We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel
Ranked #5 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

it was a lovely cool place, but the beds are realy hard, i had to ask for a extra madrass, i am eropean and got a curvy body, so for the same amont of money we had stayd in a 5* hotell just some weeks befor. when you are over 40 the
madrass and pillows has to be good. ( the pillows was not good) sorry to say we cant come back. for it was a great place and lovely staff

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavitacarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Thank you for your honest feedback and We really appreciate it, the first concept was to provide guests some healthy beds (as referred to some guest comments they are actually not that hard ). We also received comments from senior guests regarding the comfort of the beds. We will definitely improve this by adding some extra soft mattress and pillows to ensure you have a great sleep. Regarding the price we are only 2200THB for a double room including breakfasts, free drinks and lots of other nice offers such as free cooking class and soap making. I think most of our guests would agree that this is not a 5 star hotel price ( they are twice of our price- min 4000THB). We are more or less the same price as traditional 3 stars hotel, the difference is the experience that we offer which is unique & memorable :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 2,404 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2011

Our stay in PN was really relaxing after a one month trip in Laos, Cambodia and Thailand. We really appreciated all the little kind gestures like tea time in the afternoon, free repellent against mosquitos (definietly useful all day long), natural soap, all the funny coloured drinks etc. Discovering the wall paintings was also very amusing and it illustrates the sense of making things beautiful and pleasant of the PN team. Even the bathrooms are beautiful !
Breakfast is also a nice moment because you can try thai food without to many risks with the unlimited toasts. Thai tea is really nice (a bit too sweet for taking some much, but really good!)
The only damper we found is that the dishes during dinner or lunch are not sufficient to stave off hunger of tourists who visit Bangkok all day long. That's the only negative point but it had to be mentionned.
The location is perfect : quiet place, not far from the boats and the flower market. You have to go on the rooftop to get a nice point of view of Bangkok.
We would come back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkaxiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Thank you for your great feedback! We believe a good travel experience must have to be crafted by the interaction between people. Our space certainly have lots of nice details but most important thing is guests feel warm welcomed and care by our staff.
Really appreciate you feedback about the efficiency of our dinning service and it's now been improved. Hope next time when you visit again you can serve you better and faster :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

A nice place. An oasis in the big and noisy Bangkok. An ideal starting point to visit the city.
Be on time in the moring or you will not receive your breakfast (also the first day when you can have some problems related to time zone! A little more "mental flexibility" and attention for guests is not bad)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ema_il_viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2011

Sawa dee kha!
Thank you for staying with us!
We are happy to know that you think Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel as an oasis. :-)
Also, our breakfast in the little oasis is one of our recommended moment during your stay. We focus on a healthy, organic, and slow food which provide you a perfect starting of the day!
We keep creating new breakfast menu for all of our guests to make smile in the morning.
Hope to have you again with us, and hope you will enjoy our breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The first impression of the hotel location, specially at night, is not the best. However, I'll will find it close to the main sites and get a better impression of the neighborhood during day light.
The hotel is simple, but very charming, clean and with a very friendly staff. The decoration is very nice and the atmosphere is great.
The bed was a little to hard, but still pleasant. The staff was amazing. Very helpfull and efficent.
If I ever go back to Bangkok, I'll stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lpporto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Our neighborhood is very important to PN as it's our inspiration! It may not look attractive and glamorous- but if you look closer you will find the charms here, the people, the old shop houses, the markets and the local eateries. Our first priority is to provide guests a comfortable place to stay with a context of authenticity. Phranakorn Nornlen is a right place for you if you are looking for experience :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed here only for one night before flying to Cambodia. We picked PN based on the positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We were completely enamoured by the charm of the whole place, the wall murals, the thoughtful decorations, everything. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and pretty. The bed wasn't too hard at all. The bathroom had a rainshower head that was bliss after sitting on an airplane for 8 hours. It was a short walk to the river where we could catch the ferry to visit the Grand Palace and Wat Pho (the orange coloured ferry was the most useful for us). It was a shame we couldn't stay here longer, the next time we go to Bangkok, we'll definitely choose PN again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aikodeluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Thanks a lot for your great feedback :) It's very encouraging !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Rest assured you will have a great stay here. This is my second time here and things just keep getting better and better. It would have been my third time but the first time I tried to stay here it was fully booked. Word to the wise book early! Comfy beds, fluffy pillows, clean everywhere, piano, wifi, delicious food, excellent staff. This time around, I stayed 3 days, I really only needed to stay 1 night but I delayed my return because this place feels like home. If you are trying to decide between this place and another spot, don't fret, you'll be happy you picked this one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2011

Thanks a lot for your support :) we will do better and better !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here 2 nights on our first Thailand trip with our familiy of 3 kids. We chose this pension based on comments on Trotter and Trip advisor : we don't like big modern hotels that are the same in every city. If you are looking for authenticity, this is a really nice place : the decoration is special and the patio is very nice. We had directly the feeling to be in Thailand after a long trip on the plane and airports coming from Belgium. The personnel is very friendly and helpful with tips on traveling in Bangkok and even drinks late on the evening when the bar is closed! We had the family room with connecting door which is very nice with a family. Rooms are quite simple with no great luxury but clean. Nice breakfast too in the patio.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank Mireille D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhranakornNornlen, Manager at Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

PN is a family friendly guest house for guests who want to spend a quality time together, we try to create an authentic feel that guests can associate with the old Bangkok, the most charming place all over Bangkok but also most overlooked by the majority. We want our guests to know that everyone work in PN truly care about them and never treat that as a job, most importantly the smiles of guests also bring us lots of happiness, playing with kids is something that remind ourselves that we can also find joy from working, our cooking class is another part that we encourage our staff ( those can't speak english well but cook well) to interact with guests through cooking :) we hope guests to know that our friendliness and politeness are not scripted but truly expressed from our heart, your smiles are also our smiles :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Adelphi Forty-Nine
Adelphi Forty-Nine
#4 of 891 in Bangkok
725 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Ariyasomvilla
Ariyasomvilla
#2 of 891 in Bangkok
1,567 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
684 reviews
Sukhumvit
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
U Sukhumvit Bangkok
#25 of 891 in Bangkok
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel

Address: 46 Thewet Soi 1, Krungkaseam Rd. | Bangkhunprom, Phranakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Banglamphu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#11 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#104 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £57 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear guests: Please be advised we are not associated with any online travelagents. We only accept reservations via our website and our Facebook fan page Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel We are a small hotel situated within Phranakorn district ( Old Bangkok), with the concept of slow life, we hope to bring your trip and rest apart from the usual hectic environment. Learning to respect the way of nature and living among real life community are one of experiences you cannot easily find in this rush and bustle world. Here at PN we don't just offer a place to stay, but we offer experience as well. Please booking from our website only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Phranakorn-Nornlen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing