is literally 2 minute walk away- I would advise anyone coming into the airport to just ask a taxi driver for Khaosan road and then ask around for the hotel name when you get there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adam4991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,089)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

999 - 1,005 of 4,089 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

+

Perfect location for those wanting to be near Khao San Road, but not right in the middle of it all day (and night!). 2-3mins walk to the main drag. Soi Rambuttri (the little road the hotel is on) is far better anyway - more restaurants, street food, more chilled vibe, but everything a traveller needs. Didn't try the food at the restaurant because there were heaps of cheaper places nearby. Don't take the tuk tuks or taxis right outside - they are extremely overpriced and catch all the new guests to the hotel throughout the day. Insist on a metered taxi - it will be a quarter of any quoted fixed price fare. Roof top pool is great to cool down in :)

-
Many reviews say the staff are rude. If anything, we just found them to be busy and to the point.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Experience was terrible. First i wanted to pay with crédit card as agreed by email before and I was denied unless I pay 3% extra. Of course this was not mentioned that by email. I have no problem to pay3% extra but their tone was very aggressive and I was invited to leave the hotel if I was not happy.

I shall have done it, but we were 10 of us and rain was pouring at checkin time.
After one night 2 rooms out of 5 had bed bugs. Terrible thing..... no excuse given. Their message was that such things happens and i was not offered another room or solution.... only to check out.

Here half of our group did check out.... And the other half stayed .... Too bad for them because next day, they had some food poisoning at their restaurant....

As a conclusion, stay away...

One last thing, as the place is a big industry, rooms look like a hospital rooms except for the fact that you will always here your neighbor at any time of day and night

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank tonioto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have been to Thailand 3 times now and each time I stay at the Rambuttri. Ok so it's not the Hilton, but who can afford the Hilton when your backpacking?! Roughly 900-1200 THB per night for a standard double room.
The rooms are big enough with (mostly) working showers, beds are comfortable and rooms have A/C, the staff have always been helpful and friendly and its generally good value for money.
The best thing about this place is the location; Soi Rambuttri is just off the main road, literally a 2 minute walk from the Khao San Rd, so is quieter and less insane! The road it is on is a cool little street filled with street food vendors and make shift bars in the street. The restaurant next door called Sawadee and serves the best Thai green curry I've tasted.
I'm back in Thailand again this year and will be staying at the Rambuttri as always.

Just make sure you book in advance as it's generally busy and I've seen plenty of people turned away who didn't have bookings already.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yvettecamille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I loved our stay at this hotel. I don't agree with some reviews. The reception staff were always friendly and willing to help. The room was clean and large with a killer air con. There are two swimming pools on the premises. All rooms have a safe in. Be sure to hang the "please clean room" sign up when you leave.

The hotel is close to the Khao San district. Use Google maps to navigate your way around using public transport. It's a nice 20 minute stroll through the university to the important wats and temples.

You can book most things from the street travel agents. Typically an airport transfer is 100 Baht. You can book flights, visas (visa extensions) and shows from these guys, so don't bother doing it from home.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank larkanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We liked the location to Khao San Road; the hotel room lacked an icebox and decent television. It was a busy hotel and the bathrooms had open wall vents where you could hear everything in other rooms and the hallway. It was a noisy hotel. I thought it was too pricy for what we got. I would not stay there again. But i would stay in the area. It was within walking distance to so many fun things to do.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank africanqueende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Hotel was in an excellent location just off Khao San Road and was great for the £10 a night we paid! It was clean, there was air con and perfect if you're looking for a nice place to stay in Bangkok while you're travelling.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Rikka Inn
Rikka Inn
#361 of 894 in Bangkok
1,351 reviews
Banglamphu
Adamaz House
Adamaz House
#258 of 894 in Bangkok
223 reviews
Banglamphu
Dang Derm Hotel
Dang Derm Hotel
#365 of 894 in Bangkok
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Banglamphu
Buddy Lodge Hotel
Buddy Lodge Hotel
#178 of 894 in Bangkok
1,376 reviews
Banglamphu
Nouvo City Hotel
Nouvo City Hotel
#174 of 894 in Bangkok
1,379 reviews
Banglamphu
Tara Place
Tara Place
#55 of 894 in Bangkok
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza

Address: 95 Soi Ram Buttri, Chakkra Phong Road | Phra Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#87 Best Value Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £18 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rambuttri Village Inn And Plaza
Rambuttri Village Inn & Plaza Hotel Bangkok
Rambuttri Village Hotel
Rambuttri Village Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing