We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Value”
Review of Honey Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bangkok
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honey Hotel
Ranked #384 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
cambodia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location and Value”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Stayed here with large group of friends in Feb 2013 and was perfect for our stay. Room deco is dated but it part of the hotels charm. Aircon in room worked well and room was clean. I stayed in Deluxe room 2nd floor overlooking the pool. You can walk to Terminal 21 shopping mall in 5 minutes. Terminal 21 has excellent food court on 5th floor called pier 21. Enjoyed that Breakfast (5-6 choices on menu ) is available until 2pm with good Asian Breakfast options. You can book by sending email to honeyhtl_company@yahoo.co.th

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    67
    33
    15
    9
See reviews for
23
32
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Two issues - the most miserable and insolent office girl you could meet; a stark surprise in a culture that smiles so readily. Generally Thais are very friendly - and are very good at acting friendly even if they don't feel like it. Not so here.
Second issue: a huge building project immediately adjacent to the hotel. By immediate I mean centimeters, not meters. Jack hammer pilling starts at 8pm and continues until 6pm. I first stayed in the Honey in 1984 - have always considered it a home away from home - how times and things change! My last one night stay was on 13th March 2013... my last stay :)

Room Tip: Choose another hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gerry l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

after wanting to break my trip to thailand up i was reccomende honey in bangkok, clearly the recomendation was from a friend who hadnt stayed here in years. it was definently central and priced well...But at what price if living in filth comparable. On arrival i was greeted by to say the least a very unfriendly office clerk. And then told my room wasnt ready even tho it was 3 in the arvo, an i was to wait in the foyer for an hour. Only to be finally taken to my room were it stunk of mould, damp, sheets were dirty, bathroom had mould all through it, toilet still had faeces attached to the bowl, wiring hanging out every were, an walls and carpet a time warp of the 60s. Then due to my feeling unwell with the start of a cold, i decided to check filters in the aircon, only to find them as black as the ace of spades an mouldy, i had to clean them. Breakfast was a joke, small,primative and cold... never never again would i ever darken thy doorstep...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kellygardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

A good option for a quick Bangkok layover. The bed was comfortable and the room was reasonably clean. Went for non smoking on the 3rd floor for 900 Baht. Kind of a unique "old school" ambiance, but not a good choice for a family. Nice wide hallways and an open staircase. Better than most hotels under a fire or evacuation scenario. The pay per minute outside vendor WiFi system was an unexpected low point. Overall, though, this is a pretty good value. Got a ride back to the airport from a long-time hotel employee. It was very interesting chatting with him about the American political landscape.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trad_Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012

During my recent visit in Bangkok, I insisted to stay 2 nights at the Honey Hotel for a very personal reason. I have stayed here for a year or so as a child in the 70's when it was a GI hotel. I have fond memories of this hotel where I have spent lots of time in and by the pool - perhaps I have even learnt swimming here. After 40 years, it was very exciting for me to return and more exciting to discover that I actually recognize it! The pool was just the way I remembered it - this has not changed - maybe the floor tiles have been replaced, a tree a remembered is missing, electric cables that perhaps where not there before - but all in all, it was the way I have treasured it in my memory :-)

I enjoyed staying here - the staff were friendly. The air-conditioning in the first room we had did not work, and at 2am, we went to the reception telling them we could not sleep and immediately, they organize another room for us and a staff to help us with our lugguage.

The cleaning staff were very friendly and honest.

We were advised a few times to lock our doors no matter how short time we leave our room, so i assume there are some problems about this, although we did not encounter any. In the night, I have seen white men coming back with thai girls, so it could be true that this is kind of a hourly hotel for "play" but it did not disturb us.

The area is superb - you can't be more centrl than Sukvumvit.

On our last night, we celebrated by buying various street food and organize our own private dinner by the pool with a bottle of Moet Chandon, drinking and eating out of plastic cups and plates. No one told us off, instead . they were very helpful. Any other other would have been unhappy that we have brought outside food to consume by the pool! GREAT ATTITUDE :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eurasian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Whenever I stay in Bangkok, I usually end up back at Honey Hotel. It's hard to beat in terms of value for money (although prices have just gone up this month!) Still, nice rooms, very central and OK staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillyHily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

The Honey Hotel is located behind the Robinson Department Store/Westin Hotel on Sukhumvit Soi 19.

The cheapest rooms are 800 baht single and are located behind the parked cars in the parking garage. The price list said their charge for an additional person is 200 baht. The cheapest rooms in the main building are 900 baht. These rooms do not include an in room refrigerator and you need to pay at least 1,000 baht to get a room with one. All rooms have air conditioning and t.v. The t.v. has only 14 channels including two English Cinemax and HBO and BBC news as well as some Thai channels. The bathrooms have tubs and hand showers. The hook to hold the shower head had the water hit me in the stomach so needs to be held to be used properly. You get soap and a small shampoo and bath foam bottle.

You get one complementary breakfast coupon per room per night at the attached restaurant. You get a choice of 5 different breakfast sets for the coupon which includes toast, coffee or tea, orange juice, and a main course such as eggs and bacon or noodles.

One big problem is there is no free WiFi. You must buy a WiFI card at 50 baht for 30 minutes, 100 baht for 70 minutes and 200 Baht for 150 minutes. So it can get expensive quickly.

The hotel does not have its own web site but there is one run by someone else. They respond promptly to emails.

Very few rooms have any view except the most expensive ones at the front of the hotel. I took a picture of the floor layout which I include with this review so you can see that most rooms are essentially interior (there is a small atrium at the rear of the room). The rooms on the side have no view either. The garage rooms are not shown on the floor map.

The hotel is three floors but there is no elevator so anyone with difficulty with stairs will need to walk up at least one flight unless they are staying it the rooms in the garage. The hotel does have a small pool off the lobby.

I stayed in one of the 900 baht single rooms in the main building on the outside of the third floor. Though my bed was comfortable, the room smelled horribly and have a very strong ash tray smell. The horrible smell, lack of a room fridge and fee WiFi had be move after one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sacha's Hotel Uno
Sacha's Hotel Uno
#243 of 858 in Bangkok
1,121 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Key Bangkok Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
SilQ Bangkok
SilQ Bangkok
#178 of 858 in Bangkok
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Best Comfort
Best Comfort
#500 of 858 in Bangkok
190 reviews
Sukhumvit
FuramaXclusive Asoke
FuramaXclusive Asoke
#250 of 858 in Bangkok
497 reviews
Sukhumvit
Arte Hotel
Arte Hotel
#209 of 858 in Bangkok
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honey Hotel

Property: Honey Hotel
Address: 29-31 Soi Sukhumvit 19 Sukhumvit Rd., Khlong Toei Nua, Vadhana, 10110, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #384 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Hotel Class:3 star — Honey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Honey Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing