We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #4 of 889 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Cute, quirkly little haunt that lives up to its reputation and name.

We had initial problems locating the hotel on arrival as it is hidden in a small little lane, so please ensure that you print out the location map (available on the website) for the taxi-driver.

Service and breakfast was lovely.

Do make sure that you try the pad thai and fried kway teow from the hawker located outside of the hotel. The hotel staff kindly ordered it for us and it was one of the best phat thai I've had during our stay in Thailand.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2011

Thanks alot for staying with PN :)
Our location is a bit hard to find as we are tucked into a small alley, so it's recommended that you print out the map from our website. However once you get there you will find we are actually located in a very lively community and it's convenient to get to restaurants nearby either by foot or tuk tuk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,201 - 1,207 of 2,378 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2011

Loved my stay here and the tranquility of the place and the friendlyness of the staff definitely make it so specical. If you are looking for 5 star luxury then this place is not for you but if you want somewhere beautiful, unique, friendly, intimate and relaxing then this is the place. The food was simple but great and the shakes were the best I had in Thailand. Looking forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKVisitor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

We appreciate your compliment and this is the best thing we gain from a guest like you! We don't have the same facilities as a standard hotel that's why PN can't be booked from those online travel agents, we want to make sure guests understand us a bit more before booking and do not want to see anyone leave PN with a disappointment! And we confirmed PN smoothie is probably the best in Thailand :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Have been here 2 times, a great place to be relaxed, can easily just stay here and do nothing.

Room Tip: Every room has it's own character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thank you! now we have workshops everyday so there will be more fun things to do at PN :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I stayed at phranakorn for 2 nights. It is a lovely guesthouse and is beautifully decorated. The rooms are clean with air conditioning.

The bathroom probably could have been better. It was fairly clean but there were a few ants. It is a wet room which seems to be common here,but means that the bathroom floor, sink and toilet get wet and stay wet for a while if you have a shower. Our sink also leaked water the floor whenever it was run.

The service was excellent. We were given a voucher for free smoothies but after a day out we arrived back at the guesthouse after the kitchen had closed. However, one member of staff kindly offered to make a smoothie for us.

Food was fantastic. Breakfast was included in our room rate. It was delicious pumpkin soup with 3 small pieces of toast with different toppings. We left early on our last day and we were made a pack lunch.

Location is quite good,about 25 minutes walk from khao San road. It was a 45 min drive from the airport.

It was a great place to begin our holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmds0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2011

Thank you so much with your comment! It's true that one of our bathrooms have problem and we are now fixing it. The newly renovated bathrooms are more upgraded and also prettier! Glad you like our smoothie and pumpkin soup, we pay lots of attention on the details for the breakfast and we will add more new menus according to seasons. From now we will also have free workshops until late July including cooking class, sewing shop and soap making :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

too nice, too friendly, too secretive, too obvious, to dwell elsewhere and not to recommend it to our friends. don't miss it !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellemicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2011

Short but sharp! Thanks a lot for recommending us to everyone, we will do our best:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Really good for young couples with children. Looks like renovated guesthouse - probably this made made several years ago - so this retro style is not so impressive today and prices are not so cheap for this type of accomodation in Bangkok. Situated very unconfortable and hide in the street - hard to find and far away from some Bar and restaraunt zones.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mykola_Streltsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback:) Our guesthouse decoration is inspired by the local community which is not luxury but truly reflect the beauty of local thai lifestyle with an artistic twist. Our location is tucked into a small alley where you can feel to be a part of the local neighbourhood, most of our guests like where we are because it's in a quiet part of Old bangkok but still very close to restaurants and bars in Khaosan ( only 5 mins by tuk tuk), actually we have listed down lots of details in our website and do not want our customers feel disappointed or misleaded as we are a guesthouse with an unusual concept, therefore we strongly suggest visitors to read through our websites and reviews from trip advisor as you will get a much clearer idea about PN from other like minded guests :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Let's get the elephant in the room out of the way: yes the location is not in as fancy an area as most 4* hotels. The entry to the hotel is in a soi (ie an alley) and therefore it looks a bit more decrepit than ideal. That said it is absolutely safe (we were two chicks travelling by ourselves and did not feel theatened for a second) and let's be lucid; the reason why the hotel is so incredibly quiet is precisely that it is a little way away ! The tropical garden is a peace haven in the chaotic Bangkok and everything is there for the guests to relax.

Other than that, I'd be hard rpessed to find anything wrong with this place: great service, kooky and original look, comfortable rooms, great breakfast, convenient amenities (kids play area, internet area and massage spa in a little teak open house opposite the restaurant). The staff is great and incredibly relaxed - flexible and non intrusive.

Do you need a TV with 125 channels and a telephone in your room? If so, this is not the place for you. If not and you value rest, relaxation, service and friendliness, run there !

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveling_Chuck_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Thank you for your nice review kaa, we believe our guests can make a better choice after reading your review as you clearly explained that we are not a usual hotel, we just want to ensure everyone come here will get a good travel experience, and they will get exactly what they want - if they read the TA reviews like this one before booking with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#5 of 889 in Bangkok
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 889 in Bangkok
1,554 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#19 of 889 in Bangkok
1,482 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £55 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing